'Combine my Avios' helpdesk thread

Old Nov 19, 12, 2:00 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 32
'Combine my Avios' helpdesk thread

I've been trying to do this for the last several days on BAEC. Everytime I click on the "Combine My Avios" button, it gives me

The requested URL was rejected. Please consult with your administrator.
I have absolutely no problem with my network, and I am accessing the website from US.
vincentliu is offline  
Old Nov 19, 12, 2:50 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: UK
Programs: A3 *G; BAEC Blue; FB Gold
Posts: 17
Was working ok from the UK on Saturday to transfer from Diamond Club.
exesoundtech is offline  
Old Nov 19, 12, 3:57 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 32
Originally Posted by exesoundtech View Post
Was working ok from the UK on Saturday to transfer from Diamond Club.
Last time I am successful at this, it is at the end of Oct after I cancelled a ticket issued from BMI and then transfer the refunded miles to BA. Now this is driving me crazy coz I am looking to book an award ticket and short of avios...

I did a network trace in my browser, it shows the POST request for https://wsx.avios.com/btt/btt gives me the error message. So it is definitely not a network problem.
vincentliu is offline  
Old Nov 19, 12, 4:12 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wellington, NZ
Programs: NZ Elite *G, Hilton Gold, SPG Gold
Posts: 1,366
Have you sucessfully used the facility from outside the Uk before? To be a member you need a UK address, so it might be picking up that you are logging in from another country, This bit of the T&Cs might cover this (my bolding):
B.1.2 We reserve the right not to enrol individuals with resident addresses in certain countries and/or regions or restrict transfers and changes of registered address. Such countries and/or regions are subject to change however reasonable advance notice will be given in circumstances where the removal of a country and/or region will affect the Membership of existing Members. To be eligible to collect Points under the Scheme you must provide an address in the UK, Isle of Man or the Channel Islands.

Can you use Hotspot or something like that to mask your location? Failing that, do you have a trusted person back in the UK that you can give your log on details to to see if they can combine them on your behalf?
RedVee is offline  
Old Nov 19, 12, 4:36 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MAN and LON
Programs: Mucci, BAEC LT Gold, HH Dia, MR LT Plat, IC RA, Kimpton Inner Circle, Amex Plat
Posts: 13,721
I transferred 200k from BD on Saturday with no problems.
Land-of-Miles is offline  
Old Nov 19, 12, 4:38 am
  #6  
Moderator: British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Programs: Battleaxe Alliance
Posts: 22,015
Originally Posted by Land-of-Miles View Post
I transferred 200k from BD on Saturday with no problems.
So did I, except it was far fewer than 200k.
LTN Phobia is offline  
Old Nov 19, 12, 4:40 am
  #7  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Her Majesty's United Kingdom
Programs: BA Gold, BA Lounge Rats, BA Audit Survivors, CW Kitchen Defender, CX Noodle Connoisseurs Club
Posts: 5,955
Try clearing your cookies, this seems to have been happening to a few folks since their latest website upgrade on Avios.com.

Failing that, try a different browser.
PanGalactic is offline  
Old Nov 19, 12, 5:03 am
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 32
Thank you for pointing that out. Though as a matter of fact, I registered BAEC account using my resident address in Beijing, and had been accessing my account from China for most of the time, which should be "legal".

Also as I said in the above post, I successfully combined my last drop of BMI destination miles at the end of last Oct.

@PanGalactic I just tried using private browsing mode in Firefox, which should be not using any cookies, still not working...

Just gave a call to BAEC customer care, told me I need to contact the local office in Beijing tomorrow.

Originally Posted by RedVee View Post
Have you sucessfully used the facility from outside the Uk before? To be a member you need a UK address, so it might be picking up that you are logging in from another country, This bit of the T&Cs might cover this (my bolding):
B.1.2 We reserve the right not to enrol individuals with resident addresses in certain countries and/or regions or restrict transfers and changes of registered address. Such countries and/or regions are subject to change however reasonable advance notice will be given in circumstances where the removal of a country and/or region will affect the Membership of existing Members. To be eligible to collect Points under the Scheme you must provide an address in the UK, Isle of Man or the Channel Islands.

Can you use Hotspot or something like that to mask your location? Failing that, do you have a trusted person back in the UK that you can give your log on details to to see if they can combine them on your behalf?
vincentliu is offline  
Old Nov 19, 12, 5:40 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London
Programs: BAEC Silver
Posts: 15
I had this problem with safari, worked fine on Firefox... S change yor browser/ clear cookies
Sharpeyshuffle is offline  
Old Nov 19, 12, 6:24 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CNF
Programs: Priority Club, TAM Fidelidade, BAEC, Marriott Rewards
Posts: 2,092
Did it today, no problem. Try to clear the cookies, a different browser... You don't have to be in the UK for sure.
neuromancer is offline  
Old Nov 19, 12, 6:36 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Programs: BAEC/IB
Posts: 38,374
Originally Posted by RedVee View Post
Have you sucessfully used the facility from outside the Uk before? To be a member you need a UK address,
That looks like the Avios.com rules whereas the OP is doing a DC-BAEC transfer.

Last edited by HIDDY; Nov 19, 12 at 10:36 am
HIDDY is offline  
Old Nov 19, 12, 1:52 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wellington, NZ
Programs: NZ Elite *G, Hilton Gold, SPG Gold
Posts: 1,366
Originally Posted by HIDDY View Post
That looks like the Avios.com rules whereas the OP is doing a DC-BAEC transfer.
You are right Hiddy, although it wasn't obvious in the OP that it was DC to BAEC. So I was talking a lot of rowlocks then, sorry OP
RedVee is offline  
Old Nov 19, 12, 5:09 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 366
Originally Posted by Sharpeyshuffle View Post
I had this problem with safari, worked fine on Firefox... S change yor browser/ clear cookies
This.

I tried doing it with the Opera browser at the weekend and got the error, but when I used Google Chrome it worked ok. So I suspect it's a case of the web developer not testing it across all browsers or it might just be that you need to get the latest update for your browser/one of the plug-ins.
Bloomsbury is offline  
Old Nov 19, 12, 5:17 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,161
This post reminded me that I still needed to do this...just logged in and managed to do it. I am in the US and using Firefox, for what it's worth.
Buster is offline  
Old Nov 22, 12, 7:18 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: BKK
Programs: BA-S, TK-E
Posts: 132
Originally Posted by Sharpeyshuffle View Post
I had this problem with safari, worked fine on Firefox... S change yor browser/ clear cookies

tried today, Safari w. Mountain Lion OSX not working, session expired message; Firefox w. Ubuntu 12.04 everything smooth,miles transferred.


Cheers
shimura is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: