Flagship Business Plus???

Old Jan 19, 22, 3:13 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Programs: AA-EXP, Flying Blue-Silver
Posts: 713
Flagship Business Plus???

I was just pricing some JFK-LAX flights for the next couple of weeks and, instead of Flagship First, it's labeled as "Flagship Business Plus" on the website (but it books into "F")... Any idea what that's all about?
PremiumSeat is offline  
Old Jan 19, 22, 3:18 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Programs: American Airlines
Posts: 25,616
That's a new one for me too.
enviroian is online now  
Old Jan 19, 22, 3:40 pm
  #3  
VFR
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: BOS/PVD/ORH
Programs: AA PP
Posts: 1,429


I know they have Main Plus which includes a choice of any seat in Main Cabin including MCE...
smartytravel likes this.
VFR is offline  
Old Jan 19, 22, 3:40 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2019
Programs: AA
Posts: 162



Seat map still has First / Business Class, and the booking code is still F. However, the price is much lower than what I'm used to seeing for F LAX - JFK RT.

Perhaps a sign of what's to come?
golfer20 is offline  
Old Jan 19, 22, 3:44 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC
Programs: AA EXP / LT PLT / 3MM, Marriott LT Gold
Posts: 32,926
Originally Posted by enviroian View Post
That's a new one for me too.
The column heading is "Premier" instead of "First".




I wonder if someone jumped the gun before changes are announced.

[Edited to add:]

MIA-LAX shows "normal" Flagship F.
vasantn is offline  
Old Jan 19, 22, 3:45 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,390
For examples on what AA could be thinking, reference BA where business fares do not include seat selection. Or Finnair where Business Light does not include lounge access.
_kurt is offline  
Old Jan 19, 22, 3:47 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,359
I got upgrade offers in the app from Flagship business to "First" and that is now showing upgrade offers for both business (which is strange since Im already booked into it) and "Premier" which I am guessing is really First. Very random.
olouie is offline  
Old Jan 19, 22, 3:47 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: WAS/TYO
Programs: UA 1K, AA EXP (3MM), DL PM, BONVOY TITANIUM, HYATT GLOBALIST, HILTON DIAMOND, IHG SPIRE AMB, et al.
Posts: 5,553
Originally Posted by _kurt View Post
For examples on what AA could be thinking, reference BA where business fares do not include seat selection. Or Finnair where Business Light does not include lounge access.
Or AA F fares where the FAs don't want to provide F service!

-FlyerBeek
Eastbay1K, EuropeanPete and mhbnyc like this.
FlyerBeek is offline  
Old Jan 19, 22, 3:48 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: KHOU/KIAH
Programs: AA "mid tier" elite | Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador | Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 8,090
Originally Posted by vasantn View Post
The column heading is "Premier" instead of "First".




I wonder if someone jumped the gun before changes are announced.
I did a search for JFK-LHR for comparison and it still shows Flagship Business and Flagship First.

Wonder if AA is segregating their domestic and international branding?
Antarius is offline  
Old Jan 19, 22, 3:51 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,390
Originally Posted by FlyerBeek View Post
Or AA F fares where the FAs don't want to provide F service!

-FlyerBeek
Now there’s an ancillary revenue idea. Hail an FA via an Uber-like app when you need a refill. $10 if you’re in 1C, $40 if you’re in 4F. It’s distance-based after all. Just don’t ask me about the surge pricing…
FlyerBeek, Goin-2-AA, coxm and 2 others like this.
_kurt is offline  
Old Jan 19, 22, 3:52 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: May 2019
Programs: AA
Posts: 162
Originally Posted by vasantn View Post
I wonder if someone jumped the gun before changes are announced.
Definitively looks like it. IT may have a test site that's accidentally gone live.

So... Flagship Premier Dining, anyone? If real, I really do think this is a good move by AA, as the pricing better represents a reasonable value increment from business to first.
golfer20 is offline  
Old Jan 19, 22, 3:52 pm
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC
Programs: AA EXP / LT PLT / 3MM, Marriott LT Gold
Posts: 32,926
Originally Posted by Antarius View Post
I did a search for JFK-LHR for comparison and it still shows Flagship Business and Flagship First.

Wonder if AA is segregating their domestic and international branding?
I added to my post above. MIA-LAX still shows Flagship F.
vasantn is offline  
Old Jan 19, 22, 3:56 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: new york, ny
Posts: 1,199
I have a question. Does Flagship Business allow to check in at the Flagship First check in desk?
unfrequentflyer is offline  
Old Jan 19, 22, 4:06 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: San Francisco
Programs: AA EXP
Posts: 342
My BP for JFK-LAX in F tomorrow still says "First Class" :shrug:
potus18 is offline  
Old Jan 19, 22, 4:08 pm
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NYC, USA
Programs: AA EXP 3MM, Lifetime Platinum, Marriott Titanium, HH Gold
Posts: 10,828
Originally Posted by unfrequentflyer View Post
I have a question. Does Flagship Business allow to check in at the Flagship First check in desk?
No, it does not. Nor does Flagship Business allow Flagship First Dining. 😢

Looks like AA may be planning to bring its transcon service in line with DL, B6 and others, offering Business Class only, with the ability to pay more for the former First Class seats (marketed as Business Plus), but offering Business meal service. I believe AA is the only carrier currently offering differentiated First and Business class products in the transcon markets. The old explanation used to be that there were lucrative entertainment industry contracts on the transcon routes that mandated 3-class First Class service for clients (celebs). I suspect those contracts are not as lucrative or prevalent in the pandemic era.

Maybe (just speculating) Flagship First going away on the transcon routes, and the only place where true Flagship First will exist anymore is longhaul international on the 777-300....which during the pandemic is currently limited to select LHR and Deep South America flights, I believe.

Sad things, of course, are:
- loss of ability to upgrade from Business to First (except by paying cash or traveling as a non-rev/employee)
- loss of Flagship First Check-In
- loss of Flagship First Dining
AADFW likes this.
ESpen36 is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread