AMEX Hilton Aspire Card for Casual Travelers?

Old Sep 26, 22, 10:15 am
Original Poster

AMEX Hilton Aspire Card for Casual Travelers?

Hello everyone. I am just getting into the reward game and trying to decide on a hotel rewards card. I know the Aspire is extremely valuable. However, is it valuable for someone who never travels for work? We travel for leisure a few times a year, and fly to visit family a few times a year. The annual fee is a steep price, but seems like we can get a free trip out of it every few years, and essentially pay $250 a year once you deduct the $250 resort credit that can be applied to your room. So basically we are paying $250 for a really nice hotel room for a night. Anyone in a similar boat who decided to get the card?
Old Sep 26, 22, 10:36 am
mia
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend; Moderator: American Express, Capital One, Citi, Chase, Credit Card Programs, Diners Club, Signatures

Programs: AA & Marriott Perpetual Platinum; DL & HH Gold
Welcome to Flyertalk

Originally Posted by godawgs View Post
....essentially pay $250 a year once you deduct the $250 resort credit ....
You seem to be calculating a net annual cost of $250. Please clarify your arithmetic. The annual fee is $450. There are two annual credits: $250 Hilton Resort Statement Credit, $250 Airline Fee Credit, and there is a $100 On-Property Credit.
Old Sep 26, 22, 10:53 am
Original Poster

Originally Posted by mia View Post
Welcome to Flyertalk

You seem to be calculating a net annual cost of $250. Please clarify your arithmetic. The annual fee is $450. There are two annual credits: $250 Hilton Resort Statement Credit, $250 Airline Fee Credit, and there is a $100 On-Property Credit.