Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

AA Flight Loyalty Points based on distance?

AA Flight Loyalty Points based on distance?

Old Jun 23, 22, 8:11 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Programs: American Exec Plat, United 1k
Posts: 39
AA Flight Loyalty Points based on distance?

I had a last-minute hop from IND-ORD. Booked at aa.com, 001 ticket, M class. After the flight, the loyalty points posted a mere 320 “based on distance.” I called the service desk to see why the fare wasn’t used (the fare basis would have netted 3,500 loyalty points). The first reply was, “Your trip was too short,” to which I caught myself laughing out loud. Probing further led to more bizarre answers before a long period on hold. I finally was able to get a request to reprocess, and the correction posted today.

Anyone else having AA flights on AA tickets posting based on distance? Any guess to what is causing the fluke (so others can watch out)?
jacket1 is offline  
Old Jun 24, 22, 7:48 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: PHL (kinda, no airport is really close)
Programs: AA Exp, but not sure for how long. Enterprise Platinum woo-hoo!
Posts: 4,229
I had a trip in March for a $300 fare which posted "based on distance" that got me about 14,000 points. (That included a cabin bonus, because on the return I was upgraded, but they needed volunteers, and I could see there were F seats available the next day so I made my exchange contingent on being upgraded the next day on the same flight I was already upgraded on that day, but to upgrade me the GA booked me into J class, so it was like a paid J fare.) I have no idea why that happened, but of course I was quite happy as it would have been more like 3K LPs and RDM's otherwise.
AAway and dvs7310 like this.
redtop43 is offline  
Old Jun 24, 22, 9:59 am
  #3  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: CT/NY
Programs: UA Platinum/1MM, AA PPro, Marriott LT Titanium, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 5,278
Is this an one-way or round-trip? If it's round-trip, you may need to wait until the trip is completed to verify whether all miles/points were awarded correctly.
PTahCha is offline  
Old Jun 24, 22, 6:32 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Programs: American Exec Plat, United 1k
Posts: 39
Originally Posted by PTahCha View Post
Is this an one-way or round-trip? If it's round-trip, you may need to wait until the trip is completed to verify whether all miles/points were awarded correctly.
It was a one way. It was eventually credited correctly after a phone call and a reprocess, but it could have snuck by if I didn’t pay attention.
jacket1 is offline  
Old Jun 24, 22, 8:24 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Everywhere
Programs: AA EXP - 3.5MM, Bonv LIFETIME Titan, HH Dmd, Hyatt Glob., Priority Clb PLT, Ntnl Exec El., Sixt PLT
Posts: 1,503
Originally Posted by jacket1 View Post
I had a last-minute hop from IND-ORD. Booked at aa.com, 001 ticket, M class. After the flight, the loyalty points posted a mere 320 “based on distance.” I called the service desk to see why the fare wasn’t used (the fare basis would have netted 3,500 loyalty points). The first reply was, “Your trip was too short,” to which I caught myself laughing out loud. Probing further led to more bizarre answers before a long period on hold. I finally was able to get a request to reprocess, and the correction posted today.

Anyone else having AA flights on AA tickets posting based on distance? Any guess to what is causing the fluke (so others can watch out)?
- My wife flew RDU-CMI roundrrip booked by a travel agent for ca. $1,100 in coach. Her incoming aircraft was delayed and she was eventually rebooked through DFW instead of ORD. Her flights were posted as distance based. She asked AA customer service to review and the miles/LPs were reposted as fare based.
Alex_I is offline  
Old Jun 25, 22, 10:04 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Programs: AA EXP, DL Diamond, Hilton Diamond, Bonvoy Ambassador (RIP SPG), Aeroplan 75K
Posts: 301
I had a semi-complex booking about a month ago with several modifications due to schedule changes on BAs end, and there was a SWU applied. It was originally booked through Amex as well.

The flights began to post as distance and the return was “pending review” for about a week per the Executive Liaison desk. Email support originally said because it was a bulk fare (not true) so I pushed back with an attached receipt / note that the PNR was heavily modified so the details probably got dropped. The agent agreed that it should have been based on fare and updated all segments If it hadn’t gone through, I would have been short 15k LPs.
ryanbriar is offline  
Old Jun 25, 22, 12:11 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7,954
Originally Posted by ryanbriar View Post
I had a semi-complex booking about a month ago with several modifications due to schedule changes on BAs end, and there was a SWU applied. It was originally booked through Amex as well.

The flights began to post as distance and the return was “pending review” for about a week per the Executive Liaison desk. Email support originally said because it was a bulk fare (not true) so I pushed back with an attached receipt / note that the PNR was heavily modified so the details probably got dropped. The agent agreed that it should have been based on fare and updated all segments If it hadn’t gone through, I would have been short 15k LPs.
When your segments started to post as distance, did they post according to your originally purchased fare bucket or the upgraded bucket after the SWU was applied?
VegasGambler is offline  
Old Jun 26, 22, 1:21 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Programs: AA EXP, DL Diamond, Hilton Diamond, Bonvoy Ambassador (RIP SPG), Aeroplan 75K
Posts: 301
Originally Posted by VegasGambler View Post
When your segments started to post as distance, did they post according to your originally purchased fare bucket or the upgraded bucket after the SWU was applied?
My BA F segment posted in F not A (booking was in A, but I think things got changed up as part of the various re-issuances), and my SWU’d AA F segment posted in A not I.
VegasGambler likes this.
ryanbriar is offline  
Old Jun 26, 22, 8:06 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Programs: AA, HH
Posts: 1
Hello all, first time poster here.

Yesterday I finished a RT from BOS to SGN. 4 of 5 segments were on JAL. It posted at 52k LP’s, as a C fare (business), instead of the 85k listed when I booked. It seems it’s based on miles not the price, if I’m interpreting the Million Miler total correctly. When I called today the agent could see the correct amount listed when booked, but told me I had to call the AAdvantage desk when they open Mon morning to get it fixed.
jeffaahh is offline  
Old Jun 26, 22, 8:44 pm
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Not here; there!
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Posts: 24,243
Originally Posted by jeffaahh View Post
Hello all, first time poster here.

Yesterday I finished a RT from BOS to SGN. 4 of 5 segments were on JAL. It posted at 52k LP’s, as a C fare (business), instead of the 85k listed when I booked. It seems it’s based on miles not the price, if I’m interpreting the Million Miler total correctly. When I called today the agent could see the correct amount listed when booked, but told me I had to call the AAdvantage desk when they open Mon morning to get it fixed.
Welcome to FlyerTalk!

For travel on JL-coded segments, you earn Loyalty Points and redeemable miles based on this chart:

https://www.aa.com/i18n/travel-info/...n-airlines.jsp

Were your JL-operated segments JL-coded, or AA-coded?
guv1976 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread