Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

ARCHIVE: SWU / VIP / eVIP Systemwide Upgrade questions

Old Dec 4, 2012, 5:40 pm
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: JY1024
The current version of this thread can be found here:

FAQ: What's a Systemwide Upgrade / SWU / eVIP / VIP? (Master thread)
Print Wikipost

ARCHIVE: SWU / VIP / eVIP Systemwide Upgrade questions

Old Oct 11, 2010, 10:16 am
  #151  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: STL
Programs: AA 2MM, AS MVP Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 12,966
Originally Posted by vasantn
Congratulations! This is what FT is all about at its core, and it's so nice to see that the FT mission is alive and well. Sometimes we forget that we are about more than speculation and complaint threads.
But can't we have a thread where everyone could express their opinion about whether the current system of ranking SWU upgrade priorities is fair or not? Oh, wait, never mind. We already have more than one of those.
gemac is offline  
Old Oct 11, 2010, 10:07 pm
  #152  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Benicia, California, USA
Programs: AA PLT,AS,UA PP,J6,FB,EY,LH,SQ,HH Dmd,Hyatt Glbl,Marriott Plat,IHG Plat,Accor Gold
Posts: 10,845
Question One SWU for a domestic trip that includes an overnight?

Looked through the FAQs and did a quick search, but the thread I found refers to an international trip, so...

Next month I may be flying from the PIT to HNL (and then back to PIT). I might want to book it as a multi-leg itinerary to stop off in SFO overnight and head home (partly to change the clothes I'm packing) before continuing on to HNL the next day. If I get into SFO too late to make any connection (via SFO itself or through LAX) on to HNL that day, can I use just one SWU to upgrade all the way from PIT (assuming, of course, that the upgrades are available)? And if I can, would I have to take the first flight out the next morning (doing SFO-HNL or SFO-LAX-HNL)?

(By the way, I realize there is no non-stop from PIT to SFO, but assume the question remains the same.)

Thanks for any advice!
Thunderroad is offline  
Old Oct 11, 2010, 10:12 pm
  #153  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC
Programs: AA EXP / LT PLT / 3MM, Marriott LT Gold
Posts: 35,711
Originally Posted by Thunderroad
If I get into SFO too late to make any connection (via SFO itself or through LAX) on to HNL that day, can I use just one SWU to upgrade all the way from PIT (assuming, of course, that the upgrades are available)? And if I can, would I have to take the first flight out the next morning (doing SFO-HNL or SFO-LAX-HNL)?
Yes and No.
vasantn is online now  
Old Oct 11, 2010, 11:49 pm
  #154  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Benicia, California, USA
Programs: AA PLT,AS,UA PP,J6,FB,EY,LH,SQ,HH Dmd,Hyatt Glbl,Marriott Plat,IHG Plat,Accor Gold
Posts: 10,845
Thanks! Good to know.
Thunderroad is offline  
Old Oct 11, 2010, 11:55 pm
  #155  
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nomad
Programs: AA MM EP, QF Gold, UA Silver, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott LTT, HH Gold, National Exec, Hertz PC
Posts: 1,107
To add to that, I flew DEL-ORD-BOS-MIA-GIG with a stop in Boston for two months and it was just one SWU (with ORD-BOS using 500-milers to stay under the three sector maximum). So, you could theoretically add a flight to Europe or South America after a stop in PIT for a while and it would still be one SWU.
merrickdb is offline  
Old Oct 12, 2010, 12:03 am
  #156  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Benicia, California, USA
Programs: AA PLT,AS,UA PP,J6,FB,EY,LH,SQ,HH Dmd,Hyatt Glbl,Marriott Plat,IHG Plat,Accor Gold
Posts: 10,845
Thanks for that, too. Also, I didn't know about the 3-sector max for SWU's so I appreciate your mentioning that.
Thunderroad is offline  
Old Oct 12, 2010, 5:54 am
  #157  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,724
The fare rules come into play.

If a fare allows a stopover, ie at international gateway, I have been able to use 1 SWU for the one way. Say, DFW (o) NYC -xNRT BKK was. SWU as the fare rule allowed for a free stop in NYC

I have also been able to use 1 SWU with a forced overnight, which in think is what the OP is asking for. My fare rules said I had to take the first flight out in the morning. So, LHR -xORD -xDFW (overnight) SAN was 1 SWU
777lover is online now  
Old Oct 12, 2010, 9:49 am
  #158  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 1,204
Anyone has any experience of waitlist being closed for eVIP upgrade? I ran into such situation yesterday when trying to apply the eVIP.

The agent explained that it may be due to coach being oversold and many on the waitlist.
ilovetofly is offline  
Old Oct 12, 2010, 10:00 am
  #159  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Benicia, California, USA
Programs: AA PLT,AS,UA PP,J6,FB,EY,LH,SQ,HH Dmd,Hyatt Glbl,Marriott Plat,IHG Plat,Accor Gold
Posts: 10,845
Yep, I'm asking about a forced overnight, though in the context of a domestic itinerary. Thanks.
Thunderroad is offline  
Old Oct 12, 2010, 10:06 am
  #160  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London
Programs: BA GGL, AA 1MM LT GLD, SPG PLAT, National Exec Selc, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Plat, Marriott Silver
Posts: 8,278
I have a RDU-JFK-SFO-MIA-ORD-IAH-DFW-LHR-AMS flight as part of a MR/trip to AMS. EXP desk agent said they are directional so I couldn't use the same one for SFO-MIA and JFK-SFO or MIA-ORD. This makes sense. Just want to make sure she was right???

I used one SFO-MIA (red-eye, was down to F5 over a month out) and one DFW-LHR.
sts603 is offline  
Old Oct 12, 2010, 12:02 pm
  #161  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: RDU <|> MMX
Programs: AA EXP 2MM, SK EBS
Posts: 12,827
Originally Posted by sts603
I have a RDU-JFK-SFO-MIA-ORD-IAH-DFW-LHR-AMS flight as part of a MR/trip to AMS. EXP desk agent said they are directional so I couldn't use the same one for SFO-MIA and JFK-SFO or MIA-ORD. This makes sense. Just want to make sure she was right???

I used one SFO-MIA (red-eye, was down to F5 over a month out) and one DFW-LHR.
She was correct, JFK-SFO-MIA would definitely be 2.

SFO-MIA, nasty use of an eVIP on a 757 redeye!! I'd rather save it and take my chances with stickers or just have a few beers and pass out in 10 A or F. I swear I can sleep better in 10 A/F than in F on the 757.

You should also be able to apply the eVIP used for DFW-LHR to 2 more segments, i.e. MIA-ORD-IAH.

Last edited by JJeffrey; Oct 12, 2010 at 12:08 pm
JJeffrey is offline  
Old Oct 12, 2010, 12:08 pm
  #162  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London
Programs: BA GGL, AA 1MM LT GLD, SPG PLAT, National Exec Selc, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Plat, Marriott Silver
Posts: 8,278
Originally Posted by JJeffrey

SFO-MIA, nasty use of an eVIP on a 757 redeye!! I'd rather save it and take my chances with stickers or just have a few beers and pass out in 10 A or F.
I have nine - seven after the transoceanic segments on this trip with no additional foreseeable usage. F5 is bad a month out for such a flight. Whether another revenue booking or two, potentially a mileage upgrade or two ahead of me, and any EXP who booked before, I saw this as a serious contender for the first EXP upgrade that wouldn't clear.

Plus, while the 757 may be slightly inferior to other narrow bodies in F, its also inferior in Y (especially when you get the old non-wingtipped headrests). It may not be the best upgrade experience but with two red-eyes back to back (followed by a late night of election night boozing), clearing that one seemed essential to my sanity.

While I'm 5'9" and 170 lbs. and thus am not in desperate need of width or legroom - if there is someone in 10B/10E, I can't possibly see how 10A/F would be more comfortable than F. If there wasn't, then I'd say ok for someone who was really tall. But otherwise, I just don't get it. What am I missing?

Last edited by sts603; Oct 12, 2010 at 12:16 pm
sts603 is offline  
Old Oct 12, 2010, 12:22 pm
  #163  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brooklyn
Programs: AAdvantage Executive Platinum
Posts: 1
AA Executive Platinum Help on Qantas-NEED HELP

So, for the first time since I flew my last flight on Mexicana, I will be flying to Syndey on Qantas. Not too happy about this. None the less, I received the worst seats possible, and to change them is a nightmare. I have inquired 4 times about an upgrade w/ Qantas only to be ignored...serious..no response. I have asked for Premium economy (I would pay out of pocket)...no response. Anyone have any advice for me? I leave this friday on Qantas 108 JFK-LAX, LAX-SYD, SYD-Cairns. I am dreading this trip like you wouldn't beleive, and in coach for that matter! Help!
aajfksjubklyn is offline  
Old Oct 12, 2010, 12:26 pm
  #164  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London
Programs: BA GGL, AA 1MM LT GLD, SPG PLAT, National Exec Selc, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Plat, Marriott Silver
Posts: 8,278
Originally Posted by aajfksjubklyn
So, for the first time since I flew my last flight on Mexicana, I will be flying to Syndey on Qantas. Not too happy about this. None the less, I received the worst seats possible, and to change them is a nightmare. I have inquired 4 times about an upgrade w/ Qantas only to be ignored...serious..no response. I have asked for Premium economy (I would pay out of pocket)...no response. Anyone have any advice for me? I leave this friday on Qantas 108 JFK-LAX, LAX-SYD, SYD-Cairns. I am dreading this trip like you wouldn't beleive, and in coach for that matter! Help!
You can't upgrade on QF as an AA frequent flier using AA miles or VIP upgrade certificiates. Period. I'm not quite sure how and who you are asking that you feel ignored. But if ignored simply equals being told no, then that's the answer.

There is no more Premium Economy on JFK-LAX. There is one Premium Economy seat left on LAX-SYD. Call QF and have them change your ticket. Be prepared for a SUBSTANTIAL upcharge as it will be a full-fare Premium Economy seat. Right now, that's your only option.

QF, like most foreign airlines, is a get-what-you-pay for model. If you want PE, pay for it. If you want J, pay for it. If not, expect great lounges as an EXP and access to F ticket counters, etc. but that's it.

Changing seats on QF is admittedly a nightmare.

Last edited by sts603; Oct 12, 2010 at 12:46 pm
sts603 is offline  
Old Oct 12, 2010, 12:27 pm
  #165  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
calling AA is the best and fastest way



Originally Posted by seeyoo
Hi folks,
I accidentally did Systemwide upgrade and like to downgrade again as I want to use these Upgrades for my other vacation. Shall I be able to do that?. I want to clarify before I talk to AA about this Downgrade. Will they credit me back I accidentally upgraded to my Bank?.
Thanks a lot in advance.
doladd is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.