Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

Which lounge at T3 LHR can I use, and which should I use?

Which lounge at T3 LHR can I use, and which should I use?

Old Sep 21, 12, 6:09 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 932
Which lounge at T3 LHR can I use, and which should I use?

Flying from LHR T3 to ORD on a First class ticket on AA metal. Ticket was booked through BA.com and has a BA and AA flight number. I am a member of BAEC, but will probably be a mere Blue when I fly. I have no status with anyone else.

I know I can use the T3 AA Admiral's club and flagship lounge. However, I have heard folks moan about them not being up to scratch. So I wondered what my other options are. Am I allowed to use the BA Club world and/or BA first lounges, the mini-CCR dining area therein or the BA Elemis travel Spa? If not what about other OW lounges (Cathay Pacific??)

Assuming multiple options are available, which would you recomend?

Thanks
Tim1975 is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 6:12 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Programs: BA Gold, M&M Silver
Posts: 445
I don't think you are entitled to use anything other than the AA lounges, unless you have OW status.

Bit curious about your flight number. Your ticket will either be an AA or BA flight number for each flight segment, not both.
Londonflyer is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 6:32 am
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: somewhere north of London, UK
Programs: HH Gold, BA Silver, Accor Silver
Posts: 15,243
I'm pretty sure that's wrong. If you have a F ticket you can use any OW F lounge.

Exactly which bits you'll be able to access at the BA one I don't know.

http://www.oneworld.com/ffp/lounge-access/
Swiss Tony is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 6:34 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sunny Singapore
Programs: BA GGL
Posts: 143
If you are flying first class with a oneworld airline, you can use any first / business Oneworld lounge in T3 including BA, CX etc.....
BillyBB is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 7:19 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,040
Agree, you can use any First lounge. The BA one is way better than both the Admirals Club and the CX lounge, unless you like noodles whence Cathay provides them.
Greenpen is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 7:24 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Programs: Mucci, BA
Posts: 9,486
Go lounge-hopping!
BA6501 is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 8:12 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 932
Originally Posted by BA6501 View Post
Go lounge-hopping!
You know, I think I will.

Thanks for all the comments Guys.
Tim1975 is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 8:16 am
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 932
Originally Posted by Londonflyer View Post

Bit curious about your flight number. Your ticket will either be an AA or BA flight number for each flight segment, not both.
my eticket shows an AA number only (AA0047), but that is shown in the BA timetable and during my online booking process as BA1544. My assumption was that this was a codeshare flight with (at least) two flight numbers. But maybe that isn't correct?
Tim1975 is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 8:59 am
  #9  
Ambassador: Oneworld Alliance
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: LON
Programs: BA Gold (GGL), Hilton Diamond, AA Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 2,003
BA First lounge without a shadow, assuming you can get in. Dragon's lair there is sometimes populated with uninformed newbies. I once had to call GGL helpline to get 2 guests in.
squeeler is offline  
Old Sep 22, 12, 2:51 am
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London, UK
Programs: BA Gold, IHG Spire Ambassador
Posts: 14,090
BA and CX lounges are both good. AA is not really worth a visit IMO.
Genius1 is offline  
Old Sep 22, 12, 3:05 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: somewhere north of London, UK
Programs: HH Gold, BA Silver, Accor Silver
Posts: 15,243
Perhaps someone can help the OP with directions to each!

IIRC, the CX one is off the duty free area whilst the other two are over by the gates, but it's been a long time since I was there...
Swiss Tony is offline  
Old Sep 22, 12, 4:18 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Programs: BA GGL, TK Elite
Posts: 2,474
My usual T3 routine (well, 5 times so far) is go into BA F lounge, leave, walk towards gate, pass AA, think "argh, forgot I wanted to try AA".

So you all want to say my early stage dementia is a blessing in disguise?
LCY8737 is offline  
Old Sep 22, 12, 8:44 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Programs: Mucci, BA
Posts: 9,486
For all directions: http://www.oneworld.com/ffp/lounge-access/
BA6501 is offline  
Old Sep 22, 12, 8:45 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Programs: Mucci, BA
Posts: 9,486
Originally Posted by Tim1975 View Post
my eticket shows an AA number only (AA0047), but that is shown in the BA timetable and during my online booking process as BA1544. My assumption was that this was a codeshare flight with (at least) two flight numbers. But maybe that isn't correct?
If you booked as BA1544 then surely your e-ticket should say BA1544 (operated by American Airlines)?

Is your ticket issued with BA (125-XXXXXXXXXX)?
BA6501 is offline  
Old Sep 22, 12, 8:47 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Programs: BA - Gold for Life, CCR & GGL; IC Spire Elite Ambassador; Diamond Hilton Honors; Hyatt Discoverist
Posts: 6,665
I enjoy my visits to the GF at Terminal 3.

Last time, I found the staff very proactive and friendly, although it was not very busy in the morning. I get there as quickly as possible after clearing Fast Track security to avoid the rest of the terminal.
TravellerFrequently is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: