Is EP worth a $200 bank fee over PP?

Old Dec 7, 22, 12:36 pm
Original Poster

Is EP worth a $200 bank fee over PP?

I am a Platinum Pro member and I have the regular ($99/year) CitiBank AAdvantage card. I have a couple of large payments (~$10k combined) coming up that I can run through the card and the loyalty points from that will push me into Executive Platinum. The problem is that the charge is subject to a fee of about $200 if I pay it by credit card. Is EP worth the $200 over what I get from PP?
Old Dec 7, 22, 12:40 pm

Programs: AA Plat Pto, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Hyatt Globalist
I would say yes, that $200 gets redeemable miles as well and EXP gets upgrade eligibility on award tickets. I am debating the Plat versus Plat Pro stretch myself, that one seems less clear cut.
Old Dec 7, 22, 12:53 pm

Programs: Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Ambassador, AA EXP, DL PM
Yes, assuming you fly AA with any regularity. Shorter call times, better IRROPS support, and, if you hit 30 segments this year, loyalty choice awards which would easily offset the $200 fee (arguably several times over).

If you only fly non-AA oneworld airlines, it's a closer call since you're already OW emerald, but I'd probably still go for it - if nothing else, for the elite status bonus earnings.
LovePrunes likes this.
Old Dec 7, 22, 1:23 pm
Original Member and FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: DL PM/MM, AA ExPlat, Hyatt Glob, HH Dia, National ECE, Hertz PC
For $200 you'll get:
  • 10,000 redeemable AAdvantage miles
  • 22% more LP for flying
  • 2 additional choice benefits if you have 30 segments
  • Higher priority for domestic upgrades
Those are the easy ones, depending how much you use each benefit is how valuable it is to you, but hard to imagine those four things alone would not easily add up to $200 unless you don't plan on flying AA and won't get benefit from anything beyond the 10,000 redeemable miles.
Old Dec 7, 22, 1:32 pm

I would do it for $200
LovePrunes likes this.
Old Dec 7, 22, 1:33 pm