Confused over how to upgrade

Old Aug 11, 12, 7:43 am
Original Poster

Confused over how to upgrade

Hi, I've recently used the BMI tier match program to get a Silver BA card and transferred my miles over, so I'm new to BA

Anyway we were looking to go to New York at Christmas and are a bit confused over how to upgrade. The plan is to fly GLA>LHR>JFK and back, in Premium Economy and upgrade the leg back to Club World. Now I worked this out to be 10,000 Avios points per person to do this.

When I try and book with cash and upgrade with Avios the total cost per person is 881 and 10,000 points to upgrade. Now when I search for these flights as if it's a normal booking it's only 828 in Premium Economy. This is on the same flights, I checked the flight codes to confirm.

Now my question is, what is there to stop me from booking normally at the cheaper price, then upgrading the booking once it's complete instead of doing the upgrade at the same time? Do I have to pay to upgrade or am I missing something here?
Old Aug 11, 12, 7:57 am

Programs: AA ExP, DL Diamond, AF Plat, AS 75K, Hertz #1 Gold, National Executive, SPG Gold
Originally Posted by RedArrowX View Post
Hi, I've recently used the BMI tier match program to get a Silver BA card and transferred my miles over, so I'm new to BA

Anyway we were looking to go to New York at Christmas and are a bit confused over how to upgrade. The plan is to fly GLA>LHR>JFK and back, in Premium Economy and upgrade the leg back to Club World. Now I worked this out to be 10,000 Avios points per person to do this.

When I try and book with cash and upgrade with Avios the total cost per person is 881 and 10,000 points to upgrade. Now when I search for these flights as if it's a normal booking it's only 828 in Premium Economy. This is on the same flights, I checked the flight codes to confirm.