Should I hang up?

Old Dec 27, 22, 6:48 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Isle of Man/East Palo Alto
Programs: AA - CK/Airpass
Posts: 688
Should I hang up?

Called AA to check that I could apply a SWU to a BA flight. Confirmed that, gave credit card to book the flight, now have been on hold for just over two hours (which Iím surprised I didnít get an automatic hangup).

SoÖ hold on hoping my agent returns? Or hang up and hope I didnít lose my upgrade?
rt23456p likes this.
wutlol is offline  
Old Dec 27, 22, 7:37 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Programs: AA EXP; SQ Gold
Posts: 32
Yes

You should hang up because you have nothing to lose. The agent had no idea what they are doing. You cannot use an SWU upgrade on BA metal. However, you can upgrade with miles if you booked in either Y or W.
npretnar is offline  
Old Dec 27, 22, 7:37 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Thousand Oaks, Ca., USA
Programs: AA Plat Pro; Bonvoy Titanium Lifetime Elite;Hyatt Globalist; HHonors Diamond; United Silver
Posts: 7,625
Can you check online to see if itís been reticketed? Or that the charge went through?
beachfan is offline  
Old Dec 27, 22, 7:41 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PHL
Programs: AA Executive Platinum; Hilton Diamond
Posts: 2,588
Originally Posted by npretnar
...You cannot use an SWU upgrade on BA metal...
I thought this was now possible.
apeortdz is offline  
Old Dec 27, 22, 8:06 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Programs: AAdvantage Exec Platinum, Hertz #1 Club Gold Five Star, IHG Platinum, Marriott Gold, HHonors Silver
Posts: 1,838
Originally Posted by npretnar
You should hang up because you have nothing to lose. The agent had no idea what they are doing. You cannot use an SWU upgrade on BA metal. However, you can upgrade with miles if you booked in either Y or W.
Yes, you can use a SWU on BA. It was a change to the program earlier this year.
wrp96, FAA1996, LovePrunes and 3 others like this.
GNRMatt is offline  
Old Dec 27, 22, 8:09 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Thousand Oaks, Ca., USA
Programs: AA Plat Pro; Bonvoy Titanium Lifetime Elite;Hyatt Globalist; HHonors Diamond; United Silver
Posts: 7,625
https://frequentmiler.com/american-a...nd-vice-versa/
beachfan is offline  
Old Dec 27, 22, 8:10 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: RDU
Programs: AA EXP / 1MM, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum, IHG Gold
Posts: 187
Originally Posted by npretnar
You should hang up because you have nothing to lose. The agent had no idea what they are doing. You cannot use an SWU upgrade on BA metal. However, you can upgrade with miles if you booked in either Y or W.
this is false.
razzaba is offline  
Old Dec 27, 22, 8:20 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Programs: AA EXP; SQ Gold
Posts: 32
I stand corrected, even though the SWU redemption value doesn't actually square across the two airlines ... on BA you can only upgrade from Y to Y+ (i.e. AA W), but on AA you can still upgrade from Y to J. Does anybody know how one sees if such an upgrade is available on BA metal, either from Y to W or W to J?
npretnar is offline  
Old Dec 27, 22, 8:25 pm
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Isle of Man/East Palo Alto
Programs: AA - CK/Airpass
Posts: 688
Originally Posted by npretnar
I stand corrected, even though the SWU redemption value doesn't actually square across the two airlines ... on BA you can only upgrade from Y to Y+ (i.e. AA W), but on AA you can still upgrade from Y to J. Does anybody know how one sees if such an upgrade is available on BA metal, either from Y to W or W to J?
If you can book a BA flight in J with AA miles, that flight can be upgraded with an AA SWU. You just need to be in Y, not W.

For what itís worth, he finally picked back up 15 minutes shy of 3 hours and apologized profusely; his computer system had locked up.
wutlol is offline  
Old Dec 27, 22, 8:54 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Programs: AA EXP; SQ Gold
Posts: 32
So just to confirm ... you were able to upgrade from Y to J using an SWU on BA metal? Also, just to further confirm ... an AA phone agent was able to do this for you? Did you happen to call a special elite line (EXP or PLT, etc.)?
npretnar is offline  
Old Dec 27, 22, 9:23 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Programs: Alaska Gold 75K, AA EXP, United 1K
Posts: 434
I think they mean you need to be W not Y to upgrade to J on BA
lightbulbs is offline  
Old Dec 27, 22, 9:50 pm
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Isle of Man/East Palo Alto
Programs: AA - CK/Airpass
Posts: 688
Originally Posted by npretnar
So just to confirm ... you were able to upgrade from Y to J using an SWU on BA metal? Also, just to further confirm ... an AA phone agent was able to do this for you? Did you happen to call a special elite line (EXP or PLT, etc.)?
Yes. For both legs of my SFO-LHR-AMS flight.

I just called the normal line number. Iím EXP but my understanding is one gets automatically redirected regardless.

Originally Posted by lightbulbs
I think they mean you need to be W not Y to upgrade to J on BA
If using avios, yes. With a SWU, one jumps from Y to J.
LowValueCustomer likes this.
wutlol is offline  
Old Dec 27, 22, 9:51 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Programs: AA EXP; SQ Gold
Posts: 32
Very interesting. Useful information! Thanks for sharing
npretnar is offline  
Old Dec 27, 22, 10:37 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Programs: Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Ambassador, AA EXP, DL PM
Posts: 447
Originally Posted by wutlol
If using avios, yes. With a SWU, one jumps from Y to J.
Wow, this is new information for me. Do you happen to know if this policy is documented anywhere, or is this simply a matter of having data points indicating that it's possible to upgrade to J from economy (rather than premium economy)?
rucksack likes this.
LowValueCustomer is offline  
Old Dec 27, 22, 10:39 pm
  #15  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Isle of Man/East Palo Alto
Programs: AA - CK/Airpass
Posts: 688
Originally Posted by LowValueCustomer
Wow, this is new information for me. Do you happen to know if this policy is documented anywhere, or is this simply a matter of having data points indicating that it's possible to upgrade to J from economy (rather than premium economy)?
It is simply that they are different upgrade instruments. If you check the thread posted earlier about SWUs on BA going live, youíll this procedure is well documented.

Further, all in-app and website language for AA now mentions SWU can be used on both AA and BA flights.

I canít find a canonical news release but the information is there when you acquire/use SWUs.
wutlol is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread