Swapping US amex plat to UK amex plat

Old Feb 20, 2023, 5:21 am
Original Poster

Swapping US amex plat to UK amex plat

I'm a UK resident and citizen. I've worked in the US in the past and I've got an US issued amex plat which I have still been using since I got back to the UK in 2020 (since it has no fx charges). However I've been wondering if it's worth switching to a UK issued amex plat instead. I pay $695 a year and I'm almost not using any of the benefits. Plus now I have to pay a fee to bring guests to centurion lounges (I don't spend anywhere near the limit where I can bring guests in for free).

The UK card has an annual fee of 575 (which is comparable to the US one at current exchange rate). With that I can bring guests in for free to centurion lounges (which is a benefit I frequently use) and I can get one complimentary amex platinum for a second card holder. I will also be able to use more of the UK oriented benefits.

The drawback is of course losing the free fx spending (it's just poor form that I have to pay for fx after paying an annual fee of 575!) and that the conversion rate to some miles might not be as good as the US.

Should I swap my US card with a UK card? I think it makes a lot of sense but I often see a lot of people wanting to have US issued cards so I just want to double check to see if I'm missing anything.

Will I be able to transfer my points from my US account to my UK account?

I do not plan to return to work in the US or North America in the foreseeable future.
Old Feb 20, 2023, 10:14 pm
mia
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend; Moderator: American Express, Capital One, Citi, Chase, Credit Card Programs, Diners Club, Signatures

Programs: AA & Marriott Perpetual Platinum; DL & HH Gold
Originally Posted by freethemind
Will I be able to transfer my points from my US account to my UK account?