Newbie here...looking for some advice please

Old Aug 29, 13, 7:53 am
Original Poster

Newbie here...looking for some advice please

Hi everyone

I have been a long time lurker on these forums, but have only just registered so that I could post this thread.

My wife and I are not frequent flyers by any means, but we usually take around 3 holidays a year, often long hall to the USA, are BAEC members, and almost always tend to use BA.

Recently, on a flight back from home, something happened that really annoyed me and I have decided to do something about it and fire off an email to BA. I just thought I would ask all you guys your opinions, as being regular travellers I am sure you encounter such incidents all the time.

I have posted below a copy of what I have sent, please let me know what you think.

Dear Sir/Madam

I am writing to you to express my concern regarding an incident that occurred on our recent flight home from Las Vegas to London Heathrow

On boarding the flight and taking our seats, I noticed a woman who had boarded the plane and was commenting to other passengers and staff that she needed room for her legs.

Hearing this my first thought was 'maybe you should not be flying if you have a medical issue with your legs' or 'maybe if you require that much room you should pay for World Traveller Plus or Club Class seating'

As a 6 foot 3 inch tall person myself, I know it can be very uncomfortable sometimes, especially on long haul flights, but unfortunately I cannot afford such luxuries as Premium Economy or Club Class travel, so I just have to put up with it.

Now, after an hour or so into the flight I once again heard this lady complaining to the cabin crew. Some discussions then took place and i then heard them say that they were going to move the lady to another cabin to make her comfortable.

This is what has made me extremely angry.

How can this be allowed to happen?, and how can British Airways think this is fair?