SWUs on BA are live

Old Sep 12, 22, 10:19 pm
  #31  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Usually in SAN or Central Europe.
Programs: AA:EXP/1MM. Accor/Radisson:Silver; HH:Gold; ICH:Plt Amb.
Posts: 22,191
So, using these does not require a fuel surcharge differential? IIRC, BAEC members who use miles or certificates to upgrade into a higher cabin have to pay the difference in the fuel surcharge between those corresponding cabins.(I.e. If someone upgrades from W to J, there is a charge for the difference between the fuel surcharge in J versus the fuel surcharge in W, which was originally paid for at ticket purchase).
Fanjet is offline  
Old Sep 12, 22, 11:15 pm
  #32  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Programs: BA Gold, AA EXP, A3 Gold, Honors Diamond, Bonvoy Gold
Posts: 1,226
Originally Posted by stevendorechester View Post
My AMEX card does not have the opportunity to transfer to AA. I got BA status last winter with one round-trip YUL-LHR-DXB on an I class ticket. You won't get that on AA. I just wished that AA offers all their award seats to other partner airlines that do the same.
AA do offer all the saver award level to partners. But additionally they also have other awards that are often more expensive (in mileage terms) that you can buy with AA miles but not partner miles.
mrow is offline  
Old Sep 12, 22, 11:15 pm
  #33  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 42,457
Originally Posted by golfer20 View Post
EXP AAgent told me that the "transatlantic" phrasing was for Y -> PE on BA vs. Y -> J on AA or Y -> J on BA Europe. I do find the wording confusing in the T&Cs, though.

Also possible the person I spoke to had it wrong and the policy will be clarified later. Either way, Club Europe is hardly better and often worse than AA MCE.
Given that the T&Cs is very clear that the BA upgrades are on transatlantic flights only, I would take it as almost certain that the agent was wrong

The description on the page refers to transatlantic and the T&Cs state it too - plus there is nothing to indicate an economy to business upgrade option
Dave Noble is offline  
Old Sep 12, 22, 11:53 pm
  #34  
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Programs: UA 1k, AA EXPLT, NZ GE, VA PLT Hyatt Diam, Marr Plat, HH Diam
Posts: 3,307
Originally Posted by Fanjet View Post
So, using these does not require a fuel surcharge differential? IIRC, BAEC members who use miles or certificates to upgrade into a higher cabin have to pay the difference in the fuel surcharge between those corresponding cabins.(I.e. If someone upgrades from W to J, there is a charge for the difference between the fuel surcharge in J versus the fuel surcharge in W, which was originally paid for at ticket purchase).
Agree. Would be nice to know. I bet that BA will charge the additional amounts.
SFO_FT is offline  
Old Sep 13, 22, 12:43 am
  #35  
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Tokyo
Programs: Bonvoy LT Titanium ANA Plat
Posts: 476
Originally Posted by cova View Post
I much prefer the exit row (over the upgrade). Only problem is BA won't let you put anything under the seat in front of you when in an Exit row.

I don't think that's a BA thing, I think is a safety based mandate pretty much globally.
BRITINJAPAN4 is offline  
Old Sep 13, 22, 2:11 am
  #36  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: APAC
Programs: AA EXP, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 110
Originally Posted by BRITINJAPAN4 View Post
I don't think that's a BA thing, I think is a safety based mandate pretty much globally.
This is not true and has apparently been discussed previously in this forum. There are a number of carriers that require that, but afaik none of the US carriers do as policy. Outside of the US, it seems to depend entirely on the airline?
rill2503456 is offline  
Old Sep 13, 22, 2:28 am
  #37  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 42,457
Originally Posted by rill2503456 View Post
This is not true and has apparently been discussed previously in this forum. There are a number of carriers that require that, but afaik none of the US carriers do as policy. Outside of the US, it seems to depend entirely on the airline?
I beleiev that the CAA mandates it for UK carriers

ime it is common outside of the US
Dave Noble is offline  
Old Sep 13, 22, 4:14 am
  #38  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Western PA
Programs: AA EXP/2MM
Posts: 433
Just to be clear in response to several posts above-
(1) I upgraded both TATL and intra-Europe segments with one SWU. Agent did ask if I was upgrading the entire trip, so I assume it would have been possible to only upgrade one segment.
(2) No additional tax or fees were collected

Personally, I would not spend a SWU just to upgrade a 2-3 hour European flight.

Bill
ryanbriar likes this.
sombrachinesca is offline  
Old Sep 13, 22, 4:53 am
  #39  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: UK - South Coast & London
Programs: Mucci de Guardian des Celliers des Grands Crus 1e Class, plus BAEC.
Posts: 2,186
I think the big selling point is being able to upgrade the following:

US domestic in Y, connecting onto TATL in W, then onto BA intra-Europe in Y

to all 3 segments in J.
krispy84 is online now  
Old Sep 13, 22, 9:51 am
  #40  
IHG Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: PHX
Programs: AA EXP, IHG Diamond, IC Amb
Posts: 4,887
Originally Posted by BRITINJAPAN4 View Post
I don't think that's a BA thing, I think is a safety based mandate pretty much globally.
I have always been able to have bags under front seat in exit row on AA/DL/CX domestic and international flights.
355F1 is offline  
Old Sep 13, 22, 9:53 am
  #41  
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 43
The SWU can only be applied to BA TATL and intra-Europe routes? a TATL + something LHR-ACC would not be possible, right?
Amon_Ra_ is offline  
Old Sep 13, 22, 10:17 am
  #42  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Programs: American Airlines
Posts: 26,508
The benefit for me would be booking AA metal to LHR then BA CE to wherever in the EU I'm flying to. Those cabins are pretty much empty so I would think the SWU would clear. I'll take row 1 in BA CE any day.
enviroian is offline  
Old Sep 13, 22, 3:03 pm
  #43  
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Santa Barbara, CA, Park City, UT
Programs: AA EXP, Delta Plat, Marriott Plat,Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Globalist, IHG Plat
Posts: 681
I just called American to see about doing this with and the agent had no idea what I was talking about....hang up and call again.
boerne and LowValueCustomer like this.
Jonesdds is offline  
Old Sep 13, 22, 3:12 pm
  #44  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: KHOU/KIAH
Programs: AA "mid tier" elite | Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador | Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 8,649
Originally Posted by krispy84 View Post
I think the big selling point is being able to upgrade the following:

US domestic in Y, connecting onto TATL in W, then onto BA intra-Europe in Y

to all 3 segments in J.
or theoretically US Domestic in Y connecting to TATL in Y on AA and then BA-intra-Europe in Y to all 3 in J. But this remains to be seen as the written rules do not really cover the intra-europe piece if read literally.

I did call the EXP line and inquired about this reservation at the end and asked about whether I can move my LHR-AMS to CE with the already cleared SWU on that set of flights. They said that it is possible if it is available and that they cannot waitlist.
Antarius is online now  
Old Sep 13, 22, 3:50 pm
  #45  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Programs: American Airlines
Posts: 26,508
Originally Posted by Antarius View Post
They said that it is possible if it is available and that they cannot waitlist.
Did they check and see if it's available? EF is useless with this info and not obtainable.
enviroian is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread