Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Brazil
Reload this Page >

Best use of points/miles from US to Brazil

Old Nov 5, 17, 3:42 pm
ymx
Original Poster

Hi all, hoping I can get some advice, as I am new to booking international flights using miles or points transfers. I'm looking to book a series of international flights for my son from the Northeast US (Boston or NYC) to Brazil. I'm a bit confused because some of the posts I've seen offer various options for LATAM by using AA, British Airways, Cathay etc. Economy is fine, but if there are some bargains to be had in business class I would treat him.

Itinerary is flexible, but roughly:

12/28 BOS/NYC to GIG
3/14 GIG to BOS/NYC

I have the following miles and transferable points available:

AA: 44,000 miles
Amex: 400,000 MR Points
Citi Prestige: 40,000 TY Points
Chase: 100,000 UR Points
Marriott (travel package or transfer to SPG?): 130,000 points
SPG: 91,000 points

Thanks so much for any help you can provide. Also wondering if it would make sense to use a points booking service?

Last edited by ymx; Nov 6, 17 at 3:48 pm
Old Nov 5, 17, 4:03 pm

Programs: UA Plat, IHG Plat, AMEX Plat, Nat EE
Have you still got your $200 AMEX travel credit available for this year ? I'd consider using your AMEX MR points first. I use mine for airfare and they are pretty good value. Others may feel differently. YMMV.

You cannot fly directly into RBR. You have to go thru GRU or GIG first. I think you may have just made a typo in your post, but in case you didn't, I just wanted to mention this.

I'd fly him on United from BOS-IAH-GIG/GRU (your choice) and then onward to RBR on the most convenient flight. But, I am a United junkie, and like that route as it is the one I always fly. The IAH-GIG flight always arrives before the other US carriers as well, so less brain damage clearing immigration, etc.