FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   British Airways | Executive Club (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/british-airways-executive-club-446/)
-   -   BA Tier Point runs | 2014 master thread (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/british-airways-executive-club/1536537-ba-tier-point-runs-2014-master-thread.html)

rattlinrob Apr 9, 2014 9:10 am

Hello - Help needed from a complete newbie.

Every quarter I fly to Australia but didn't realise that BA no longer flew BKK - LHR legs for flights booked on QF. This means as the flights are on Emirates it is going to leave me 40 points short of Silver.

A couple of questions if someone can help.

Do I get tier points if I book a flight using Avios? Is it worth waiting to get through on the phone to the BAEC - are the helpful in these matters? Also any recommendations for cheap ways to get 40 tier points.

Cheers in advance for any help.

Rattlin

nux Apr 9, 2014 9:16 am

Originally Posted by rattlinrob (Post 22676071)
Do I get tier points if I book a flight using Avios? Is it worth waiting to get through on the phone to the BAEC - are the helpful in these matters? Also any recommendations for cheap ways to get 40 tier points.

No you do not earn avios/TP's for an award flight.

BA will allow a 2 week extension to your membership year, but will almost certainly not lower your TP requirement.

Book a cheap BA return flight to AMS/JER or similar and hope for a POUG to business, which will earn 40 TP's for the business sector and 10 TP's for an economy sector.

MadProfessor Apr 9, 2014 9:24 am

Originally Posted by Calchas (Post 22676014)
I hope you have lots of money to use up as well. ;) Usually the way to go is BRU-LCY-JFK-LAS-LAX-HNL and back on aa.com; in a good sale it can be had for about £1500 but at the moment you're likely be paying £2150 and up. Plus overnight stops and your return to BRU.