Is silver just a pipe dream?

Old Apr 4, 2011, 6:43 am
Original Poster

Programs: MUCCI, BAEC Silver, A-Club Gold
Is silver just a pipe dream?

Hi there, I guess I'm something of a noob here, have been a lurker for a while, decided to join today.

I have been a member of the EC for a few years now, mostly flown for pleasure occasionally on business aroudn Europe. Have enjoyed several upgrades in the past (including a trip with 4 family members who were all boosted to CW with me). I have the BA Amex and have had a couple of companion vouchers as well. All in all I have had a great experience with BA and the EC, although I am now travelling more with work it would be great to get out of blue membership, if only to be able to use the lounges.

I work for a small company as a Regional Sales Manager, my region being South America, focussing mainly on Brazil & Argentina to start with. Sadly the company are only willing to pay for economy travel.

Is there any chance of getting out of blue only flying economy? Currently not travelling as much as I should be but expect to get down to SA every 8 weeks or so, travelling to Sao Paulo or Buenos Aires. Of course there are holidays as well, but is it reaslistic to expect to get to Silver with 5-6 trips to SA annually. Or is that just not frequent enough?

Any tips to get the best return on the trips? Is there any other way of getting lounge access without Silver? Considered priority pass for the "alternarive" lounges, as I had that a few years ago. But T5 has no lounge for PP and the lounge in Sao Paulo is closed mid afternoon - about the time I would be arriving to get the flight to LHR.

Finding the place very interesting, but I think my definition of frequent travel and others may be poles apart!

Looking forward to being a part of the community.

Richard
Old Apr 4, 2011, 7:00 am

Programs: BAEC Gold, Amex and some hotels
Hi. Welcome to FT and the BAEC corner!