Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

Bringing a guitar as carry-on LAX -> SEA, Embraer 175

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 10, 2022, 12:12 pm
Original Poster

Hi all, I'm relatively new to all this so hopefully I won't get flamed... I've searched the Internet at length but these things seem to change over time and I'm not sure about the specific aircraft.

Basically, as per the subject LAX -> SEA on Wednesday AA 3230 is apparently likely to be an Embraer 175. I'm not a US resident and I'm not familiar with these planes - they seem somewhat smaller than the usual suspects when I fly across the pond.

I'm likely to have a guitar with me. It will be in a hard case, but not a full-on flight case, hence I'd be concerned that if I checked it in the hold, the case (at minimum) could get damaged. I read things about checking in at the gate being safer, but ultimately there are a lot of horror stories out there. I also don't know how much of this is down to policy vs luck.

The rest of my trip (from TLV) is J, but had to book this leg in K. I have Platinum status so have automatically been upgraded to MCE, and I'm on the upgrade list as I have enough 500-mile upgrades, but not holding my breath (no idea how busy this flight usually is).

I have two possible cases:
  1. 41x17x14" (quite rectangular)
  2. 42x15x5" (more contoured i.e. not 15" all the way down)
Is either of these likely to fit in the overhead bin on an Embraer 175? If not, do they have a coat compartment or other similar compartment that (at least 15 years ago when I last tried) they might be willing to put the guitar in? Or am I resigned to check in?

Thanks in advance for any insight.
Old Apr 10, 2022, 12:19 pm

Programs: AA CK MM, AC SE100K, BA Gold, UA 1K, DL Plat, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum
Originally Posted by topperdoggle