Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Asia > Asia
Reload this Page >

questions about traveling in S.E. Asia with only a carry-on

Old Oct 8, 19, 11:19 am
Original Poster

Programs: UA Gold, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Gold, IHG Spire

I have a long trip to S.E. Asia coming up and I have very little experience in the region. I'll be traveling with only a carry-on in order to improve mobility, minimize airport time and risk of baggage loss, etc.

Are the carry-on rules for airports in S.E. Asia similar to those of the U.S.? For example, will I be okay packing nail clippers and a small metal scissors (from a men's grooming kit) in my carry-on? Are the liquids limits the same as the U.S.? What about mosquito spray? Should I bring a bunch of travel-size or just buy and dispose when in the region?

Thanks very much.
Old Oct 8, 19, 2:25 pm

It's too much work to keep looking up the rules before each flight.

So here's what I do because I don't want trouble: limit toothpaste, sunscreen, mouthwash etc. to 100ml containers each. No knives, but small nail clipper OK. I once had an exceptionally tiny screwdriver for eyeglasses confiscated as well as a tiny pair of scissors, so I don't carry those. Power packs have to be labelled with capacity, and no really big ones.

But overall rule is that anything that could be confiscated could be bought pretty cheaply on arrival, so I don't worry much. If they take your 125ml of mosquito spray it won't be a disaster.
Old Oct 8, 19, 2:31 pm
Original Poster

Thanks. I figure nowhere else could be even worse than the U.S. when it comes to these sorts of things, but I don't want trouble, either.

Do you remember where you had the tiny scissors confiscated? Last I knew, those were okay for U.S. flights, so it's interesting you had the opposite experience overseas. Thanks.
Old Oct 8, 19, 2:46 pm

Programs: NZ Elite Partner/Silver (in own right), PR Elite, QF Bronze, UA Member, VA Red