No double MFU?

Old Jan 17, 12, 4:50 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: BRU
Programs: BA Gold, Miles & More FT, IC Gold Ambassador, SPG Gold
Posts: 112
No double MFU?

Hi there,

I'm booked on a BA 177 today to JFK in WTP...I checked yesterday and there was plenty of rewards seat available in F and C...third try as I flew twice to DXB on a supposed to be 777-300...replaced by a non-retrofitted 777-200 in last minute...

I called BAEC and asked for an upgrade to F...wanted to experience NF as BA177 is usually operated on a 777-300.

BAEC website does mention the multiple needed for upgrade from Y to F and all intermediate upgrades so I assumed a MFU from WTP to F was possible...it seems that it is not. I've been kindly informed that double upgrade are not accepted...there were still 3 F seats available for rewards.

I never tried before, I usually upgrade from WTP to CW or CW to F.

Anyone knows about this? Not that clear on the website, I looked in the terms and conditions but could not spot this...

Cheers from FLounge with a chilled Bollinger Rose ^

Last edited by SN_RJ100; Jan 17, 12 at 5:01 am
SN_RJ100 is offline  
Old Jan 17, 12, 4:54 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kent, UK
Programs: BA Gold, SPG Platinum, Marriott Platinum, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 3,809
I'm afraid that you can't do double upgrades with miles/avoid. You could pay to upgrade to CW and then MFU that potentially.
matthandy is offline  
Old Jan 17, 12, 4:56 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Programs: Lord OPebble - Mucci of the Hour. Diamond Class MUCCI.Chevalier du Circle Intime de Pucci
Posts: 7,088
Fraid it isn't allowed with MFU!
OPebble is offline  
Old Jan 17, 12, 4:57 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Programs: Just a lowly Blue ;(
Posts: 1,776
It's never been possible, It states MFU's are only upgradeable to the next class.
mdj1 is offline  
Old Jan 17, 12, 4:58 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: BRU
Programs: BA Gold, Miles & More FT, IC Gold Ambassador, SPG Gold
Posts: 112
Ok thanks to you for confirming this...

One question remains, why is the website then mentionning that upgrade from Y to F cost 2x miles required for a Y ticket....?

I'll survive ;-) but this is a bit confusing, isn't it?
SN_RJ100 is offline  
Old Jan 17, 12, 5:00 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Programs: BA Gold, KL/AF Gold, HH Silver
Posts: 14
Hi

First reply on FT, but I recall seeing this in the Terms and Conditions as I was looking myself recently. The Terms and Conditions do cover this:

"The upgrade is a single cabin upgrade from Euro Traveller to Club Europe, World Traveller to World Traveller Plus (where fitted on the aircraft), World Traveller to Club World (where World Traveller Plus is not fitted on the aircraft), World Traveller Plus to Club World, Club World to First."

Cheers!
edionwards is offline  
Old Jan 17, 12, 5:04 am
  #7  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Her Majesty's United Kingdom
Programs: BA Gold, BA Lounge Rats, BA Audit Survivors, CW Kitchen Defender, CX Noodle Connoisseurs Club
Posts: 5,955
You could ask for an upgrade from CW to F on check in.

I have heard about people getting this for 399
PanGalactic is offline  
Old Jan 17, 12, 5:04 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Wellington, NZ
Programs: NZ Elite *G, Hilton Gold, SPG Gold
Posts: 1,366
Originally Posted by edionwards View Post
Hi

First reply on FT, but I recall seeing this in the Terms and Conditions as I was looking myself recently. The Terms and Conditions do cover this:

"The upgrade is a single cabin upgrade from Euro Traveller to Club Europe, World Traveller to World Traveller Plus (where fitted on the aircraft), World Traveller to Club World (where World Traveller Plus is not fitted on the aircraft), World Traveller Plus to Club World, Club World to First."

Cheers!
Hi edionwards and welcome to FT.
RedVee is offline  
Old Jan 17, 12, 5:11 am
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: BRU
Programs: BA Gold, Miles & More FT, IC Gold Ambassador, SPG Gold
Posts: 112
Originally Posted by PanGalactic View Post
You could ask for an upgrade from CW to F on check in.

I have heard about people getting this for 399
Nope, heard and experienced upgrade from WTP or even WT to CW for 400USD in the US.

I'm based in Brussels, I've never been offered any paying upgrade at the check-in counter or at OLCI neither by the way...

I asked once at LHR and they offered me the upgrade from CW to F for GBP 2.000....flight turned out to be almost full...this was just the fare difference between a I ticket and a F...
SN_RJ100 is offline  
Old Jan 17, 12, 5:35 am
  #10  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Her Majesty's United Kingdom
Programs: BA Gold, BA Lounge Rats, BA Audit Survivors, CW Kitchen Defender, CX Noodle Connoisseurs Club
Posts: 5,955
Originally Posted by SN_RJ100 View Post
Nope, heard and experienced upgrade from WTP or even WT to CW for 400USD in the US.

I'm based in Brussels, I've never been offered any paying upgrade at the check-in counter or at OLCI neither by the way...

I asked once at LHR and they offered me the upgrade from CW to F for GBP 2.000....flight turned out to be almost full...this was just the fare difference between a I ticket and a F...
Things change all the time.....

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/briti...l#post16025855
PanGalactic is offline  
Old Jan 17, 12, 5:42 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: All over the place often South Wales and Lake District
Programs: BA Gold for Life
Posts: 4,188
Originally Posted by SN_RJ100 View Post
Nope, heard and experienced upgrade from WTP or even WT to CW for 400USD in the US.

I'm based in Brussels, I've never been offered any paying upgrade at the check-in counter or at OLCI neither by the way...

I asked once at LHR and they offered me the upgrade from CW to F for GBP 2.000....flight turned out to be almost full...this was just the fare difference between a I ticket and a F...
I paid 399 for CW to F in MAN. for LHR - PKG. Unfortunately my 55 minute flight to LHR was delayed by 3 hours so I was rerouted via paris on Air france in business. Still waiting to hear whether I will get the 399 refunded. On the way back yesterday, amount to upgrade CW to F was 11000 RMB, about 1100 didn't pay that stayed in row 64 on UD.
itsmeitisss is offline  
Old Jan 17, 12, 6:01 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Herts, UK
Programs: BAEC Gold, HH Diamond.
Posts: 2,879
Originally Posted by SN_RJ100 View Post
Ok thanks to you for confirming this...

One question remains, why is the website then mentionning that upgrade from Y to F cost 2x miles required for a Y ticket....?

I'll survive ;-) but this is a bit confusing, isn't it?

its because on AA and Iberia they do not have premium economy.
So on those flights you can upgrage y-j as it is the next class!
stewaran is offline  
Old Jan 17, 12, 7:17 am
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 11,924
Originally Posted by SN_RJ100 View Post
Ok thanks to you for confirming this...

One question remains, why is the website then mentionning that upgrade from Y to F cost 2x miles required for a Y ticket....?
AA domestic only has Y and F cabins (except some 3-class transcons), so it is quoting the cost of a single-cabin upgrade from Y to "F" on AA within the US.
Smirnoff is offline  
Old Jan 17, 12, 8:21 am
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 12,048
Originally Posted by matthandy View Post
miles/avoid
Freudian slip?!
Sixth Freedom is offline  
Old Jan 17, 12, 8:22 am
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 12,048
Welcome to FT edionwards. ^
Sixth Freedom is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: