Changing Miles programs

Old Jul 21, 02, 10:02 am
Original Poster

Programs: M&M, BA EC, Delta, Hilton, Accor, IHG
Changing Miles programs

Hi,
I currently hold Silver (Frequent Traveller) Status with Luthansa, have not however been overly impressed with their standards of service,even when dealing with loyal customers.However,I feel tied to LH by the status and my location.Does anyone have experience of whether other Star Alliance carriers are likely to equal my LH status if I transfer to them, without having to regain the status on these airlines,particularly British Midland.What would be the best way to go about this if so? The same questions apply to Untied and British Airways,as they are the easiest airline to travel with from my current location other than LH.
Any help or advice would be much appreciated. Many Thanks
Old Jul 21, 02, 3:43 pm

Hi britflyer

I'm no expert on this (and am prepared to be corrected!) but seeing as no-one else has answered you yet, my understanding is that *A carriers are unlikely to match *A status as part of the whole working together thing includes not pinching each other's frequent flyers! UA are *A too, so the same would probably apply.

BA, being One World, would be likely to match your status. However, I very much doubt your customer service experience would improve...
Old Jul 22, 02, 11:27 am

I wonder whether BD would be willing to give you silver immediately if you could subtly hint that BA would be happy to help instead?
Give them a ring and see what they say.

That said, getting BD silver isn't difficult anyway. What is your typical travel profile? If you frequently travel on the same BD route, it may be worth getting a "Individual Routepass" (book of 5 return tickets, valid for 4 months). This saves 15-20% over the full flexible fare, and gives you instant silver status.