booking as a foreign resident when I'm not

Old Aug 13, 18, 11:25 pm
Original Poster

Programs: DL Silver, HU Gold, IHG Spire Elite, Best Western Plat Diamond, Accor Silver
booking as a foreign resident when I'm not

I'm looking to rent a compact in Vancouver for a week this month, I'm just shocked to find out there's a huge difference in pricing with the residency in different countries. In the past, I've noticed a small difference, but this is beyond ridiculous.

Canada: $667
US: $555
UK: $773
Ireland: $388
Gibraltar: $1,140
Australia: $565
New Zealand: $565
South Africa: $438
Japan $410
North Korea: $565

I've noticed some countries include all insurance (e.g. Japan), while others cost extra (e.g. N. Korea).

I'm a local resident with a local license. Naturally, I'm tempted to book as a resident in Ireland. I can't find any policy requiring showing the proof of residency. I hear some people say they book with a different residency all the time, never had any issues. How picky are they? Do they even notice that we book with a different residency?

I've also noticed, when I tried booking as a resident in Japan and N. Korea, they don't list taxes and fees on final page. Does anybody know if they waive taxes and fees for some reasons (system error, some kind of special tax treatment, etc)? Or they add them at check out / return?

Edit: After a little more digging, by using the discount code from the sticky thread, it brings the rate cheapest at $313, taxes and fees included. I've played around with different residencies, it makes no difference.

Last edited by maverikbc; Aug 14, 18 at 12:30 am
Old Aug 14, 18, 4:17 am
Moderator: Avis and Rental Cars

Programs: US Platinum, United 1k, HHonors Diamond, Avis CC, Priority Club Platinum, Marriott Gold
Originally Posted by maverikbc View Post