Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

NEWBIE LOUNGE 2022-2023: Ask AA newbie questions here - flame-free thread

NEWBIE LOUNGE 2022-2023: Ask AA newbie questions here - flame-free thread

Old Jan 24, 2023, 5:48 am

Programs: AA Executive Platinum, Marriott Lifetime Titanium, IHG Platinum
Originally Posted by davidlin15
Hi guys newbie here….

is it no longer available to search QR award tickets on AA? Trying to locate tickets to MLE… appreciated
You can. Best to search from the main cities that QR originates the long haul from. I.e. ORD-MLE on 22-FEB is showing seats in coach. If you find the flights you need, you can put them on hold, then call AA to try to add a points flight to get you to ORD from your home airport. This may be difficult, as the booking class for this positioning flight needs to be a certain fare code (I believe "T").

If you search from your home airport to MLE you will generally get no QR results (unless your home airport is DFW, ORD, etc)

You can use the calendar feature to more quickly search. Business seats seem hard to come by.

Also, there is a dedicated thread on FlyerTalk about this:
Qatar Airways / QR: Redeem AA Miles for Award (master thd)

Last edited by WannaTheater; Jan 24, 2023 at 6:16 am
Old Jan 24, 2023, 5:56 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA EXP 2MM, SK EBS
Originally Posted by quitecryptic
Gotcha, thanks. Sort of figured that, but thought maybe there was a way to do it directly.

Since I have the points already is there any harm if I just booked it (not hold), then make sure it tickets before canceling the other one? Does AA have any sort of detection that you are on the same flight twice to not allow that?
No, no harm in doing it that way.

AA used to not let you make duplicate reservations for AA metal flights, but this never applied to partner flights, and they have even removed this restriction now for AA flights.