Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Avianca | LifeMiles and Amigo
Reload this Page >

LM F and J routes (and the occasional trick-it) Rebooted v2.0

LM F and J routes (and the occasional trick-it) Rebooted v2.0

    Hide Wikipost
Old Nov 25, 19, 10:32 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: SingaporeDon
Wiki Link
Originally Posted by Moderator2 View Post
Every forum on Flyertalk has a personality. A forum gains a personality through user input over time, and Lifemiles is a very definitive example of how users have developed a unique community.

While Flyertalk boards actively encourage sharing of info, the Lifemiles community has developed and thrived via obscuring of certain data elements. It may not be easy for new participants to break through the codes and gain knowledge of the program's quirks, but the overall board community has adopted this unique approach. And frankly, that is not going to change overnight.

If a FT member wants to participate on this board, then they will need to respect other users. Hence, posts that run counter to this community's standards, will be removed.
Region definitions
C1 North America
C1.5 Caribbean, Bermuda
C2 Europe
C2.5 Middle East
C3 Asia
C4 South America
C5 Africa
C6 Oceania

2X, 3X: in the context of this LifeMiles thread, 2X and 3X refer to any 2nd and 3rd legs of a one-way award ticket.

LifeMiles' Star Alliance Award Chart

LifeMiles' old Star Alliance Award Chart (before Oct 15 2014) // Table of changes

Cash & Miles redemptions: the price per mile purchased during award booking varies significantly depending on how many miles are purchased. The "sweet spots" are between 38% and 58% of the total mileage required, where miles are purchased for 1.5 cents. See here for some examples.

Beware of Cabotage: LifeMiles has been known to issue tickets that constitute Cabotage, and at least one instance of denied boarding has been reported, stranding the passenger. An easily-seen example is travel on Copa from LAX to SJU (via PTY).

Understand Cabotage: Departing country 1, transiting country 2, returning to country 1 (no stopping) *is* cabotage (example: depart JFK, connect in YYZ to return to ORD, or depart Miami, connect in Bogota, return to San Francisco). On the other hand, departing country 1, going to completely unrelated country 2, and ending up in country 3, is not cabotage. So if you fly JFK-JNB-ZRH, for instance, this is completely not cabotage.

Availability: Seeing availability for *A award seats elsewhere is no guarantee they are accessible on Lifemiles. For instance award space shown on ANA often is not accessible on Lifemiles. Similarly, finding award space on single legs doesn't mean you'll get award space on the combined itinerary. And no, there is no way to overcome that.

Screenshot Method
Send email to [email protected] with attached screenshots on Lifemiles website of each individual leg showing availability. Also, screenshot showing no availability as one booking. Include passenger names, gender and DOB and copy of passenger passport. They will either call you for payment or email the itinerary and give you 3 days to call up and make payment by CC.

NOTE: This previous thread has been closed; it can be read here LM F and J routes (and the occasional trick-it)
Print Wikipost

Old Oct 25, 17, 12:33 pm
  #2776  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: DUS
Posts: 2
Originally Posted by igor82j View Post
Well, DUS-NRT-MEX doesn't have the layover issue, but still doesn't show up.
The problem is that DUS doesn't appear as departure/arrival city AT ALL, when forcing the search engine to NH.
Then you are doing something wrong and It's possibly your browser. DUS appears as destination/origin even after forcing the engine to NH.

Your proposed trans-pacific route to mexico isn't even hard to find, though availablity is low.
SAS782 is offline  
Old Oct 25, 17, 4:16 pm
  #2777  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SCQ,MEX,LED
Programs: tk gold, lh ftl, ab gold
Posts: 336
That's really weird.
I've tried different browsers, and get the same problem.
As far as i see, in general search you can enter any airport code, and the search engine recognizes it.
However, when i force the engine to a specific airline (NH in this case), it blocks the airports that the airline does not fly to. For instance, try to enter TXL, HAM, CGN, whatever. The search engine will not recognize the airport. Same with DUS. Works fine with MUC and FRA and BRU, however.
Do you think it's a browser issue indeed, or am i doing something totally wrong?
igor82j is offline  
Old Oct 25, 17, 4:29 pm
  #2778  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Programs: Flying: VA; Buying: AA, AS, AV, BA, UA!
Posts: 2,342
I tried setting the airline to NH and for me it also meant I could no longer select DUS. It is very easy though to use browser developer tools to change the value to DUS and get results. Oh, hold on...I've just realised I'm back on old search again! When did that happen?

Last edited by wheresmybagba; Oct 25, 17 at 4:34 pm
wheresmybagba is offline  
Old Oct 25, 17, 11:46 pm
  #2779  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: DUS
Posts: 2
Something is happening here and I hope this is just a temporary glitch. DUS doesn't work for me anymore with NH since this morning.

Edit: It works now after I have done some prior searches ex FRA

Last edited by SAS782; Oct 26, 17 at 12:01 am
SAS782 is offline  
Old Oct 26, 17, 2:53 am
  #2780  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SCQ,MEX,LED
Programs: tk gold, lh ftl, ab gold
Posts: 336
Originally Posted by wheresmybagba View Post
I tried setting the airline to NH and for me it also meant I could no longer select DUS. It is very easy though to use browser developer tools to change the value to DUS and get results. Oh, hold on...I've just realised I'm back on old search again! When did that happen?
May i ask which browser developer tools you refer to?
igor82j is offline  
Old Oct 26, 17, 3:56 am
  #2781  
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tokyo
Programs: Marriott Plat, HH G,Hyatt E,*A Gold, OW Emerald.
Posts: 2,906
Originally Posted by igor82j View Post
May i ask which browser developer tools you refer to?
Firebug on Firefox, among others. It is not safe (for LM website goodies) for the details to be written out in public. But then, hints have been written before, in the old thread.
https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/21903877-post741.html
kpc and MasterGeek like this.

Last edited by Tokyoite; Oct 26, 17 at 4:04 am
Tokyoite is offline  
Old Oct 28, 17, 7:19 pm
  #2782  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Programs: DL GM, SPG Plat, HH Gold, US Gold
Posts: 31
Whenever I try to search any route, I get this message:

Sorry, we could not process your request, please try again. If the problem persists contact our Call Center Option 3 or send us an email to [email protected]
LifeMiles Team.
Error

Is anybody else getting this, or is it just me? I checked on 2 separate accounts, both got the same message.
graj08 is offline  
Old Oct 29, 17, 5:41 am
  #2783  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Programs: BA Gold, EY Gold, HH Diamond, IHG Plat, Fairmont Platinum
Posts: 11,431
Originally Posted by graj08 View Post
Whenever I try to search any route, I get this message:

Sorry, we could not process your request, please try again. If the problem persists contact our Call Center Option 3 or send us an email to [email protected]
LifeMiles Team.
Error

Is anybody else getting this, or is it just me? I checked on 2 separate accounts, both got the same message.
I haven't been able to get anything to show up since the new engine.
onlysuites is offline  
Old Oct 30, 17, 1:20 pm
  #2784  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 71
What are the chances of Avianca allowing me to short check luggage to my first destination, when doing hidden city ticket?

It's an international leg followed by a domestic leg and the connection is overnight. It's all operated by Avianca and chances of rerouting are almost 0.
viag8 is offline  
Old Nov 11, 17, 4:15 am
  #2785  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Has the old interface with"colombia" gone?

New Interface does not show any boomerang. Pity.
tomsdiner1 is offline  
Old Nov 11, 17, 7:39 am
  #2786  
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tokyo
Programs: Marriott Plat, HH G,Hyatt E,*A Gold, OW Emerald.
Posts: 2,906
Originally Posted by tomsdiner1 View Post
Has the old interface with"colombia" gone?

New Interface does not show any boomerang. Pity.
It is there.
Switch to Colombia then log in then enter the old website URL below.
Works most (not 100%) of the time.

https://www.lifemiles.com/eng/use/red/dynredpar.aspx
Tokyoite is offline  
Old Nov 11, 17, 8:32 pm
  #2787  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,562
can i just check if it is possible to fly HKG to tokyo via thai airways?
tboons is offline  
Old Nov 12, 17, 3:01 am
  #2788  
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Valencia, Spain
Programs: Pascal and Python, no C++
Posts: 738
I don't think you meant that question literally? Because the answer would be:
Yes, you can check. Why wouldn't you?

If you meant "Can somebody please check for me, ...."?
Yes, and I did, the answer is: it's possible, for instance on November 20th already, both in Y and C, not F
WolfvanWeen is offline  
Old Nov 12, 17, 4:16 am
  #2789  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Originally Posted by Tokyoite View Post
It is there.
Switch to Colombia then log in then enter the old website URL below.
Works most (not 100%) of the time.

https://www.lifemiles.com/eng/use/red/dynredpar.aspx
I tried Chrome, FF, Edge, IE10 in Win10 x64 but had no success, even after clearing cookies.

I will be keep trying.
neurofrou likes this.

Last edited by tomsdiner1; Nov 12, 17 at 4:43 am
tomsdiner1 is offline  
Old Nov 12, 17, 4:52 am
  #2790  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Programs: BA Gold, EY Gold, HH Diamond, IHG Plat, Fairmont Platinum
Posts: 11,431
How are you guys getting the website to show boomerangs when I can barely even get a normal award flight to show.
onlysuites is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: