Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Avianca | LifeMiles and Amigo
Reload this Page >

Lifemiles serious booking problems - Beware

Lifemiles serious booking problems - Beware

    Hide Wikipost
Old Aug 2, 18, 2:27 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Tokyoite
Wiki Link
Please do your homework before buying Lifemiles. It is what it is... for some that's useful, for others it's not.

Biggest complaints are about
- mixed class bookings are available but now many of the suitable connections dont show
- not being able to book anything that isn't available online (there are work-arounds, see screenshot method below)
- the quality of the call center (English speaking agents are scarce, you might get thrown in a loop with call transfers within their call center)
- no stopovers (>24H) or open jaws, but you can book one way awards
- no reservations on Certain subsidiaries of Star Alliance carriers (Lufthansa Cityline, Germanwings)

Problems with ticketing / lack of confirmation screen or email
- write down the confirmation number shown on the screen after confirming your purchase.
check here: http://serviciosenlinea.avianca.com/...doReserva.aspx

Sometimes, even if you cannot see the PNR, the record may have been created, so better to call them and give them flight details you were trying to book. They can find the PNR from those details.
- ticketing usually takes place within 10-15 min of booking
- but it may also take up to 2 days
- if miles have been deducted from your account and a temporary authorization has been placed on your CC, you're probably fine even if you did not see a confirmation screen
- if no e-ticket number is visible on checkmytrip.com after two days, you should contact LifeMiles. You can expedite the ticketing by emailing with your booking reference to: [email protected] after you have booked, especially if you have booked last minute flights, and need ticketing straight away

Screenshot method.
So, on a date you are looking for in the future, there is availability for LAX-NRT and NRT-BKK. But not LAX-NRT-BKK.
It may be a case of the LM system not offering the through connection.

Take three screen shots - two 'available' screen shots for LAX-NRT and NRT-BKK and the 'not available' screen for LAX-BKK.
Send them all off with a scan of your passport page (PDF) and LM will make the booking manually for you.

Send to these two email addresses, and CC yourself (just for your records)
[email protected]
[email protected]

Sample email:
====
Email topic: Urgent request for booking Lifemiles Award
====
Dear Sirs,

I have tried several times, over several days, but the following itinerary does not show on the website.
Please see the three attached screenshots I took just now.
Please do the manual booking First Class/Business class for xx,000 miles. (*Know how many miles the whole award should cost-here, to avoid surprises once ticketed)

The availability is only 1 seat for this date, so please process this request urgently before it is gone.

Los Angeles (LAX) - Bangkok (BKK)
Saturday August 11th 2018
NH 175 connecting to NH 807
(*Provide the specific flight numbers you want, to avoid surprises once ticketed)

My passport copy (Number xxxx, expiry 20xx/xx/xx, Nationality xxx) is attached in this email.

LifeMiles Number: xxx
First Name: xxx
Last name: xxx
Date of Birth: Month, date, year
Gender: Male/Female
Email: xxxx
Phone Number: +1-xxxx

Regards,
XXX
=========
Print Wikipost

Reply

Old Oct 20, 17, 2:59 am
  #676  
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Programs: NH, JL, SQ
Posts: 158
maybe we should compile a list for which partners the new interface can/cannot reliably pull availability?

as far as i can tell it seems to me it can show NH/UA space.
TG, OZ, SQ, BR all don't show up
merridius is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 17, 7:56 am
  #677  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SZX/NYC
Programs: Marriott/SPG Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 29
Originally Posted by merridius View Post
maybe we should compile a list for which partners the new interface can/cannot reliably pull availability?

as far as i can tell it seems to me it can show NH/UA space.
TG, OZ, SQ, BR all don't show up
It's showing TK and AC too. I also checked a couple of flights on LH group (LH, OS, SN), and they are also showing up (which is interesting given Lifemiles's system has always been buggy when dealing with these airlines).

In addition to TG/OZ/SQ/BR above, CA is not showing up again...
usr22 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 17, 12:23 am
  #678  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 419
Seems to have been an update. Some LH,TG,OZ,SQ flights are coming up again in all classes.
Guvner067 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 17, 1:14 am
  #679  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,006
.8.8.

Last edited by mlqsko; Oct 23, 17 at 12:23 pm
mlqsko is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 17, 4:39 pm
  #680  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2,457
Strange, it's defaulting to the old search engine for me, when using Chrome (no incognito mode or old search link required). Saw a few routes with LH F availability, but no OS J or LX J availability.
iluvdoco is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 17, 7:58 am
  #681  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 11
Now I see some availability in LH F, TG F, OS J.
Boomenrangs seem to have gone.
tomsdiner1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 17, 5:10 pm
  #682  
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Programs: IHG Plat, Hilton Gold, Accor Gold, Marriott Silver
Posts: 3,957
The new search seems to have the same issue I always encountered: Lack of most connections, even simple ones on the same airline. e.g. There can be tons of availability HKT-BKK and BKK-SYD, yet absolutely nothing ever showing for HKT-SYD.
Kremmen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 17, 8:31 pm
  #683  
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Programs: EK, AS
Posts: 9
Cant log in

i canít even log into the lifemiles website. Iíve tried several different times today after I got the two for one email from several different devices with no luck. It just gives me a clock like its thinking about logging me in.
Inter_0perative is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 17, 8:35 pm
  #684  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, TX
Programs: AA Plat, SPG Plat/LTG, Hilton Gold
Posts: 147
Originally Posted by Inter_0perative View Post
i canít even log into the lifemiles website. Iíve tried several different times today after I got the two for one email from several different devices with no luck. It just gives me a clock like its thinking about logging me in.
same here on firefox, chrome, ie. just checking in to see if anyone else.
ddjen11 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 17, 9:29 pm
  #685  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CGK/LAX/SUB
Programs: KF,JMB, OZ, SPG,AA,UA,AS
Posts: 1,069
Originally Posted by ddjen11 View Post
same here on firefox, chrome, ie. just checking in to see if anyone else.
No issues for me on chrome i'm using the US site.
gpeso8 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 17, 9:34 pm
  #686  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, TX
Programs: AA Plat, SPG Plat/LTG, Hilton Gold
Posts: 147
Originally Posted by gpeso8 View Post
No issues for me on chrome i'm using the US site.
weird - so am i, also tried multiple accounts. no luck.
ddjen11 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 17, 9:58 pm
  #687  
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Programs: IHG Plat, Hilton Gold, Accor Gold, Marriott Silver
Posts: 3,957
Originally Posted by Inter_0perative View Post
i canít even log into the lifemiles website. Iíve tried several different times today after I got the two for one email from several different devices with no luck. It just gives me a clock like its thinking about logging me in.
Same here, if I try to log in from the main site (www.lifemiles.com) in any way.
If I try to do searches, the login is through apps.lifemiles.com, which works, at least some of the time.
Kremmen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 17, 10:34 pm
  #688  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 419
I just logged in without an issue.

Can also see some OZ F ICN>LAX which has been sparse lately.
Guvner067 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 17, 8:22 pm
  #689  
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tokyo
Programs: SPG Plat, HH G,Hyatt E,*A G, OW Saph.
Posts: 2,162
the "login" button had a javascript website coding mistake that has since been rectified.
Tokyoite is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 17, 10:56 am
  #690  
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 132
On which routes is LH F available? I'm not seeing anything from the east coast.
ohiosux is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread