Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Brazil
Reload this Page >

? Visa needed if transiting at GRU Fast Sleep Hotel

? Visa needed if transiting at GRU Fast Sleep Hotel

Old Aug 18, 15, 3:13 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,587
? Visa needed if transiting at GRU Fast Sleep Hotel

Hi,
I am travelling EZE-GRU-LIM basically because that is the best connection. That is the only time that I am in Brazil.
I am trying to avoid the hassle of getting a Brazil tourist Visa - I am uncomfortable sending my passport to Sydney for 3 weeks and risk losing it .
So , I am asking - will I be regarded as a transit passenger if I
arrive from EZE on TAM at 2035
stay in the international section of Slaviero Fast Sleep Guarulhos,
and depart at 0745 for LIM.
If this is accepted as an international transit , then I do not need to go thru the hassle of applying for a tourist visa for Brazil.
I will be very grateful for your thoughts.
ozflier is offline  
Old Aug 18, 15, 10:03 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,654
First of all, IMO there is little reason to worry about your passport getting lost. (and just btw Australian passport holders pay one of the lowest fees for a visa of those who require one.)

As far as your status, afaik this depends on the ticket(s), if one or separate. And the authority would be the airline. (Also research here on the forum. Similar types of questions are not scarce.)
If you are checking baggage, vs. only having carry on, check with the
airline(s) about how your bag would get on the second flight, if you are obligated to claim it, go through customs, and recheck it (which would also require your going through passport control where you would need to show visa).
VidaNaPraia is offline  
Old Aug 18, 15, 3:26 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,587
Thank you for that .
The flights are booked as one ticket with a reference to a 11 hour layover in GRU.
I have checked with the Fastsleep Hotel and they only have cabins with external toilets and showers available.
That doesnt seem to be pleasant to me so we may go with plan A and leave the airport with visa.
ozflier is offline  
Old Aug 20, 15, 2:08 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 310
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/brazi...ort-hotel.html
pvdecastro is offline  
Old Sep 11, 15, 3:14 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3
I am traveling from Tehran, Iran to quito, ecuador. My flight is from turkey operated by turkish to Sao Paulo, Guarulhos airport. I will arrive on Terminal 3 and should go to Terminal 1 to continue my flight to quito by TAME airlines. Since I am a citizen of Iran, I need a transit visa unless I stay in International transit area during the connection time. Now, I am wondering that to change the terminal should I pass across the International transit area, and as a result do I need a transit visa or both the terminals are in a same international transit area?

May anyone please give me advice on this situation?
samrad is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread