Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums >
Reload this Page >

Miles&Points

Airlines and Mileage Programs

British Airways | Executive Club

AA award stopover rule?

AA award stopover rule?

Old Jun 4, 10, 8:55 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NYC
Programs: UA, AA
Posts: 519
AA award stopover rule?

Would the following all-AA itin be valid for 25K coach award or 50K business class award?

PHL-ORD/DFW-IAH (stop-over), IAH-ORD/DFW-NRT

Thanks.
nydad is offline  
Old Jun 4, 10, 9:18 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 39,378
No....it has to be by the most direct routing and you are backtracking big time by going through the same airport twice.
HIDDY is offline  
Old Jun 5, 10, 12:53 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NYC
Programs: UA, AA
Posts: 519
Originally Posted by HIDDY View Post
No....it has to be by the most direct routing and you are backtracking big time by going through the same airport twice.
Thank you for your kind response.

Can I then make a routing, PHL-DFW(stop-over)-NRT?
nydad is offline  
Old Jun 5, 10, 2:31 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Programs: Aadvantage Gold 1MM, BA Blue again :-(, Hilton Silver
Posts: 640
Originally Posted by nydad View Post
Thank you for your kind response.

Can I then make a routing, PHL-DFW(stop-over)-NRT?
Better to ask on the AAvantage forum but my understanding is yes, because DFW would be the international gateway in this case. AIUI there are two exceptions to no stopovers, and one is international gateway. Try this thread.
Tumbleweed666 is offline  
Old Jun 5, 10, 12:20 pm
  #5  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NYC - Manhattan
Programs: AA EXP, Hyatt DIA, IC RA
Posts: 340
I will be using BA miles, not AA miles, and want to do the following routing, I think it should work, but before calling BA, wanted to get thoughts here first.

All in J/F for 50k

EZE-MIA (STOP) MIA-JFK (STOP) JFK-LAS (STOP) LAS-LAX
NYCbustravelguy is offline  
Old Jun 5, 10, 12:27 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 39,378
Originally Posted by NYCbustravelguy View Post
I will be using BA miles, not AA miles, and want to do the following routing, I think it should work, but before calling BA, wanted to get thoughts here first.

All in J/F for 50k

EZE-MIA (STOP) MIA-JFK (STOP) JFK-LAS (STOP) LAS-LAX

I think it might not going by the rules....this routing can be done with only one stop in MIA without doing a grand tour of the USA.
HIDDY is offline  
Old Jun 5, 10, 6:23 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Programs: Aadvantage Gold 1MM, BA Blue again :-(, Hilton Silver
Posts: 640
Originally Posted by NYCbustravelguy View Post
I will be using BA miles, not AA miles, and want to do the following routing, I think it should work, but before calling BA, wanted to get thoughts here first.

All in J/F for 50k

EZE-MIA (STOP) MIA-JFK (STOP) JFK-LAS (STOP) LAS-LAX
As per above poster, seems unlikely to me because while the BA rules may be different and may overrule the AA ones, I can't believe they will let you take a tour of the USA when you could just go EZE-somewhere-LAX without visiting a whole bunch of other places in between with multiple stopovers.

Please report back !
Tumbleweed666 is offline  
Old Jun 5, 10, 10:48 pm
  #8  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NYC - Manhattan
Programs: AA EXP, Hyatt DIA, IC RA
Posts: 340
Originally Posted by Tumbleweed666 View Post
As per above poster, seems unlikely to me because while the BA rules may be different and may overrule the AA ones, I can't believe they will let you take a tour of the USA when you could just go EZE-somewhere-LAX without visiting a whole bunch of other places in between with multiple stopovers.

Please report back !
It worked. First agent said I could only do EZE-MIA-DFW-LAX (stopover she said could be as many as I wanted in one direction, but only in hub cities for AA).

Next agent, made it work after I feed her the cities and flights, EZE-MIA (stop), MIA-JFK (my home, stop), JFK-LAS (stop), LAS-LAX (stop and then I added at the last minute LAX-SFO (final), all for 40k BA and $2.50 tax (I think she got the tax wrong). For wahat it is worth the second agent told me she has seen JFK-Vancover (stop), Vancover-HKHG (stop) HKG-BKK (stop), BKK-SIN (stop).
This is a very good use of miles to me, and it would never be allowed on AA. Plus AA would charge 50k for J and would only allow EZE-MIA (stop) MIA-JFK (or MIA-SFO, LAX or other city). They do not allow a tour of the US.
NYCbustravelguy is offline  
Old Jun 6, 10, 2:34 am
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NYC
Programs: UA, AA
Posts: 519
Originally Posted by NYCbustravelguy View Post
It worked. First agent said I could only do EZE-MIA-DFW-LAX (stopover she said could be as many as I wanted in one direction, but only in hub cities for AA).
This is really incredible. Wow.
nydad is offline  
Old Jun 6, 10, 4:58 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Programs: Aadvantage Gold 1MM, BA Blue again :-(, Hilton Silver
Posts: 640
Agreed, spectacular value.
Tumbleweed666 is offline  
Old Jun 6, 10, 8:54 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 39,378
Yes well done.

I suspect naive agents not knowing the rules got you this. Now I know what to do with my remaining BA miles....a tour of the USA is on the cards.
The $2.50 tax/charges is definitely wrong. Tickets starting in EZE include the $29 departure tax in the taxes/charges which this obviously doesn't so you will have to pay that at EZE.
HIDDY is offline  
Old Jun 6, 10, 9:03 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 3,201
Originally Posted by NYCbustravelguy View Post
It worked. First agent said I could only do EZE-MIA-DFW-LAX (stopover she said could be as many as I wanted in one direction, but only in hub cities for AA).

Next agent, made it work after I feed her the cities and flights, EZE-MIA (stop), MIA-JFK (my home, stop), JFK-LAS (stop), LAS-LAX (stop and then I added at the last minute LAX-SFO (final), all for 40k BA and $2.50 tax (I think she got the tax wrong). For wahat it is worth the second agent told me she has seen JFK-Vancover (stop), Vancover-HKHG (stop) HKG-BKK (stop), BKK-SIN (stop).
No fuel surcharges on AA flights?
fallinasleep is offline  
Old Jun 6, 10, 3:27 pm
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: DCA
Programs: AMC MovieWatcher, Giant BonusCard, Petco PALS Card, Silver Diner Blue Plate Club
Posts: 22,253
Originally Posted by fallinasleep View Post
No fuel surcharges on AA flights?
Nope.
gleff is offline  
Old Jun 6, 10, 7:07 pm
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Argentina
Posts: 39,378
Originally Posted by gleff View Post
Nope.
Indeed although NYCbustravelguy should be paying a hell of a lot more than $2.50....the EZE-MIA leg taxes/charges come to 40.80 alone so he should be getting a call from the BAEC to pay what's owed or he may be in for a shock when he gets to the airport.
HIDDY is offline  
Old Jun 7, 10, 8:27 am
  #15  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NYC - Manhattan
Programs: AA EXP, Hyatt DIA, IC RA
Posts: 340
Originally Posted by HIDDY View Post
Indeed although NYCbustravelguy should be paying a hell of a lot more than $2.50....the EZE-MIA leg taxes/charges come to 40.80 alone so he should be getting a call from the BAEC to pay what's owed or he may be in for a shock when he gets to the airport.
You guys all got me scare about the taxes, so I call BA, they told me that yest they made a mistake in the taxes, should have been $59.00 more, but that they could not reiisue the ticket, without me paying a fee to reissue. The agent also said some of the flights I wanted were not still avail. She did not say anything about the actual routing. I told he I did not want to be denied bording in EZE. She told me worst case is that I will be asked to pay AA the $59.00, but that was very unlikely. She told me mistakes in ticket prices and taxes happen every day and that the airlines have reserves for those things, ultimately, it may get worked out between the airline and airport auhtorities, but that the passenger will not be denied bording.

She then asked me if I held elite status with AA and I said yes, Emerald/EXP. She told me it would be better for lounges if she took out the basic BA acct # and put my EXP # in the record.

I 'm not worried now, although I will be prepared to pony up the extra taxes. The cost savings on this "tour of the US" are outstanding. Thanks all for alerting me to the possible airpoort issues.
NYCbustravelguy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread