BA Seating Policy Guide

    Hide Wikipost
Old Sep 7, 16, 10:54 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Prospero
Wiki Link
Print Wikipost

Reply

Old Dec 2, 16, 12:08 am
  #301  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Programs: NZ *G
Posts: 5,597
I recently booked with AA miles... SYD-HKG-LHR-CDG-HEL-HKG-SYD

The AA PNR (only one I have) didn't work on BA.com...BUT...as I have seen before with other airline web sites..it brought up the BA PNR...which also worked on AYs website..where I was able to select seats on the CDG-HEL-HKG segments as they do NOT charge...

Now I have to find out the QF PNR...and decide whether paying for seat selection on BA is necessary...

Its a 777 and some of those seats don't look great (CW)
trooper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 17, 11:08 am
  #302  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Buckinghamshire
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 1,759
I wonder if someone could help with a query:

We booked two seats on the winter sun LPA (Gran Canaria) flight from LHR for 4 Feb, returning on 11 Feb. Didn't book Club Europe as they wanted stupid money for the tickets (think a grand rtn for 2). Forced into ET, we managed to bag a great deal by adding a car to the flights. I reserved seats in row 11 (exit) both ways. Unfortunately the curtain has been moved back to behind row 12. We were re-allocated to row 15 outbound and 27 return. MMB says we have 4 seats reserved. What does this mean? Does it mean that if all J seats are not sold they'll move us back to row 11? I was a bit shocked as a Gold member to be moved inbound to the second most rear row on the A320, when rows in front appear available to select.
Dicksbits is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 17, 3:14 am
  #303  
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: London
Programs: OneWorld Emerald (BA) & Sapphire (QR), Star Alliance Gold (O6), SkyTeam Elite Plus (AZ)
Posts: 2,249
Similar to Dicksbits above, but i'm flying next week to Berlin. Seat reserved in ET in row 6. Looking at the seat map now, it shows the curtain between 6 and 7, with row 7 greyed out, but MMB offers:
Choose a new seat or keep seat 6A (undefined)
The seat map is very empty, and would like to stay nearer the front if possible. Should I just leave it until OLCI? Exactly the same situation on the return!
shefgab is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 17, 11:40 am
  #304  
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 2,447
what happens to seat assignments when your status goes from gold to silver? I have an exit row seat on both iad-lhr & lhr-cai when I was gold and bought the ticket. I will be silver next week. I hope that as long as I do not change my seat selection, I'm OK. But I cannot change to a different exit row seat. Correct?
headinclouds is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 17, 12:42 pm
  #305  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Glos
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 5,264
When is the flight? There's reports of the system "flushing" out golds turned silver now and again
mikeyfly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 17, 8:36 am
  #306  
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 2,447
Originally Posted by mikeyfly View Post
When is the flight? There's reports of the system "flushing" out golds turned silver now and again
In 2 months, at the end of March 2017
headinclouds is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 1, 17, 8:59 am
  #307  
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 2,447
Originally Posted by mikeyfly View Post
When is the flight? There's reports of the system "flushing" out golds turned silver now and again
Confirmed I lost my exit row seats. I was reassigned to next to my brother seat (no status). Oh well, I reselect a better choice except the exit row.
headinclouds is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 17, 10:03 am
  #308  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Programs: BA Gold, Marriott Platinum, Club Carlson Gold
Posts: 1,462
I am trying to work out whether there is an error on the website or with the agent when trying to book 2 exit seats on the upper deck of the 380 (economy!) from LAX as a BA Silver
Can log in online and it tells me that the seats are 32 each (the breakdown shows the price is 61 less the 29 already paid(?) so the delta to be paid is 32)
I progress through the process and enter card security details etc and get the following message

"Sorry, we're unable to book these seats as requested
Sorry, we've encountered a problem. Please contact your local British Airways office to request your seats"

When I call I am told they are 61 each not 32....

I can't find this on the bugs and glitches thread so not sure which is the "correct" price

Should be back to Gold after this trip thankfully
caz312 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 17, 8:42 am
  #309  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1
Doesn't quite work like that!

Despite what Prospero says, even when my travel agent split the booking for my seats off the group and provided me with the locator, then BA group bookings refused to sell me Extra Legroom seats saying "the travel agent owns the booking so that BA can't change it".
JohnAdes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 17, 2:45 pm
  #310  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 26
Apologies if this has been covered previously, but I have a question regarding seat selection and AA status.

I've got my family of 5 (two children, though at 2 and 4 not infants) booked in Club World MSY-LHR in September.

I understand there is a fee to be paid if I have no status to select seats, but BA.com is not showing me even the option of selecting the seat for a fee. When I go to Manage My Booking It says only "seat choices are only available at check-in."

Is this common for it not to even be an option, or does anyone suspect that will change as it gets closer?

I was also considering doing a status challenge to Platinum with AA, which would give me One World Silver once I get within 3 months of departure. If I do that, and get One World Silver status, will I instantly have the option to select seats?

I know that BA policy is to at least make sure that one adult is assigned a seat with each child on my booking, but obviously I'd prefer to have us all in proximity.
TheSpecialMan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 17, 11:27 am
  #311  
Moderator, Emirates
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Where My Heart Is
Programs: BAEC Silver, EK Blue
Posts: 2,698
This was my experience last Friday, DME-LHR on a mid-haul A321. Selected 19D (2 seater) in front of the emergency exit. Up until OLCI opened, would allow me to select an exit seat for 45. Being the cheapskate that I am and having looked at Expertflyer, knew the seats hadn't been chosen by anyone. OLCI opens and, thinking I would now be able to select one for free.......NO, showing as un-selectable at OLCI. Check on Expertflyer and the seats were still showing as blocked.

Thankfully, theoretical seating seemed to have worked in my favour as 19E was still showing as blocked also. On boarding, 20A, B & C were unoccupied. After take off and seat belt signs were off, the crew let a couple of passengers move to them.

So it seems as Silver, if you choose not to pay for an exit seat up until OLCI opens, then they're not going to give you one for free .

S
Saltire74 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 17, 5:56 pm
  #312  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AZ
Programs: AA Million Miler, SPG Gold, Global Entry
Posts: 142
My wife is flying from EDI to CLT via LHR booked using AA miles in business class. I have been able to assign the seat from LHR to CLT on the AA flight but cannot select a seat without a fee on the BA segment from EDI to LHR. When I look up the flight information it says it is booked into Class U for the BA flight. Is this normal or is something unusual going on?
scottinaz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 17, 11:14 pm
  #313  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MEL CHC
Posts: 13,430
Originally Posted by scottinaz View Post
I have been able to assign the seat from LHR to CLT on the AA flight but cannot select a seat without a fee on the BA segment from EDI to LHR.
No mistake or error. BA charge a seat selection fee in business class unless you have mid-high status.
Look here post 2 http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/briti...l#post20030917
A common question - compliant about BA business class seating
Mwenenzi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 17, 1:10 am
  #314  
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,099
Originally Posted by shefgab View Post
Similar to Dicksbits above, but i'm flying next week to Berlin. Seat reserved in ET in row 6. Looking at the seat map now, it shows the curtain between 6 and 7, with row 7 greyed out, but MMB offers:


The seat map is very empty, and would like to stay nearer the front if possible. Should I just leave it until OLCI? Exactly the same situation on the return!
What happened? I have the same situation.
olouie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 17, 10:11 pm
  #315  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northumbria
Programs: BA
Posts: 228
I've paid for seats in Upper Deck 747 out to LAS and was interested in the CS reps comment as described in the refund section -

" In the event British Airways has to change your seat assignment, BA will endeavour to seat you in a suitable alternative."

Could a suitable alternative (for BA) be on the lower deck? Or would I have the option of a refund if I wasn't offered an Upper deck seat?
heronb is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread