Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > British Airways | Executive Club
Reload this Page >

Advice please: Looking to fly (from UK) into Canada and back to UK from USA

Old Mar 28, 12, 12:36 pm
Original Poster

Hello all,

I have never done a flight like this before, but I am sure t must be something that happens fairly regularly...

I am looking (next Aprl) to take a holiday on the Pacific coast, and was looking to fly from LHR to YVR, stay a week then get an internal flight down to SFO, stay another week then fly back to LHR.

Obviously, I am flying into Canada and returning from the USA. Could/will this be probelmatic? Is there anything I need to know/do?

Is it best to do it this way LHR-YVR-SFO-LHR or might it work better in reverse LHR-SFO-YVR-LHR?

If anyone has done this (kind of) trip before, any advice would be most welcome.

Thanks,
Kevin
Old Mar 28, 12, 12:46 pm

This happens very regularly as you describe.

Choose the multi-city option on BA.com and plug in your flights that you need. I would advise trying BA for LHR-YVR then SFO-LHR.

The YVR-SFO can be on any carrier as it is a short flight. Random search shows that Alaska, Air Canada, WestJet and United fly the route - I haven't checked the lo-cost airlines.

Flying into Canada and out of the US is not an issue.
Old Mar 28, 12, 12:48 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: BA Gold, IHG Platinum Ambassador
You can do the trip in any order. You will pass through Canadian immigration on arrival into YVR and US immigration on arrival into SFO (you will need a visa waiver if GB citizen).

What you are booking is a multi city/open jaw trip with a transborder flight.
Old Mar 28, 12, 12:50 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Location: Falkirk, Scotland,VS Red, BA Gold, HH Diamond,UK Amex Plat
Programs: Master of the Privy Purse des Muccis
Originally Posted by Genius1 View Post