Random AA, Aer Lingus upgrade question

Old Jul 9, 2024, 6:16 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AAdvantage
Random AA, Aer Lingus upgrade question

Im a newbie, but this seemed really specific for the newbie thread.

Okso if my mileage upgrade clears from economy to business on my current route, which was booked on AA and is AA metal, and then I change my flight can I keep my cleared upgrade in business?

Currently booked from MSP-DFW-DUB. Mileage upgrade has not cleared yet, but tons of empty business seats, both on seat map and when I called in. No C seats released at the moment on expert flyer. But IF the upgrade were to clear a week ahead of time, could I call in and change my flight to an MSP-DUB flight codeshare on AA but on EI metal and keep the business class ticket? Or do I get bumped back to coach and miles/points refunded?

fyi: the EI MSP-DUB flight currently shows 7 C seats on expert flyer.
Old Jul 9, 2024, 6:22 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA EXP 2MM, SK EBS
Originally Posted by Natsue21
Im a newbie, but this seemed really specific for the newbie thread.

Okso if my mileage upgrade clears from economy to business on my current route, which was booked on AA and is AA metal, and then I change my flight can I keep my cleared upgrade in business?

Currently booked from MSP-DFW-DUB. Mileage upgrade has not cleared yet, but tons of empty business seats, both on seat map and when I called in. No C seats released at the moment on expert flyer. But IF the upgrade were to clear a week ahead of time, could I call in and change my flight to an MSP-DUB flight codeshare on AA but on EI metal and keep the business class ticket? Or do I get bumped back to coach and miles/points refunded?

fyi: the EI MSP-DUB flight currently shows 7 C seats on expert flyer.