BA not honoring oneworld status?

Old Jan 7, 12, 11:10 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AA Gold, SPG Gold, Hyatt Plat
BA not honoring oneworld status?

I just achieved oneworld Ruby status by reaching AAdvantage Gold status. I currently have flights booked on BA for March and BA's web site says that oneworld Ruby passengers have the same benefits as EC Bronze. When I e-mailed BA Executive Club about choosing my seats 7 days prior to my flight (a benefit for Ruby/BA Bronze passengers), they said the following...

It is not our policy to match the status of another frequent flyer programme when you join our programme. Tier status is a way of recognising and rewarding our most loyal and frequent travellers.
I am new to elite status so did I misunderstand how this works? I thought oneworld affiliated airlines acknowledged oneworld status.

If I've misunderstood, can someone explain if I get any benefits from BA with oneworld Ruby status that I've earned?

Thanks in advance!
Old Jan 7, 12, 11:14 pm

Programs: BAEC Silver,clubcard,clubcard plus, BA Amex................ And Mucci x3 ;)
Do you have your AA ff number in the booking or a BA ff number ?

cs
Old Jan 7, 12, 11:21 pm

Programs: AA Exec Platinum/MM, DL Silver/MM, Hilton Diamond, Hertz 5* Gold
The BA record needs to show your correct AAdvantage status. If you booked the trip prior to becoming Gold then there is a good chance BA shows you as no-status, with all the rights and privileges thereto. You need to ask BA to refresh the status on your reservation, perhaps by deleting your FF # and re-entering it. You may be able to do this yourself on ba.com.

Obviously BA Executive Club did not understand your emailed request. They thought you were asking for a status match into their program, which they evidently do not grant.
Old Jan 7, 12, 11:22 pm

Programs: AA PLT 3.6...MM-gonna take LONGER to hit 4MM for those VIPs soon!