Adirondack Border Crossing

Old Jul 27, 11, 7:51 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Washington, DC, USA
Programs: V-Flyer Black
Posts: 329
Adirondack Border Crossing

Hey there! I have a bunch of AGR point and was thinking of taking the train NYP to Montreal. Is there a proper border passport inspection like at an airport? What is the procedure?
PimpNumOne is offline  
Old Jul 27, 11, 10:17 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, Amtrak & OAL peon, Blingy metal at most hotels, Colbert Lifetime Platinum
Posts: 4,477
Yes, absolutely. Amtrak will require you to provide your personal info and passport or document data upon booking. The Adirondack will stop at the border for inspection (CBSA northbound, USCBP southbound). Agents will walk the train and check everyone's documents. Beware that, if there are problems with anyone, the entire train may be held for minutes or even hours.
GoAmtrak is offline  
Old Jul 27, 11, 10:22 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Washington, DC, USA
Programs: V-Flyer Black
Posts: 329
Cool! Thanks GoAmtrak ^

Any chance I would get a Canadian passport stamp? I like having my passport stamped, nerdy I know.
PimpNumOne is offline  
Old Jul 27, 11, 2:47 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, Amtrak & OAL peon, Blingy metal at most hotels, Colbert Lifetime Platinum
Posts: 4,477
No problem! I have not had my passport stamped in either direction on any of Amtrak's transborder routes. But it never hurts to ask.

Have a good trip! This train's pace is leisurely on a good day. But the scenery is fantastic, especially as it hugs Lake Champlain.
GoAmtrak is offline  
Old Jul 27, 11, 2:54 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South Florida
Programs: AA LTG (EXP), Hilton Silver (Dia), Marriott LTP (PP), SPG LTG (P) > MPG LTPP
Posts: 11,329
Originally Posted by PimpNumOne View Post
Cool! Thanks GoAmtrak ^

Any chance I would get a Canadian passport stamp? I like having my passport stamped, nerdy I know.
I'm not sure the agents will be carrying stamps with them. However, I'm sure if you raise a ruckus when they ask for your passport, they will "invite" you to visit their office for further discussion. I'm sure they have a stamp there.
RogerD408 is offline  
Old Jul 27, 11, 3:10 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,053
Originally Posted by GoAmtrak View Post
Yes, absolutely. Amtrak will require you to provide your personal info and passport or document data upon booking. The Adirondack will stop at the border for inspection (CBSA northbound, USCBP southbound). Agents will walk the train and check everyone's documents. Beware that, if there are problems with anyone, the entire train may be held for minutes or even hours.
Wow ya gotta hope the carriers are motivated to prevent that from happening. You mean they can't detrain the problem and let the rest go?
LuvAirFrance is offline  
Old Jul 28, 11, 12:22 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MSY
Programs: BA GfL
Posts: 5,419
Originally Posted by LuvAirFrance View Post
Wow ya gotta hope the carriers are motivated to prevent that from happening. You mean they can't detrain the problem and let the rest go?
They do (it happened on our train when Mr. travelmad478 and I took this trip a couple of years ago) but it still takes a dog's age for the whole situation to get handled. We were at the border for more than an hour, as I recall. One passenger in our car got marched off the train.
travelmad478 is offline  
Old Jul 28, 11, 12:25 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,053
Originally Posted by travelmad478 View Post
They do (it happened on our train when Mr. travelmad478 and I took this trip a couple of years ago) but it still takes a dog's age for the whole situation to get handled. We were at the border for more than an hour, as I recall. One passenger in our car got marched off the train.
Maybe another sign the travel industry cares less and less about its customers. No sense of "we have a trainload of people who are bystanders, how can we hustle this?" Got that same sense from the various bus companies involved in my recent trip.
LuvAirFrance is offline  
Old Jul 28, 11, 1:23 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MSY
Programs: BA GfL
Posts: 5,419
Originally Posted by LuvAirFrance View Post
Maybe another sign the travel industry cares less and less about its customers. No sense of "we have a trainload of people who are bystanders, how can we hustle this?" Got that same sense from the various bus companies involved in my recent trip.
This didn't have anything to do with the "travel industry"--and everything to do with Canadian border patrol. If Amtrak had really been interested in "hustling" then they should have been coming through the cars with a snack cart during the delay!
travelmad478 is offline  
Old Jul 28, 11, 1:33 pm
  #10  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 46,687
Originally Posted by LuvAirFrance View Post
Maybe another sign the travel industry cares less and less about its customers. No sense of "we have a trainload of people who are bystanders, how can we hustle this?" Got that same sense from the various bus companies involved in my recent trip.
How does this relate to the travel industry? It's the authorities (Canadian or USA as the case may be who aren't releasing the train).
Often1 is offline  
Old Jul 28, 11, 2:31 pm
  #11  
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New York, NY, USA
Programs: HH Diamond, Amtrak Exec
Posts: 3,262
Originally Posted by travelmad478 View Post
This didn't have anything to do with the "travel industry"--and everything to do with Canadian border patrol. If Amtrak had really been interested in "hustling" then they should have been coming through the cars with a snack cart during the delay!
Originally Posted by Often1 View Post
How does this relate to the travel industry? It's the authorities (Canadian or USA as the case may be who aren't releasing the train).
Correct!

Amtrak's only part in this is to collect the required passport/travel document info and forward it to customs and to ensure that everyone boarding the train actually has said documents on them.

After that, Amtrak has no more say. Once that train crosses the border, it remains in the control of the respective country's agents until such time as those agents decide to release the train with or without all the passengers. It is entirely their call how long they're going to delay the train while they check documents and decide if they're going to deport anyone who came over the border.
AlanB is offline  
Old Jul 29, 11, 6:19 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Programs: IHG Platinum Elite : HH Blue : AA : WR : VX Elevate : VS Flying Club : Amtk GR
Posts: 57
If where you live in one of the states that offers the Enhanced Drivers License/ID try to get. It cost a little more than the standard license or id, but it replaces the uses of a passport for all land/sea/rail entry into the US.

http://www.getyouhome.gov/html/lang_eng/eng_edl.html

You other option is to get a Passport Card

http://www.getyouhome.gov/html/lang_eng/eng_uspc.html

Like the Enhanced Drivers License, this is only valid for land/rail/sea entry into the US
Toshiro Hitsugaya is offline  
Old Jul 30, 11, 8:46 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,053
I think in Washington State, train service does not cross the Canadian border. Amtrak buses do the crossing. Maybe that is somehow related to the risk involved in Canadian border patrol taking control of an entire train. A bit amazing that there would even be a train track that doesn't stop at an international border. I'm sure that is common in Europe (the Orient Express crosses many). But here in North America?
LuvAirFrance is offline  
Old Jul 30, 11, 9:11 am
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Not here; there!
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Posts: 22,064
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.601 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Originally Posted by LuvAirFrance
I think in Washington State, train service does not cross the Canadian border. Amtrak buses do the crossing. Maybe that is somehow related to the risk involved in Canadian border patrol taking control of an entire train. A bit amazing that there would even be a train track that doesn't stop at an international border. I'm sure that is common in Europe (the Orient Express crosses many). But here in North America?
Amtrak also provides train service between Washington State and Vancouver on its Cascades route. There is a U.S. pre-clearance facility at the Vancouver train station for southbound rail passengers. (The train makes no stops in Canada.)
guv1976 is offline  
Old Jul 30, 11, 9:12 am
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South Florida
Programs: AA LTG (EXP), Hilton Silver (Dia), Marriott LTP (PP), SPG LTG (P) > MPG LTPP
Posts: 11,329
Originally Posted by LuvAirFrance View Post
I think in Washington State, train service does not cross the Canadian border. Amtrak buses do the crossing. Maybe that is somehow related to the risk involved in Canadian border patrol taking control of an entire train. A bit amazing that there would even be a train track that doesn't stop at an international border. I'm sure that is common in Europe (the Orient Express crosses many). But here in North America?
Actually the Amtrak Cascades does go from Seattle to Vancouver and back, I believe two trains a day. It's a great ride and cheaper way to get across the border without having the high air fare/fees. There is no stop at the border and once at the station you are herded through a customs check point similar to the airports.
RogerD408 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: