Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

Status Changed Overnight - Tickets at Airport donít Reflect

Status Changed Overnight - Tickets at Airport donít Reflect

Old Jan 21, 23, 8:23 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: AUS
Programs: AA EXP - 2.2 MM, Admirals Club, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Titanium, National Executive
Posts: 1,418
Status Changed Overnight - Tickets at Airport donít Reflect

I searched here and Google and couldnít find an answer. After a 5 year hiatus, I requalified for EXP. Around midnight I got the email for the Loyalty Selections, and my app shows EXP. However, when I checked in to a flight this morning in AUS, boarding passes came out Group 2. Subsequently, getting boarding passes online showed the same. Admirals Club staff said it shows as Pro in the system.

Question is as todayís travel is non-consequential as Iím traveling with a party of 3, so weíre hunkered up in MCE, but I have 6 forthcoming trips solo, and the Admirals Club staff said Iíll probably need to wait another day and then have staff go in an manually detach and reattach my AA number. Itís been forever since Iíve had a status change, and I have to imagine AA systems will catch-up and the manual efforts arenít required. We fly back next weekend, again non-consequential due to traveling with a party of 3, so I guess Iíll find out then.
BrianV is offline  
Old Jan 21, 23, 8:25 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: KHOU/KIAH
Programs: AA "mid tier" elite | Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador | Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 9,164
You are correct that you need to remove and readd the number or have your record modified by an agent to refresh the latest status. By default and with no changes, it will reflect status at booking.

Ask the agent at the check in desk or AC to remove your AA FFN and re add it on your next flight. Should show as EXP then.

The sooner you sort it, the better as benefits aside, EXP also gets a better LP multiplier.
Antarius is online now  
Old Jan 21, 23, 8:26 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Live: PWM/KBXM/BGR; Work: DCA/DFW/Everywhere; Play: LAS/AUA/MIA/MLE
Programs: AA EXP, DL PM, Hyatt Glob, Marriott Ambassador/LTP, Nat'l Exec Elite, mlife Noir, LEYE Gold
Posts: 6,036
Or just send a DM to AA on Twitter with your record locators and ask them to take out and reattach your AA number because of the status update. It is reasonably likely that if you don't take out and reattach, it'll still be Pro when you travel even well in the future.
wrp96 and Antarius like this.
platbrownguy is online now  
Old Jan 21, 23, 8:31 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: AUS
Programs: AA EXP - 2.2 MM, Admirals Club, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Titanium, National Executive
Posts: 1,418
Thanks to both of you. The comment on LP multiplier is something I haven’t thought about. These tickets were dirt cheap though so not a huge deal. It’s amazing they haven’t automated this.

As stated though, I did have the Admirals Club agent re-attach my FF and she said it still comes in as Pro. As stated, the app reflects the right status. Might need a day to sort itself out. I’ll DM AA on Twitter and give them all my Itins.
BrianV is offline  
Old Jan 21, 23, 8:39 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: AUS
Programs: AA EXP - 2.2 MM, Admirals Club, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Titanium, National Executive
Posts: 1,418
Bizarre,
I just fetched a new boarding pass from the AA iOS app and it now shows Group 1, so it’s updated. I’ll see if the club staff can fix my other tickets.
wrp96, Antarius and HaleiwaFlyer like this.
BrianV is offline  
Old Jan 21, 23, 8:54 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: AUS
Programs: AA EXP - 2.2 MM, Admirals Club, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Titanium, National Executive
Posts: 1,418
Went to the Admirals desk and they helped. They confirmed that ALL four of my future tickets showed me as EXP, but they did say the upgrade requests that were put in were still as PPro. They called it the “AU” list. I assume that means Auto Upgrade, but that’s my assumption. They were able to resubmit the requests and on the AU list it shows as EXP now.
BrianV is offline  
Old Jan 21, 23, 9:02 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: KHOU/KIAH
Programs: AA "mid tier" elite | Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador | Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 9,164
Originally Posted by BrianV View Post
Went to the Admirals desk and they helped. They confirmed that ALL four of my future tickets showed me as EXP, but they did say the upgrade requests that were put in were still as PPro. They called it the ďAUĒ list. I assume that means Auto Upgrade, but thatís my assumption. They were able to resubmit the requests and on the AU list it shows as EXP now.
Sweet. Glad you got it sorted.

Unfortunately, it is a manual process. AA's IT system is from the 1960s and held together by chewing gum, prayers and carrier pigeons (if you're lucky you may get a punch card ). The upside to this is if you lose status, any tickets booked before will retain your status unless changed or touched.
wrp96 likes this.
Antarius is online now  
Old Jan 21, 23, 9:28 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC
Programs: AA EXP / LT PLT / 3MM, Marriott LT Gold
Posts: 33,992
Originally Posted by Antarius View Post
AA's IT system is from the 1960s and held together by chewing gum, prayers and carrier pigeons (if you're lucky you may get a punch card ).
I may have posted this before, but about 15 years ago there was a problem with my upgrade and the check-in agent had to print actual physical stickers for me and staple them to my BP. Until that point I had always considered "stickers" to be a legacy term.

Every once in a while I miss the good old days, when the airport agents neglected to collect the paper SWUs (then called VIPs) and you could then re-use them.
vasantn is offline  
Old Jan 21, 23, 9:58 am
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: AUS
Programs: AA EXP - 2.2 MM, Admirals Club, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Titanium, National Executive
Posts: 1,418
I remember the stickers!

I opted to upgrade 2 of the 3 seats, so my son and wife are enjoying the good life. At least I have the entire first row of MCE to myself.

Ironically, this is the first Basic Economy ticket Iíve ever bought. I used to avoid them back when you got no bags, no status, no upgrades, etc. Since they made BE more attractive for elites, I havenít had the opportunity to fly one. I was surprised to see that despite my wife getting an upgrade, her Boarding Pass still said Group 9. The gate agent did say ďGroup 1 and those boarded in Forst ClassĒ during the PA. Anyways, not relevant to the thread but weird nonetheless.
BrianV is offline  
Old Jan 21, 23, 10:14 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: DCA
Programs: AA EXP 1MM, WOH Globalist
Posts: 949
Originally Posted by BrianV View Post
I remember the stickers!

I opted to upgrade 2 of the 3 seats, so my son and wife are enjoying the good life. At least I have the entire first row of MCE to myself.

Ironically, this is the first Basic Economy ticket Iíve ever bought. I used to avoid them back when you got no bags, no status, no upgrades, etc. Since they made BE more attractive for elites, I havenít had the opportunity to fly one. I was surprised to see that despite my wife getting an upgrade, her Boarding Pass still said Group 9. The gate agent did say ďGroup 1 and those boarded in Forst ClassĒ during the PA. Anyways, not relevant to the thread but weird nonetheless.
Your wife had a BP issued with a F seat assignment and Group 9 boarding?! I'd love to see what that looks like. Definitely a glitch of some kind.
njvandy is online now  
Old Jan 21, 23, 10:29 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: KHOU/KIAH
Programs: AA "mid tier" elite | Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador | Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 9,164
Originally Posted by njvandy View Post
Your wife had a BP issued with a F seat assignment and Group 9 boarding?! I'd love to see what that looks like. Definitely a glitch of some kind.
it's definitely a glitch and one that's been out there for a while. My gf got the same thing. See this thread and screenshot from my experience

Group 9 and Business Class
njvandy likes this.
Antarius is online now  
Old Jan 21, 23, 12:07 pm
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: AUS
Programs: AA EXP - 2.2 MM, Admirals Club, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Titanium, National Executive
Posts: 1,418
Originally Posted by njvandy View Post
Your wife had a BP issued with a F seat assignment and Group 9 boarding?! I'd love to see what that looks like. Definitely a glitch of some kind.



See attached. 737-8.
BrianV is offline  
Old Jan 21, 23, 12:13 pm
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: AUS
Programs: AA EXP - 2.2 MM, Admirals Club, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Titanium, National Executive
Posts: 1,418
Also worth noting, I buy a lot of trips for all three of us. When Main Cabin, wife and son always get my boarding group (e.g. Group 2 when PPro), prior to the upgrade shenanigans, I was Group 1 in economy and they were both Group 9. Itís as if Basic Economy hard codes G9 if the individual doesnít have status.
BrianV is offline  
Old Jan 22, 23, 9:43 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: KHOU/KIAH
Programs: AA "mid tier" elite | Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador | Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 9,164
Originally Posted by vasantn View Post
I may have posted this before, but about 15 years ago there was a problem with my upgrade and the check-in agent had to print actual physical stickers for me and staple them to my BP. Until that point I had always considered "stickers" to be a legacy term.

Every once in a while I miss the good old days, when the airport agents neglected to collect the paper SWUs (then called VIPs) and you could then re-use them.
This was before my time.

AA mailed you actual stickers and then you attach them to the BP? Was there a way to request them ahead of time or did you have to produce the sticker at the check in desk?
Antarius is online now  
Old Jan 22, 23, 9:46 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: KHOU/KIAH
Programs: AA "mid tier" elite | Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador | Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 9,164
Originally Posted by BrianV View Post
Also worth noting, I buy a lot of trips for all three of us. When Main Cabin, wife and son always get my boarding group (e.g. Group 2 when PPro), prior to the upgrade shenanigans, I was Group 1 in economy and they were both Group 9. Itís as if Basic Economy hard codes G9 if the individual doesnít have status.
Yup. That's exactly what happens.
Antarius is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread