Asiana A380 Seat Questions...

Old Jul 19, 14, 6:38 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Mr Worldwide
Programs: UA 1K, BA Gold, Hyatt Plat., Marriott Plat.
Posts: 126
Asiana A380 Seat Questions...

Hi All,

Im booked LAX-BKK in Oct. on OZ (LAX-ICN-HKG) and TG (HKG-BKK) metal. I was lucky enough to grab a F suite on the LAX-ICN A380 (hopefully) and HKG-BKK.

Right now I'm booked on J for the OZ ICN-HKG leg, assuming that it's going to be the A380 I have selected 10A. From what I can tell this seat is a true window seat (where the side table is in the aisle as opposed to by the window). Can anyone confirm?

Im also wondering about upgrading that leg. EF shows availability but on the site all of F is "blocked". Any ideas if they will open this up?

Thanks
bumfluff is offline  
Old Jul 20, 14, 10:15 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Daejeon, Republic of Korea
Programs: OZ Diamond, nobody everywhere else
Posts: 164
It is. (about 10A. I have no idea about the blocked F seats)

http://www.bangaloreaviation.com/201...-schedule.html

The seat map in the link above is exactly the same as OZ website will show you.

Last edited by philphys; Jul 20, 14 at 10:17 am Reason: clarification on "It is."
philphys is offline  
Old Jul 20, 14, 11:25 am
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: ORD, HKG
Programs: UA*G, AA Emerald, HHonors Diamond, Hyatt explorist
Posts: 10,040
Originally Posted by bumfluff View Post

Im also wondering about upgrading that leg. EF shows availability but on the site all of F is "blocked". Any ideas if they will open this up?

Thanks
You can't and you won't, because ICN-HKG is 3 class sold as 2 class, so there is no upgrading at all, only if OZ assign you one of those F seats, but you will still be getting C class service.

You will see that if you read some of the posts on the long A380 thread.
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/asian...8-oz-a388.html
ORDnHKG is offline  
Old Jul 21, 14, 4:51 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: YVR, HKG
Programs: CX Diamond
Posts: 192
Hi All.

Just flew in C on OZ745/746 both ICN/HKG legs operated by the 388. Even as a Diamond Plus member, they did not open up the F cabin for seating. The reason given was that additional crew members would have to be rostered in for that cabin to be open for seating. Since the C loads were very very low (we could all have fit into the forward C cabin on the upper deck) both ways, I can imagine why they leave it closed.

Flew in 10A outbound and 10K inbound and can report yes, they are seats next to the window vs. on the aisle side.
AC340-541 is offline  
Old Jul 21, 14, 4:35 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: DFW
Programs: PLAT -- 2.7Million
Posts: 2,031
OZ told me some weeks ago that they gave me 3K on HKG-ICN in September. I'm on a mileage ticket via UA...first class.
AAJetMan is offline  
Old Jul 21, 14, 4:42 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: DFW
Programs: PLAT -- 2.7Million
Posts: 2,031
...then 3K ICN-LAX later in the day.
AAJetMan is offline  
Old Jul 21, 14, 9:04 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Mr Worldwide
Programs: UA 1K, BA Gold, Hyatt Plat., Marriott Plat.
Posts: 126
Thanks all!
bumfluff is offline  
Old Jul 22, 14, 9:24 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Programs: AA EXP, SPG Plat
Posts: 1,462
I just snagged two F seats on an A380 as well. How can I select seats? My reservation is ticketed, but on UA.com it still shows no seat assignments.
omegadeal is offline  
Old Jul 22, 14, 9:32 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 51
Originally Posted by omegadeal View Post
I just snagged two F seats on an A380 as well. How can I select seats? My reservation is ticketed, but on UA.com it still shows no seat assignments.
If you have the Asiana PNR (your United number won't work) you can select seats here:

http://eu.flyasiana.com/I/en/Default...&menuType=LINK

Be sure to use the name you have booked under:

Smith JohnFranklinmr 99999999
Eagertraveler is offline  
Old Jul 23, 14, 9:32 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Programs: AA EXP, SPG Plat
Posts: 1,462
Thanks - will the Asiana PNR appear in my reservation on UA.com eventually? It is about three days old now and says "This reservation was ticketed and confirmed..." but I only see the UA PNR.

EDIT: Sorry I didn't realize I was posting in the Asiana forum. I had done a search for Asiana and I guess I didn't limit it to the UA forum.

Last edited by omegadeal; Jul 23, 14 at 10:16 am
omegadeal is offline  
Old Jul 23, 14, 3:36 pm
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Mr Worldwide
Programs: UA 1K, BA Gold, Hyatt Plat., Marriott Plat.
Posts: 126
Originally Posted by omegadeal View Post
I just snagged two F seats on an A380 as well. How can I select seats? My reservation is ticketed, but on UA.com it still shows no seat assignments.

You gotta call OZ direct, thats the best way I've found. They'll ask for a PNR or eTicket number, but they can also look up your flight by name and flight info.

The USA number is kinda hard to find on the OZ site. It's 1800-227-4262.
bumfluff is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread