Amex Concierge UK - how do you use them?

Old Apr 15, 2021, 7:53 am
Original Poster

Programs: BAEC Silver, HH Gold, IHG Platinum
Amex Concierge UK - how do you use them?

Hi all,

I am wondering what people think of the Amex concierge service in the UK? Is it at all useful? I have never used it before but some people seem to think it's the best thing ever. It seems like the service only deals with travel and hotels plus event bookings at the O2 and the like.

I read all sorts of stories about people using it to help find purchases, organise parties etc, so phoned them up today about finding a gift and apparently they will do it - but a min spend is 1000 and they mostly deal with watches. Well that's helpful (not!)

Is this benefit just a smokescreen and not worth anything or am I using it wrong?

Many thanks,

M
Old Apr 15, 2021, 8:48 am
Suspended

Programs: UA 1K
It's completely useless. Centurion is ok, but even there it's stuff you could easily do yourself, possibly with better results.
Mawalt and Deckter like this.
Old Apr 15, 2021, 10:33 am

Programs: OZ Diamond, BAEC Silver, Marriott Platinum, HH Gold
Can't give any recent feedback, but I had the Platinum ICC card serviced out of the UK for a few years and found the concierge service in general quite OK, especially for restaurant reservations.

On one occasion I used them for securing a restaurant booking at one high end sushi restaurant in Tokyo and, despite it took them a couple of weeks to confirm, they managed to get it. I understood they had to liaise with their Japanese counterparts so that gave me a sense that they went "the extra mile" as opposed to the easy way.

However, I think that this really depends on who you speak to -- like everything in life. Some may care more, others not so much.
Mawalt likes this.
Old Apr 15, 2021, 2:08 pm
Original Poster