Upgrade with miles DFW-LHR

Old Jun 22, 22, 9:57 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Programs: AA Advantage
Posts: 5
Upgrade with miles DFW-LHR

If I upgrade using 25k miles and $350 from Main Cabin for a DFW to LHR flight (AA 80 - Boeing 777-300ER) - where the available purchased business ticket is "Flagship Business" - should I expect an upgrade to a "Flagship Business" ticket.
After doing this my itinerary just states "Business" - so I'm not sure if I get access to the Flagship lounge at DFW?
Thanks in advance for any insight.
robbymc is offline  
Old Jun 22, 22, 10:01 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,416
You will get FSL access if you are confirmed in Business and have a Business BP

Originally Posted by robbymc View Post
If I upgrade using 25k miles and $350 from Main Cabin for a DFW to LHR flight (AA 80 - Boeing 777-300ER) - where the available purchased business ticket is "Flagship Business" - should I expect an upgrade to a "Flagship Business" ticket.
After doing this my itinerary just states "Business" - so I'm not sure if I get access to the Flagship lounge at DFW?
Thanks in advance for any insight.
LowValueCustomer likes this.
777lover is offline  
Old Jun 22, 22, 10:52 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: RDU <|> MMX
Programs: AA EXP 2MM, SK EBS
Posts: 8,761
Yea, business class on any AA longhaul flight to Europe, deep South America, and Asia/Pacific = Flagship Business, regardless of whether the aa.com search results or e-ticket receipt or anything else specifically call out Flagship or not.
LowValueCustomer likes this.
JJeffrey is offline  
Old Jun 22, 22, 12:37 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Programs: American Airlines
Posts: 25,600
I wish they would drop that silly and misrepresentative word “flagship”. Hell they dropped “luxury liner” years ago they can drop this.
BlooJoo likes this.
enviroian is offline  
Old Jun 22, 22, 4:41 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7,954
Originally Posted by enviroian View Post
I wish they would drop that silly and misrepresentative word “flagship”. Hell they dropped “luxury liner” years ago they can drop this.
They need a way to differentiate between long haul business and business on a flight to, say, Mexico.
LowValueCustomer likes this.
VegasGambler is offline  
Old Jun 22, 22, 6:23 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Programs: Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Titanium, AA EXP, DL PM
Posts: 171
Originally Posted by VegasGambler View Post
They need a way to differentiate between long haul business and business on a flight to, say, Mexico.
"Club Americas Business"
D3KingAmerican likes this.
LowValueCustomer is offline  
Old Jun 22, 22, 6:26 pm
  #7  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 42,145
Originally Posted by VegasGambler View Post
They need a way to differentiate between long haul business and business on a flight to, say, Mexico.
Why? Most other airlines don't seem to find a need to do so on a booking page
Dave Noble is offline  
Old Jun 22, 22, 8:39 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC
Programs: AA EXP / LT PLT / 3MM, Marriott LT Gold
Posts: 32,922
Originally Posted by enviroian View Post
I wish they would drop that silly and misrepresentative word “flagship”. Hell they dropped “luxury liner” years ago they can drop this.
There needs to be a Flagship for the Admiral to command. Personally I've always liked these nautical names. At some outstations, gate personnel still refer to aircraft as "ships".
vasantn is offline  
Old Jun 23, 22, 8:28 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Programs: AA: CK
Posts: 1,384
Originally Posted by vasantn View Post
At some outstations, gate personnel still refer to aircraft as "ships".
Or BIRD! **tingle**
BlooJoo is offline  
Old Jun 23, 22, 9:32 am
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 25,203
Originally Posted by Dave Noble View Post
Why? Most other airlines don't seem to find a need to do so on a booking page
DL absolutely does. DeltaOne is a different column and/or label from First/Business. Not sure if UA does the same with Polaris.
I always thought these marketing names were gimmicky, but they can be helpful at defining what the actual product/service being sold is.
ijgordon is offline  
Old Jun 23, 22, 9:39 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Programs: AA: CK
Posts: 1,384
Originally Posted by ijgordon View Post
DL absolutely does. DeltaOne is a different column and/or label from First/Business. Not sure if UA does the same with Polaris.
I always thought these marketing names were gimmicky, but they can be helpful at defining what the actual product/service being sold is.
It's a US airline thing (and BA). On LH, for instance, "Business" applies to long haul flat bed or a Y seat with blocked middle.
BlooJoo is offline  
Old Jun 23, 22, 11:22 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: RDU <|> MMX
Programs: AA EXP 2MM, SK EBS
Posts: 8,761
I get that AA has to call their premium business class something clever to compete with DL and UA, but AA's problem is that the 'Flagship' crap is applied so inconsistently that they've just made things way more confusing than they need be.

Sometimes aa.com search results say Flagship and other times they won't (for the exact same flight), sometimes the rules for services like lounge access say you must be on a flight marketed as Flagship and other times they don't, and of course even if you do buy a Flagship flight the words Flagship are nowhere to be found on your email/e-ticket receipt or looking at your reservation at aa.com.

It's no wonder that we receive questions just like the OP's on a semi-regular basis about whether this flight or that flight is considered Flagship and whether it counts for lounge access, etc.
Geordie405, MarkY123 and scoonee like this.
JJeffrey is offline  
Old Jun 23, 22, 3:50 pm
  #13  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 42,145
Originally Posted by ijgordon View Post
DL absolutely does. DeltaOne is a different column and/or label from First/Business. Not sure if UA does the same with Polaris.
I always thought these marketing names were gimmicky, but they can be helpful at defining what the actual product/service being sold is.
The 1st 4 airlines that I checked - QF, NZ, AY and SQ - all just say business
Dave Noble is offline  
Old Jun 23, 22, 3:57 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Programs: AA: CK
Posts: 1,384
Originally Posted by JJeffrey View Post
I get that AA has to call their premium business class something clever to compete with DL and UA, but AA's problem is that the 'Flagship' crap is applied so inconsistently that they've just made things way more confusing than they need be.

Sometimes aa.com search results say Flagship and other times they won't (for the exact same flight), sometimes the rules for services like lounge access say you must be on a flight marketed as Flagship and other times they don't, and of course even if you do buy a Flagship flight the words Flagship are nowhere to be found on your email/e-ticket receipt or looking at your reservation at aa.com.

It's no wonder that we receive questions just like the OP's on a semi-regular basis about whether this flight or that flight is considered Flagship and whether it counts for lounge access, etc.
What Flagship branded flight doesn't allow lounge access for J or F?
BlooJoo is offline  
Old Jun 24, 22, 7:01 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: RDU <|> MMX
Programs: AA EXP 2MM, SK EBS
Posts: 8,761
Originally Posted by BlooJoo View Post
What Flagship branded flight doesn't allow lounge access for J or F?
Any AA longhaul business class to Europe, deep SA, Asia/Pacific (and Hawaii now too I guess) is considered 'Flagship' and of course comes with Flagship Lounge access. But AA's marketing of 'Flagship' is terrible:
  • Search aa.com for JFK-LHR in business and "Flagship Business" is clearly displayed on the AA metal options
  • But search for JFK-CDG and Flagship Business is displayed for the AA metal nonstop, but not for JFK-LHR-CDG on the exact same JFK-LHR flight as above. I guess I get Flagship if I fly nonstop but not if I connect through London.
  • Regardless of which flight I book, Flagship Business is nowhere to be found now on my email e-ticket receipt or looking at my reservation at aa.com.
  • I go to the aa.com FL page to see what lounge I can use, crap, aa.com says FL access only for "Flights with Seats Ticketed as Flagship between..." I bought JFK-LHR-CDG, I guess I can't use the FL.
  • Or in the case of the OP you upgrade DFW-LHR to business and again Flagship isn't displayed anywhere but the rules say you must have a seat ticketed as Flagship to access the FL...

It's confusing and inconsistent but 100% par for the course with AA and aa.com marketing.
JJeffrey is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread