Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

AA changed my Int First class award to Business (not a sched change)

AA changed my Int First class award to Business (not a sched change)

Old Apr 19, 22, 10:28 am
  #31  
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: WAS/TYO
Programs: UA 1K, AA EXP (3MM), DL PM, BONVOY TITANIUM, HYATT GLOBALIST, HILTON DIAMOND, IHG DIAMOND AMB, et al
Posts: 5,820
Originally Posted by seawolf
...hbtr is not going to care about how the fare was constructed (whether it was a LAX-ORD fare with a BOS routing or a LAX-BOS and BOS-ORD fare combined).

AA of course may disagree if fare was LAX-ORD and this could end up being a HUACA/customer service situation.
Originally Posted by sbrower
I agree with customer service (no matter what hbtr originally intended). Sometimes you can get a favorable change to a reservation. BUT, in terms of what AA is obligated to do, only the fare basis counts - even if hbtr intentionally chose a flight with a long stopover, that doesn't mean that AA is obligated to give him ANY time in Boston.
But, again, I don't believe AA has any published LAX-ORD fares that permit routing though BOS. The fare was likely split to begin with. In that case, shouldn't the BOS stop be contractually honored regardless of whether it's timed as a connection or stopover in BOS?

To put it another way, if the OP had booked this routing via BOS and then called AA (or tried to do SDC) to get on a different (published) LAX-ORD routing they would most likely be denied because the fare was split.

-FlyerBeek
seawolf likes this.

Last edited by FlyerBeek; Apr 19, 22 at 10:45 am
FlyerBeek is online now  
Old Apr 19, 22, 10:37 am
  #32  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DL: Silver; AA: EX PLAT; UA: Silver; HY: DIA; HH: DIA; MR: TIT
Posts: 1,697
Originally Posted by seawolf
You do not have to check every day; you just have to check starting around 12:01AM Sunday Eastern time. That is when schedule changes if any will usually be updated.
So they load them once per week? Is that new - always thought it was monthly?!
LINDEGR is offline  
Old Apr 19, 22, 11:19 am
  #33  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: NYC
Programs: AA 2MM, Bonvoy LTT, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 14,242
Originally Posted by LINDEGR
So they load them once per week? Is that new - always thought it was monthly?!
Schedule changes doesnt necessarily happen every week but when it does happen it happens around Sunday 12:01AM. My prior response is to illustrate if one was concern about changes, they dont need to check daily, they only need to check on Sunday mornings.

Originally Posted by FlyerBeek
But, again, I don't believe AA has any published LAX-ORD fares that permit routing though BOS. The fare was likely split to begin with. In that case, shouldn't the BOS stop be contractually honored regardless of whether it's timed as a connection or stopover in BOS?

To put it another way, if the OP had booked this routing via BOS and then called AA (or tried to do SDC) to get on a different (published) LAX-ORD routing they would most likely be denied because the fare was split.

-FlyerBeek
If it was LAX-BOS and BOS-ORD fare, BOS should be honored. From a ticketing perspective if BOS stop time is 45 min or 12 hours or 54 hours the fare construction would be identical.
FlyerBeek likes this.
seawolf is online now  
Old Apr 19, 22, 3:09 pm
  #34  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 26,291
I don't think you'd be able to book LAX-BOS-ORD with <4h connection on AA.com as a broken fare, it would probably revert to the through fare, unless, of course, there are no single fares that allow this routing, as was suggested. But the full facts aren't in evidence, so hard to say. The poster's comment that "The first flight I booked in my itinerary was LAX-BOS." doesn't really mean anything.
ijgordon is online now  
Old Apr 20, 22, 1:24 am
  #35  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: OC, CA
Programs: AA EXP, 2MM, HH Diamond
Posts: 800
Originally Posted by *A Flyer
No, they are not. The ticket sold is from LAX to ORD. AAs Conditions of Carriage make clear that they may change your flight, operating aircraft, seat assignment, operating airline, stopover cities, and/or departure and arrival times without any issues. Youre entitled to ask for something else but travelling via BOS is not part of your contract with AA.
Why are you saying that the ticket sold was from LAX to ORD? As others have pointed out I dont think AA would even route an LAX-ORD flight through BOS. The first destination that I chose for my itinerary was BOS. And I know the CoC says they can change stopover cities, but that just means they can screw anyone with a multicity itinerary. Per the CoC they could have just as easily dropped ORD as BOS.

Originally Posted by ijgordon
I don't think you'd be able to book LAX-BOS-ORD with <4h connection on AA.com as a broken fare, it would probably revert to the through fare, unless, of course, there are no single fares that allow this routing, as was suggested. But the full facts aren't in evidence, so hard to say. The poster's comment that "The first flight I booked in my itinerary was LAX-BOS." doesn't really mean anything.
When I say the first flight I booked in my itinerary was LAX-BOS, that means my intent was to get to Boston and thats what I booked for the first flight in my itinerary. I dont know how the fare construction worked for this itinerary, but in the past when I have booked the same itinerary as an award it was booked as 3 awards..

This kind of itinerary change (dropping a stopover city after a schedule change) has happened to me three times, and AA has never pushed back on restoring the original itinerary.
hbtr is offline  
Old Apr 20, 22, 2:02 am
  #36  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: OC, CA
Programs: AA EXP, 2MM, HH Diamond
Posts: 800
Originally Posted by seawolf
Intent matters because no one other than this community here cares/knows fare calculation.

If hbtr intentionally created a multi-city booking with BOS and picked a ground time of 3 hours 40 minutes because he/she wanted to have lunch with a friend near the airport (and the subsequent flight from BOS would result in a 7 hour stop), hbtr is not going to care about how the fare was constructed (whether it was a LAX-ORD fare with a BOS routing or a LAX-BOS and BOS-ORD fare combined).

AA of course may disagree if fare was LAX-ORD and this could end up being a HUACA/customer service situation.
no idea how the fare was constructed, but just for laughs I compared the cost of LAX-BOS-ORD to the cost of booking LAX-BOS and BOS-ORD as separate one-way tickets and the cost was almost identical (and way more than LAX-ORD) so my guess is they were two fares combined.
hbtr is offline  
Old Apr 20, 22, 8:33 am
  #37  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DL: Silver; AA: EX PLAT; UA: Silver; HY: DIA; HH: DIA; MR: TIT
Posts: 1,697
Originally Posted by hbtr
no idea how the fare was constructed, but just for laughs I compared the cost of LAX-BOS-ORD to the cost of booking LAX-BOS and BOS-ORD as separate one-way tickets and the cost was almost identical (and way more than LAX-ORD) so my guess is they were two fares combined.
You have to LOVE airline pricing!
LINDEGR is offline  
Old Apr 20, 22, 8:49 am
  #38  
Used to be 'Travelergcp'
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New Orleans
Programs: AA Plat, Marriott Gold, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 2,795
Theres a known bug in app rebooker for irrops. I dont think it will show mixed cabin options as alternatives. It will show Y instead. Be sure to check with an agent before you give up and take the voluntary downgrade.
TravelerMSY is offline  
Old Apr 22, 22, 1:31 pm
  #39  
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 9,188
Originally Posted by hbtr
no idea how the fare was constructed, but just for laughs I compared the cost of LAX-BOS-ORD to the cost of booking LAX-BOS and BOS-ORD as separate one-way tickets and the cost was almost identical (and way more than LAX-ORD) so my guess is they were two fares combined.
Most likely the LAX-ORD fare had routing rules that did not allow transiting BOS, so you were seeing an end-on-end construction.

If you price it in matrix you can know for sure; they show you which fares are used and which segments they cover.
VegasGambler is offline  
Old Apr 22, 22, 2:07 pm
  #40  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Programs: Choice Hotels
Posts: 732
When I book web saver awards well in advance, before an impending schedule change, I can often find much cheaper options with a less than convenient connection. However, the majority of the time, they simply get switched to a Non-Stop if the non-stop is available. This is also true for paid tickets where I'm trying to get more segments or meet someone for a little while during a connection. For example, I bought five round trip tickets for me and some family members to go to a wedding in Atlanta in may. I was able to get the tickets for 12,000 mi around trip, which is super cheap, from DFW. However, to get that websaver amount, I had to book a 4 hour connection at ORD on the way there, and a 3 hour connection at DCA on the way back. After the schedule finalization, we were put on non-stop flights with better times. In this case, it worked out great.

Certainly a downgrade from first class is not acceptable, however, and for paid tickets where certain connections are intentional, it's inconvenient. Anytime I have had a paid ticket change the connecting airport or put me on a Non-Stop that I don't want, I have always been able to call and get it fixed. The agents are happy to give me any itinerary I want. I tried to avoid DFW if possible simply because I have zero chance of getting an upgrade. When a connection through another hub becomes non-viable, the algorithm likes to send me through dfw. I have always been able to get it changed to whatever alternate hub I want.
thunderdeacon is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread