Centurion Card at Whole Foods

Old Apr 29, 13, 1:14 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: YYT/YYZ
Programs: AC*SE, AC*MM, SPG Gold, FPC Plat, HHonors Diamond, PC Plat Elite, R&C Club 5C, Hyatt GP
Posts: 2,201
Centurion Card at Whole Foods

I've been using my Cent card at Whole Foods in Yorkville without incident since the place opened, most recently 2 days ago. Today I was told that I'm not allowed to swipe the card because "it's too thick, and damages the card reader". They offered to enter the number manually (which I declined).

This is the first time I've ever had a problem using the card anywhere in the world that takes AMEX. Has anyone else encountered this issue?
antirealist is offline  
Old Apr 29, 13, 1:39 pm
  #2  
mia
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Moderator: American Express, Citi, Diners Club, Signatures
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Miami & London
Programs: AA & Marriott Perpetual Platinum; HH Gold
Posts: 39,438
Despite the non-descriptive title, this thread is about problems caused by the thickness of the card:

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/ameri...nturion-2.html
mia is offline  
Old Apr 29, 13, 1:59 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: YYT/YYZ
Programs: AC*SE, AC*MM, SPG Gold, FPC Plat, HHonors Diamond, PC Plat Elite, R&C Club 5C, Hyatt GP
Posts: 2,201
I recall the thread, and I never use the card in a self-serve setting, ATM etc. But this is just a run of the mill POS card reader, and I've never experienced a problem with those anywhere, including Whole Foods.
antirealist is offline  
Old Apr 29, 13, 2:01 pm
  #4  
mia
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Moderator: American Express, Citi, Diners Club, Signatures
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Miami & London
Programs: AA & Marriott Perpetual Platinum; HH Gold
Posts: 39,438
Why do you care if the store manually key the numbers rather than swiping the card?
mia is offline  
Old Apr 29, 13, 2:12 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: NC
Programs: AA Lifetime Plat - 2MM miles
Posts: 8,391
Originally Posted by mia View Post
Why do you care if the store manually key the numbers rather than swiping the card?
Exactly, what's the issue?
Redhead is online now  
Old Apr 29, 13, 2:21 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: YYT/YYZ
Programs: AC*SE, AC*MM, SPG Gold, FPC Plat, HHonors Diamond, PC Plat Elite, R&C Club 5C, Hyatt GP
Posts: 2,201
It takes longer. The clerk had to find a dummy card to swipe, then key in the total, then key in my CC number. There was a line up behind me and I just wanted to pay and leave. It was quicker to pull out a Visa card and use that. I do realize that a lot of people don't care about inconveniencing others though. I see it all the time, particularly in the Yorkville Whole Foods...
antirealist is offline  
Old Apr 29, 13, 2:27 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Programs: UA 1K | MR Platinum
Posts: 492
Originally Posted by antirealist View Post
It takes longer. The clerk had to find a dummy card to swipe, then key in the total, then key in my CC number. There was a line up behind me and I just wanted to pay and leave. It was quicker to pull out a Visa card and use that. I do realize that a lot of people don't care about inconveniencing others though. I see it all the time, particularly in the Yorkville Whole Foods...
That's silly. Every POS software I've ever seen has the ability to change the entry mode, which negates the need for a dummy card.
mtftw is offline  
Old Apr 29, 13, 2:34 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NB, Canada
Programs: Fairmont, Amex MR, Marriott
Posts: 2,531
I thought this was going to be about how expensive Whole Foods is.
drwilliams is offline  
Old Apr 29, 13, 2:37 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Austin Texas
Programs: "But, I'm a GLOBALIST guest...."
Posts: 2,835
Originally Posted by antirealist View Post
It takes longer. The clerk had to find a dummy card to swipe, then key in the total, then key in my CC number. There was a line up behind me and I just wanted to pay and leave. It was quicker to pull out a Visa card and use that. I do realize that a lot of people don't care about inconveniencing others though. I see it all the time, particularly in the Yorkville Whole Foods...
probably not the desired recognition of the centurion card that some desire....
austin_modern is offline  
Old Apr 29, 13, 2:54 pm
  #10  
mia
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Moderator: American Express, Citi, Diners Club, Signatures
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Miami & London
Programs: AA & Marriott Perpetual Platinum; HH Gold
Posts: 39,438
Thank you for the explanation. Does your card have an EMV chip?
mia is offline  
Old Apr 29, 13, 3:00 pm
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: YYT/YYZ
Programs: AC*SE, AC*MM, SPG Gold, FPC Plat, HHonors Diamond, PC Plat Elite, R&C Club 5C, Hyatt GP
Posts: 2,201
No. If there are any titanium cards with a chip, I haven't seen one in Canada.
antirealist is offline  
Old Apr 29, 13, 5:02 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, UK
Programs: BAEC Gold, AA Plat, Starwood Gold, AX Plat, Hertz Gold, Avis Preferred, Star Alliance Gold
Posts: 1,326
A few years back, both Target and Walmart had devices that pulled the card into the machine to read it. It functioned sort of like an ATM. Until it read the Centurion card, which got stuck in the machine and closed the register line a week before Christmas. Not cool, but certainly a problem worth noting.
Nicksta is online now  
Old Apr 29, 13, 8:12 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,620
How old is your Centurion card? Although I have not taken a micrometer to the new Centurion cards many have said they are thinner.
Centurion is offline  
Old Apr 29, 13, 8:39 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,541
I use my Centurion card (titanium with a chip) in the Whole Foods in Scottsdale, AZ and San Francisco, CA without a problem.
climbermom is offline  
Old Apr 30, 13, 9:24 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: YYZ
Posts: 902
Originally Posted by Centurion View Post
How old is your Centurion card? Although I have not taken a micrometer to the new Centurion cards many have said they are thinner.
I am pretty certain that the new one is...no micrometer but I can guess the new card vs. the old card everytime.

TD Has some new readers at the LCBO and I it will never read the cent card when swiping from top to bottom...have to go from the bottom up....
yyz-kin is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: