A380 Move to T3 [Rumour]

Old Oct 31, 14, 4:05 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Iver
Programs: BA GOLD/OWE BA Amex Prem Plus Tesco Airmiles Qantas Bronze IHG SPG Eithad
Posts: 2,876
A380 Move to T3 [Rumour]

Have heard snippets that maybe in due course the A380 will be moved to T3, is this just a rumour or is it in the pipeline to go from T5
BA5E is offline  
Old Oct 31, 14, 4:10 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Leeds, UK
Programs: BA GGL/CCR, GfL, HH Diamond
Posts: 27,218
Originally Posted by BA5E View Post
Have heard snippets that maybe in due course the A380 will be moved to T3, is this just a rumour or is it in the pipeline to go from T5
As in all A380 flights or maybe one or two destinations? The former sounds very unlikely, the latter quite possible especially in a few years when BA are up to the full 12 and there are a few more destinations.
KARFA is online now  
Old Oct 31, 14, 4:19 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Iver
Programs: BA GOLD/OWE BA Amex Prem Plus Tesco Airmiles Qantas Bronze IHG SPG Eithad
Posts: 2,876
Originally Posted by KARFA View Post
As in all A380 flights or maybe one or two destinations? The former sounds very unlikely, the latter quite possible especially in a few years when BA are up to the full 12 and there are a few more destinations.
Thanks for that, as enjoy the CCR visits, but if and when they do move a CCR replica will have to be added.
BA5E is offline  
Old Oct 31, 14, 4:23 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kent, UK
Programs: BA Gold, SPG Platinum, Marriott Platinum, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 3,810
Surely the A380 flights are considered BA's flagship? Moving them to T3 would be an embarrassing move since passengers would not be able to make use of BA's flagship facilities at T5.
matthandy is offline  
Old Oct 31, 14, 4:39 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London
Programs: BAEC GCH, CXMP Gold, Amex Plat, HH Gold, Accor Plat, SPG Gold, Carlson Gold
Posts: 1,105
Originally Posted by matthandy View Post
Surely the A380 flights are considered BA's flagship? Moving them to T3 would be an embarrassing move since passengers would not be able to make use of BA's flagship facilities at T5.
Agreed.

Come fly with us on our flagship aircraft from our home base. Just ignore the fact that you're getting inferior ground services as compared to T5.

Also, could the lounges at T3 cope with the influx of passengers?
stevieed is offline  
Old Oct 31, 14, 4:40 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: ex-Eurocheat in London
Programs: BA Silver, MUCCI
Posts: 582
at some point even the extraordinary becomes the ordinary. The 747 once was doing the flagship runs. With the full capacity of 12 A380 the Lounges at T5 would be cramped at some point so it may actually be good to move some flights to T3.
One crazy option though would be to allow F passengers to check in in T5 and then Bus them to the plane from A10
Herman ze German is offline  
Old Oct 31, 14, 4:49 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Programs: Mucci, BA, Hilton.
Posts: 1,117
Originally Posted by matthandy View Post
Surely the A380 flights are considered BA's flagship? Moving them to T3 would be an embarrassing move since passengers would not be able to make use of BA's flagship facilities at T5.
Totally agree. Have always thought it was a bit of a design flaw having the Flagship plane so far from your flagship lounge.
MickV is offline  
Old Oct 31, 14, 4:50 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: not far from MUC
Posts: 6,301
Originally Posted by matthandy View Post
Surely the A380 flights are considered BA's flagship?
Err ... why?
shorthauldad is offline  
Old Oct 31, 14, 4:52 am
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 10,679
Originally Posted by shorthauldad View Post
Err ... why?
Its a new airplane. BA are going to say its great for the next 50 years.

Also the room on board, is slightly bigger.
origin is offline  
Old Oct 31, 14, 5:00 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kent, UK
Programs: BA Gold, SPG Platinum, Marriott Platinum, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 3,810
Originally Posted by shorthauldad View Post
Err ... why?
Why not?

Which other routes/aircraft would be in the running?
matthandy is offline  
Old Oct 31, 14, 5:04 am
  #11  
uk1
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 11,969
Originally Posted by BA5E View Post
Have heard snippets that maybe in due course the A380 will be moved to T3, is this just a rumour or is it in the pipeline to go from T5
From what source did you hear the snippets please?
uk1 is offline  
Old Oct 31, 14, 5:05 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: not far from MUC
Posts: 6,301
Originally Posted by matthandy View Post
Why not? Which routes/aircraft would be in the running?
I don't understand needing to designate something with the description 'Flagship'. BA hardly use that word at all:

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=site%3Awww.brit...s.com+flagship

EDIT: maybe it's an FTer thing ?

EDIT2: LH use(d) the phrase ( http://a380.lufthansa.com/FASCINATIO...flug_entsteht/ ) about their A380. Maybe BA don't feel as proud
shorthauldad is offline  
Old Oct 31, 14, 5:10 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kent, UK
Programs: BA Gold, SPG Platinum, Marriott Platinum, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 3,810
Originally Posted by shorthauldad View Post
I don't understand needing to designate something with the description 'Flagship'. BA hardly use that word at all
I'm very happy with my use of the word.
matthandy is offline  
Old Oct 31, 14, 5:15 am
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 10,679
Originally Posted by shorthauldad View Post
I don't understand needing to designate something with the description 'Flagship'. BA hardly use that word at all:

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=site%3Awww.brit...s.com+flagship

EDIT: maybe it's an FTer thing ?

EDIT2: LH use(d) the phrase ( http://a380.lufthansa.com/FASCINATIO...flug_entsteht/ ) about their A380. Maybe BA don't feel as proud
I might be grumpy however

The Far Eastern city-state will be the latest destination to be served by the airline’s new flagship A380 service, from October 2014.
http://www.britishairways.com/en-gb/...s#.VFNhJ2dyaUk
origin is offline  
Old Oct 31, 14, 5:24 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: not far from MUC
Posts: 6,301
Originally Posted by origin View Post
I might be grumpy...
I didn't say BA never use the word, but hiding the word "flagship" in paragraph two of a press release rather proves the point I was trying to make, doesn't it?

Thinking about it, since BA also have the 787s, perhaps there's an agreement with Boeing not to talk about the A380 as their "flagship", hence it being filed under "our new aircraft" instead?
shorthauldad is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: