Duplicating Costco Travel Prices on Avis.com

Old Sep 15, 22, 11:07 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Duplicating Costco Travel Prices on Avis.com

I've been trying to do this for at least a few years, but is there a way to put in your costco AWD on avis.com and duplicate the costcotravel.com pricing on Avis's website?

I don't mind doing Costco's site, but I think there are often more car options or can be a bit more specific on Avis's website..... but every time I try this it always is significantly costlier on avis.com than costco.

Can it be done? Do I need a coupon code in addition to the AWD?
Jerome10 is offline  
Old Sep 15, 22, 11:54 am
  #2  
Company Representative - Autoslash
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: https://www.autoslash.com
Posts: 5,288
Costcos website will often apply a coupon code in addition to the discount code. Thats probably why the rates dont match.

It takes a lot of work to keep up with every available coupon and discount code. We know because thats what we specialize in. 🙂
Auto Enthusiast likes this.
AutoSlash is offline  
Old Sep 17, 22, 10:30 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 44
It used to be that once you reserve on Costco, the terms and conditions would list the AWD. but it doesn't now. I have the costco awd's in a spreadsheet but they are no longer working online direct. This is case for Alamo, Avis and Enterprise.
dougfoglesong is offline  
Old Sep 19, 22, 11:27 am
  #4  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: NYC
Programs: AA 2MM, Bonvoy LTT
Posts: 13,956
Originally Posted by Jerome10 View Post
I've been trying to do this for at least a few years, but is there a way to put in your costco AWD on avis.com and duplicate the costcotravel.com pricing on Avis's website?

I don't mind doing Costco's site, but I think there are often more car options or can be a bit more specific on Avis's website..... but every time I try this it always is significantly costlier on avis.com than costco.

Can it be done? Do I need a coupon code in addition to the AWD?
Have you tried making reservation on Costco then going to vendor site to change the reservation?
seawolf is online now  
Old Sep 20, 22, 10:46 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Originally Posted by seawolf View Post
Have you tried making reservation on Costco then going to vendor site to change the reservation?
OOO. not a bad idea. Tried it here. If I modify the reservation, then pick full size again, its adding about $9. So very close.

Pick a different car class though and Avis is $70 higher than booking same class on costcotravel.

maybe just cannot be done.
Jerome10 is offline  
Old Sep 20, 22, 12:12 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,027
There's no reason to use Costco when you can use AutoSlash, which checks Costco and all other eligible discounts.
Auto Enthusiast and AutoSlash like this.
m907 is offline  
Old Sep 21, 22, 4:40 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 44
But don't you end up renting through Priceline with Autoslash?
Auto Enthusiast likes this.
dougfoglesong is offline  
Old Sep 22, 22, 3:38 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,027
Originally Posted by dougfoglesong View Post
But don't you end up renting through Priceline with Autoslash?
Priceline is merely the reservation engine.
m907 is offline  
Old Sep 22, 22, 3:30 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 44
I would rather rent directly. I see a lot of issues when going through 3rd party bookings.
dougfoglesong is offline  
Old Sep 22, 22, 5:44 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: OSH
Programs: SWRR, HH, SM, TSA Pre
Posts: 493
Originally Posted by dougfoglesong View Post
I would rather rent directly. I see a lot of issues when going through 3rd party bookings.
Priceline isn't a traditional 3rd party in this case, they are only making the reservation. You still deal with the rental company directly. I've changed my rental for early October twice today using Autoslash through Priceline, once to Alamo then again to Budget, in both cases I could see my rental with my loyalty number attached on both company websites within 5 minutes, same as if you booked through Costco, AAA or most any other option. Almost all of the 3rd party problems are when you pay the 3rd party who then pays the provider.
Auto Enthusiast and m907 like this.
EAJuggalo is offline  
Old Sep 23, 22, 1:08 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: YYZ
Posts: 543
Originally Posted by m907 View Post
There's no reason to use Costco when you can use AutoSlash, which checks Costco and all other eligible discounts.
Well, the 2% reward if you are an Executive Member may be one reason.

Still a big fan of AutoSlash though.
CorSter is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread