Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Asiana | Asiana Club
Reload this Page >

Factors that affect jetbridge vs. bus

Factors that affect jetbridge vs. bus

Reply

Old Nov 25, 18, 12:16 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: ICN
Programs: OZ Diamond, KE, AA, UA, *G
Posts: 65
Factors that affect jetbridge vs. bus

I just completed a weekend GMP-CJU trip on OZ, and 3 of the 4 dis/embarkings were done via bus. On the way down I was on an A321 and on the way back a B767-300 (the final disembarking at GMP was the one done via jetbridge). I was just curious, are there any predictable factors that affect whether your flight will get a jetbridge or not, or is just basically random, depending on various events that happen on that day? I figured the size of the plane might make a difference, but I can't think of anything else.

This might not be an OZ-specific question, so I'm sorry if this isn't the right forum.
slimjin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 18, 1:17 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somewhere in Y class
Programs: OZ D+,
Posts: 1,062
For those airports, it is really a roll of the dice. There are lots of factors we have no control over. In my experience, it has been roughly 50/50 between getting a jetbridge or the bus. I feel they are more concerned about getting the aircraft turned around in time, instead of waiting for a gate to open up.
Gasolin and slimjin like this.
nme7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 18, 1:09 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 758
Is it possible OZ settles for less-costly embarking/disembarking options? I have no idea whether airport fees are lower or higher on the basis of bus vs. jetbridge, but if they are, is it possible this is a factor?
zippy the pinhead is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 18, 8:22 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ICN, HNL, SFO
Programs: Asiana/*G/Hilton Diamond/Marriott Gold
Posts: 516
Perhaps there's a logic to it but I assume it's random. I fly the GMP-HND route often. I get the remote gate on arrival about half the time. The ANA flight arrives at 10:30 and the OZ flight arrives at 10:35 but I've had a remote gate with both airlines. Once when flying OZ, we had the remote gate and the ANA arriving just before us was at the gate.
slimjin likes this.
vprp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 18, 8:09 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Gangnam-gu, Seoul, Korea
Programs: KE Skypass, OZ Club, JL Mileage Bank
Posts: 1,510
Sadly, getting a remote gate at HND feels kind of "ghetto." Especially since you're paying a fat premium for that ticket and it's usually overall a more "business experience." I've never gotten a gate at HND luckily, but I've heard of this happening many times haha.
mikesaidyes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 18, 8:10 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Gangnam-gu, Seoul, Korea
Programs: KE Skypass, OZ Club, JL Mileage Bank
Posts: 1,510
Also, I think at GMP-CJU there are SO MANY flights from everyone all day all the time that it's just a matter of get in/get out. Not about saving money, cutting costs. There's just too much traffic.
mikesaidyes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 18, 1:51 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 103
Originally Posted by mikesaidyes View Post
Also, I think at GMP-CJU there are SO MANY flights from everyone all day all the time that it's just a matter of get in/get out. Not about saving money, cutting costs. There's just too much traffic.
So many that in fact it's the world's busiest airline route, with 13,000,000 passengers a year. Beats the next closest busiest route by a long shot.
JoeDaejeon is online now  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: