Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Credit, Debit and Prepaid Card Programs > American Express | Membership Rewards
Reload this Page >

[Expired] HHonors Gold for USA Platinum Chargecard holders

[Expired] HHonors Gold for USA Platinum Chargecard holders

Old Nov 7, 13, 1:34 am
  #76  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Programs: SPG PLAT,AMEX PLAT/GOLD/SPG, VIRGIN ELITE,Carnival PLAT, National Elite
Posts: 35
I did this on monday and it is still not updated. They told me it could take 7 days.
mccolm323 is offline  
Old Nov 7, 13, 2:12 am
  #77  
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Programs: DL Diamond, UA Silver, HHonors Diamond, Marriott Ambassador
Posts: 845
Originally Posted by gooselee View Post
Whenever I call for my US Plat, I just say "Card Services" as soon as it picks up, and then when the next prompt starts talking, I say "Representative". Usually gets me with a live person in ~30 seconds from when I press "Send" on my phone.
Good to know. I wasn't aware you could directly say representative from that "portion" of the menu. Thanks! ^
bj27 is offline  
Old Nov 7, 13, 7:14 am
  #78  
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: BOS
Programs: MR, UR, AA, AS, HH Gold, SPG Gold, HGP, RR
Posts: 708
This was easy! Thanks OP for the info.
SquarePeg is offline  
Old Nov 7, 13, 7:20 am
  #79  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 62
Weird situation:

Called Amex representative and gave them my platinum card number.. asked him about the promo and he did knew about it and read a disclaimer and said i am done…

Without asking me about my HHonors number or anything.. I asked him, if he doesnt need my HHonors number, but he said no, dont need it…They will match my account through my name..

Is that possible??? What if someone has the same name or have different accounts?

I guess I should call in again and ask again?


Update Edit: Ok, just used the Online Secure chat in my amex account and she confirmed, that she needs the account number… just gave her everything…. and she said also, that it is for 2014 only as of now…

at least i do have a chat protocol for verification purposes…

So, chat does work too...

Last edited by Sunriser; Nov 7, 13 at 7:35 am
Sunriser is offline  
Old Nov 7, 13, 8:04 am
  #80  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ATL
Programs: DL Scattered Smothered Covered Medallion, Some hotel & car stuff, Kroger Plus Card
Posts: 10,467
Originally Posted by bj27 View Post
Good to know. I wasn't aware you could directly say representative from that "portion" of the menu. Thanks! ^
To be fair - I don't know that it's an actual option, or if it just confuses the voice recognition enough to send me that way. But it works for me.

Originally Posted by Sunriser View Post
Weird situation:

Called Amex representative and gave them my platinum card number.. asked him about the promo and he did knew about it and read a disclaimer and said i am done…

Without asking me about my HHonors number or anything.. I asked him, if he doesnt need my HHonors number, but he said no, dont need it…They will match my account through my name..

Is that possible??? What if someone has the same name or have different accounts?

I guess I should call in again and ask again?


Update Edit: Ok, just used the Online Secure chat in my amex account and she confirmed, that she needs the account number… just gave her everything…. and she said also, that it is for 2014 only as of now…

at least i do have a chat protocol for verification purposes…

So, chat does work too...
The CSR I talked to said he could match it by name, but if I had my HH#, that "would be much faster".
gooselee is offline  
Old Nov 7, 13, 8:07 am
  #81  
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NYC
Programs: DL Plat, SPG Gold, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 229
Sunriser,
Thanks for your update. Same thing happened to me. Amex CS said didn't ask for my HHonors account number and when I asked, they said they didn't need it, and I was all set. But seems strange. I'll try the secure chat thing to confirm and give my HH number.
cinnamon121 is offline  
Old Nov 7, 13, 8:19 am
  #82  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 62
Well.. like I said, what if there are other people with the same name

Anyways, the online chat rep said also, that I was not signed up yet and she did so… might be true or might be that it just didint appear in their system..

she was very clear and said that I receive a welcome kit in the next 4-7 weeks..
Sunriser is offline  
Old Nov 8, 13, 4:56 am
  #83  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London, UK
Programs: Le Club Accor: Plat, HHonors Gold, Marriott/SPG: Gold, AMEX Platinum
Posts: 112
I just called AMEX for a completely different reason and I had no idea about this but the guy who was assisting me on the phone told me about it so I did! Didn't realize it was a new thing just thought it was something I had missed. Guess it's brand new!
vidrineb is offline  
Old Nov 8, 13, 8:34 am
  #84  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SJC/VCE
Programs: AA PLT (2.9+ MM), HH GLD, Hyatt Diamond, SPG PLT
Posts: 10,161
Originally Posted by mccolm323 View Post
I did this on monday and it is still not updated. They told me it could take 7 days.
I heard the same thing.
bdemaria is offline  
Old Nov 8, 13, 12:34 pm
  #85  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Watchlisted by the prejudiced, en route to purgatory
Programs: Just Say No to Fleecing and Blacklisting
Posts: 93,330
Originally Posted by kburges View Post
called yesterday and got the benefit but it is not live, rep stated that it would take a few days to update in HH system & card would arrive in a few weeks.
It certainly wasn't live upgrade to Gold for us when we called in as (regular US personal) Amex Plat card holders. They said something about it taking several days for the HHonors account to get adjusted to Gold. We called in on Wednesday and Thursday for this.
GUWonder is offline  
Old Nov 8, 13, 8:52 pm
  #86  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 35
I called on Monday evening and my status shows Gold as of this evening (4 days total). Excellent.

Last edited by ToneDog; Nov 8, 13 at 8:57 pm
ToneDog is offline  
Old Nov 9, 13, 7:46 am
  #87  
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: OR
Posts: 1,329
Tried to enroll via the chart function:
BUT was told to call in for this. Ask why can't he do it...

They will enroll the promotion offer in your card...
you: Why can't you do it for me?
Simon: Because we need to contact Star wood services team to get this done for you...
Simon: Being a chat specialist we don't have access to call..
Simon: So once you call them...
you: I am talking about the HILTON program, not starwood....


What a waste of my time. I should know better...
neuro0 is offline  
Old Nov 9, 13, 7:50 am
  #88  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 62
Just close the chat and reopen a new one after waiting few mins

Worked for me well and the chat rep knew exactly what I was talking about
Sunriser is offline  
Old Nov 9, 13, 8:40 am
  #89  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SJC/VCE
Programs: AA PLT (2.9+ MM), HH GLD, Hyatt Diamond, SPG PLT
Posts: 10,161
Update: I called in my request in the am on 11/5. As of this am, my HHonors status now reads Gold.
bdemaria is offline  
Old Nov 9, 13, 9:36 am
  #90  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NYC
Programs: Marriott Gold
Posts: 364
I had signed up for the Hilton HHonors program on 11/4, called AMEX to upgrade to Gold and today I see I'm Gold online.
tomcat007 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: