Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Other Loyalty Programs/Partners > Amtrak | Guest Rewards
Reload this Page >

Just hit 60,000 points... help planning a coast-to-coast trip

Old Nov 21, 12, 4:25 pm
Original Poster

Hello all,

New on this forum and looking for some advice.

I just hit 60,000 AGR points that I have been saving up for many years for a coast-to-coast bedroom trip (we live in Boston). As you can imagine, I was pretty bummed when they increased the award from 50 to 60K points... in any case, I'm there now.

I just generally love seeing the scenery from outside trains or planes, so this would be a bit of an accomplishment for me.
So far I haven't been on any Amtrak train other than in the Northeast corridor...

The plan would be to go from the East Coast to the West Coast and then take a plane back.

I have been reading through many threads regarding coast-to-coast award redemption.
Here are some questions I have and partial responses that I could find or infer based on the forum. Any help confirming or filling out missing info would be great!
(You can also feel free to point me to great threads that I may have missed)

1. How much flexibility do I have regarding the routing? For example, can I go from Boston to Seattle via Chicago/Denver/SF?
Can I go down to DC (or even further South) before heading West?

2. What do you consider as the most beautiful/scenic routes to travel on a coast-to-coast Amtrak trip? In the Western zone, I would assume that the Denver/Salt Lake City/Reno is pretty breathtaking, but wonder what the ND/Montana route, or the routes through NM/AZ, are like. Same question in the Central zone...
Basically, if you have a preferred East-to-West routing (to the extent it is an allowable redemption), what would you suggest? In which areas should I make sure that I travel during the day?