Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

Earning loyalty points on a ba ticket but American metal?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 11, 2022, 5:07 pm
Original Poster

Programs: UA 1K, Hyatt Globalist, AA Plat Pro

Hey all - sorry if this had been posted before but I am pretty new to loyalty points.

if I book an itinerary on ba ticket stock but fly American metal, and put my aa number into the reservation, how do I calculate the loyalty points? Using the aa calculator or the partner calculator?

thanks in advance
Old Apr 11, 2022, 5:08 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Originally Posted by hotcrab
Hey all - sorry if this had been posted before but I am pretty new to loyalty points.

if I book an itinerary on ba ticket stock but fly American metal, and put my aa number into the reservation, how do I calculate the loyalty points? Using the aa calculator or the partner calculator?

thanks in advance
The important part is not the ticket stock, but who it's marketed by (the airline in the flight number)
Old Apr 11, 2022, 5:29 pm
Original Poster

So if it’s a ba codeshare in the flight number it uses the partner calculator?
Old Apr 11, 2022, 7:00 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA EXP 2MM, SK EBS
So if it’s a ba codeshare in the flight number it uses the partner calculator?
Yes, if it's a BA flight number but operated by AA you earn according to the BA earning chart at aa.com.
Old Apr 12, 2022, 6:12 am
Original Poster

Thanks for the advice! I ended up being a little more creative and booking an aa ticket with all aa flight numbers.
Old Apr 12, 2022, 6:38 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA EXP / LT PLT / 3MM, Marriott LT Gold
Thanks for the advice! I ended up being a little more creative and booking an aa ticket with all aa flight numbers.
That's pretty creative! I can't say that I've ever seen that done before.
Deckter likes this.
Old Apr 12, 2022, 6:42 pm