Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Credit, Debit and Prepaid Card Programs > American Express | Membership Rewards
Reload this Page >

Help needed dealing with AMEX's incompetency [unable to make Amex Travel payment]

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Help needed dealing with AMEX's incompetency [unable to make Amex Travel payment]

Search this Thread

Old Jan 11, 2017, 5:24 pm
Original Poster

Background:
I am a small business owner. Our business involves a lot of travels for myself and my associates. We spend about $10,000 a month on flights alone. When deciding what credit card to apply, I chose American Express Business Gold due to the ability to earn 3X Membership Rewards points on every dollar spent on airfare, and an additional 1X point per dollar for booking on American Express Travel website. This proposition alone is the reason I've elected to pay the annual fee and keep this card since 2013.

The problem:
Several months ago (around August-September), I started having issue using my Gold card on Amex Travel website. Every time I attempted to book a flight on the site, I'd get an error message "Payment error occurred." Even when I called AmexTravel to book flights over the phone, they would be met with the same error message when attempting to charge my Gold card. Meanwhile, Card Services have checked and rechecked every time that my card and account are in good standing. No late payment. No credit overage. No overdraft, etc. Also- the card works fine on all other vendors for charges big or small. It's just on American Express Travel that my card would not work.

My dealings so far with American Express: