Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Asia > Asia
Reload this Page >

Quick question re visa requirement for Cambodia

Quick question re visa requirement for Cambodia

Old Jan 30, 17, 3:12 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,385
Quick question re visa requirement for Cambodia

I'm heading out very soon to Singapore, Siem Reap, Bangkok and then Maldives, in that order. Of those countries, only Cambodia requires a visa for entry. I wanted to do it online but forgot about it and now it's too late. It can be obtained at the airport as well, but the US travel site states that I'll need 2 passport photos. I don't have access to that at this time; will this be an issue?
DaveInLA is offline  
Old Jan 30, 17, 10:05 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SEA
Programs: Delta TDK(or care)WIA, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 1,819
Originally Posted by DaveInLA View Post
I'm heading out very soon to Singapore, Siem Reap, Bangkok and then Maldives, in that order. Of those countries, only Cambodia requires a visa for entry. I wanted to do it online but forgot about it and now it's too late. It can be obtained at the airport as well, but the US travel site states that I'll need 2 passport photos. I don't have access to that at this time; will this be an issue?
It must be an issue, right? If they say you need them you need them. But why wouldn't you be able to get photos very easily in Singapore, or even in Singapore airport?
Carl Johnson is offline  
Old Jan 30, 17, 1:05 pm
  #3  
Moderator: American AAdvantage & TravelBuzz
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: BOS
Programs: AA EXP, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 9,886
As this is about a specific country's entry rules, we will move this to the Asia forum for further discussion. Thanks. /JY1024, TravelBuzz co-moderator
JY1024 is offline  
Old Jan 30, 17, 1:11 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Programs: DL Plat, Hilton Gold
Posts: 230
I can't recall if Cambodia actually required the photo on arrival. For such photos, I use the free app for iPhone called 2x2pix to create 6 2"x2" photos in one 4"x6" print, which I then got printed at my neighborhood pharmacy (just cut them up after printing). It cost 19 cents for 6 photos in 2 minutes.
mglvrug is offline  
Old Jan 30, 17, 6:17 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Asia
Programs: Some of this 'n some of that
Posts: 16,651
I've heard many reports of paying a couple of dollars at the visa desk and having this dealt with then. Having never dealt with the situation personally entering Cambodia I can't lend any further information to this anecdote nor corroborate it.

I fully understood your apprehension for traveling without the photos and typically have a stash 'just in case'.
dsquared37 is offline  
Old Jan 30, 17, 6:24 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: LHR
Programs: Accor PLT,Thai Silver, HH Dia, SPG PLT (LT Gold), TK Gold, M&M S, BA Silver, Hyatt Dia
Posts: 4,468
I believe you can pay $2 at the airport for the picture
ExpatSomchai is online now  
Old Jan 31, 17, 8:45 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Omaha
Posts: 1,638
Originally Posted by ExpatSomchai View Post
I believe you can pay $2 at the airport for the picture
Right, you just pay a few dollars extra at the airport for them to take your photo. The visa costs are in US dollars and you will pay in US dollars.
CrazyInteg is offline  
Old Jan 31, 17, 12:29 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: ATL
Programs: DL:PM, Marriott:P/LTP, Hilton:G, NatCar:EE+, Hertz:PC
Posts: 8,756
I arrived with a visa, which required sending two passport pics. I was with someone who did not have a visa, but did have the two passport pics. We saw people getting the pics taken at the airport. When we arrived in Siem Reap, those with visas went straight to the immigration desk. Those without went to a different row of desks. Bottom line, everyone was past immigration before the bags landed on the carousel. While I'm glad I took care of the visa ahead of time, and would do so again, it didn't slow those down who did not have the visa and/or pics.

The pic is attached to a piece of paper which is used as your visa while in the country, as opposed to a visa being stamped in your passport. IIRC, the second pic stays with authorities, in lieu of your pic being taken as you enter the country like so many other countries do.
CJKatl is offline  
Old Jan 31, 17, 12:31 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: London, United Kingdom
Programs: British Airways Gold
Posts: 2,551
I go to Cambodia every couple of years and never both with the photo, they scan the one in your passport for an extra $2
ajeleonard is offline  
Old Jan 31, 17, 11:23 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Asia
Programs: Some of this 'n some of that
Posts: 16,651
Originally Posted by CJKatl View Post
IIRC, the second pic stays with authorities, in lieu of your pic being taken as you enter the country like so many other countries do.
There are cameras at every immigration agent's desk along with fingerprint scanners. Whether either is working on any given day is a different question.
dsquared37 is offline  
Old Feb 3, 17, 10:21 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: IAH
Programs: UA Platinum, AA, HH Silver, MR Platinum
Posts: 141
If it's $2 extra for arriving without the picture, the price has doubled since I was there in 2013. At any event, it's probably still cheaper than having pictures taken in Singapore.
Baritone73 is offline  
Old Feb 4, 17, 1:25 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: LAS
Programs: Hilton Diamond, IHG Spire Ambassador, Radisson Gold, Hyatt Discoverist
Posts: 2,968
Bad news folks. I landed in Cambodia a month ago and the immigration agents are now asking for $3 if you don't have a photo.
Mike Jacoubowsky likes this.
jphripjah is offline  
Old Feb 10, 17, 10:56 am
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 23,764
Thanks, I think I may need to cancel my trip.
ijgordon is offline  
Old Feb 16, 17, 3:58 pm
  #14  
rjh
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Berkeley, CA USA
Programs: Kam Leng; Two Dragons GH
Posts: 1,577
Originally Posted by jphripjah View Post
Bad news folks. I landed in Cambodia a month ago and the immigration agents are now asking for $3 if you don't have a photo.
At REP in January, it was US$2, so perhaps variable.
rjh is offline  
Old Dec 6, 17, 4:23 pm
  #15  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Russia
Posts: 6
Hi DavelnLA,

You could make your Cambodia visa photos online at visafoto.
Masha Ivanova is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: