Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Other Loyalty Programs/Partners > Amtrak | Guest Rewards
Reload this Page >

Vancouver (VAC): How late can I arrive (0635 train)

Vancouver (VAC): How late can I arrive (0635 train)

Old Jan 19, 19, 7:25 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: PMD
Programs: UA*G, NW, AA. WR, HH, IHG, Accor. TT-GE.
Posts: 2,106
Vancouver (VAC): How late can I arrive (0635 train)

I'm considering the 0635 Cascades down to WA, originating from Richmond on public transit. Amtrak says to arrive 60 min ahead for preclearance. The first SkyTrain gets me to Main Street-Science World (2-min walk) at 0541. Am I OK to get onto this Cascades train?
HkCaGu is online now  
Old Jan 20, 19, 2:21 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 58
Originally Posted by HkCaGu View Post
I'm considering the 0635 Cascades down to WA, originating from Richmond on public transit. Amtrak says to arrive 60 min ahead for preclearance. The first SkyTrain gets me to Main Street-Science World (2-min walk) at 0541. Am I OK to get onto this Cascades train?
When I rode the morning Cascades in 2015, I arrived 57 minutes early and was the third person in line. You should have no problem.
DoB840 is offline  
Old Jan 24, 19, 3:17 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 164
You'll probably be fine, but the line may be fairly long. I've arrived for the morning train (in 2017) about 45 minutes early and the line was already quite long. Luckily I had NEXUS, which they have a dedicated line for, but while you'll probably be okay the line could be long by the time you're arriving.
jebr is offline  
Old Jan 24, 19, 3:59 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, Amtrak & OAL peon, Blingy metal at most hotels, Colbert Platinum, Walk & Transit Scores 96
Posts: 4,465
Originally Posted by jebr View Post
Luckily I had NEXUS, which they have a dedicated line for, but while you'll probably be okay the line could be long by the time you're arriving.
Awesome, that's the first I've heard of this. Officially there's no "rail mode" for using NEXUS, though logically there really should be.
GoAmtrak is offline  
Old Jan 24, 19, 5:38 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: PMD
Programs: UA*G, NW, AA. WR, HH, IHG, Accor. TT-GE.
Posts: 2,106
Originally Posted by jebr View Post
You'll probably be fine, but the line may be fairly long. I've arrived for the morning train (in 2017) about 45 minutes early and the line was already quite long. Luckily I had NEXUS, which they have a dedicated line for, but while you'll probably be okay the line could be long by the time you're arriving.
Do they have kiosks? (I'm wondering with GE if I get any expedited access.)
HkCaGu is online now  
Old Jan 26, 19, 1:30 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 164
Originally Posted by HkCaGu View Post
Do they have kiosks? (I'm wondering with GE if I get any expedited access.)
No kiosks. It's the same line for NEXUS as for business class passengers, and you still talk with a CBP agent before boarding the train. It's basically a priority line but with similar screening.
jebr is offline  
Old Feb 5, 19, 9:46 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Programs: DELTA
Posts: 15
I forgot the exact time they close boarding but I showed up twice close to that time with just a backpack as a carry on. Maybe 20 mins before departure so that the last passenger can go through US immigration formalities. And at that time, there is no line. I too took that first skytrain to the rail station, got my ticket, and then went for a walk to get my last Tim Hortons fix.

I enjoyed the ride the first more than the 2nd time. I was disappointed in the seat conditions, not being able to pick my seat, and also sitting next to someone who wanted to keep the curtains closed for most of the journey. The view is one of my main reasons for taking the train.
DoB840 likes this.
LAX784 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread