Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

AA award / reroute due to partner itinerary changes?

Old Jan 28, 21, 11:41 am
Original Poster

So I have flown with AA on the usual route xxx-DFW-LHR-VIE. I am a resident in Vienna but as you may know there is a landing ban from the UK, at least until Feb but likely to be extended, I think.
I am desperate to use my AA miles that have been collecting dust.
my flight will originate from MEX and currently, for March 3 I see a good reward itinerary: MEX-DFW-LHR-VIE ...this is all to be redeemed in J class:

There are other Oneworld limited options such as Iberia MEX-MAD-VIE but no J availability at all until mid-march (even though J class is pretty much empty) which is after my planned date to return. There is also BA but either with a 22-hour layover in London or a mess to go from LHR to MAD and stay overnight there..plus BAs high surcharges so no.

It is worth noting that if searching a regular $ flight, it gives you the option to do MEX-DFW-FRA-VIE (below)....the fra-vie leg being on OS. I know weird but it's available for $. However, because of the OS flight, it is not available with miles if not I would have taken that for sure.

I am totally fine with AA's MEX-VIE option, but my question is, let's say the landing ban continues and the LHR-VIE part of my flight can't happen...would it be possible or even likely for them to reroute me:

on the MEX-DFW-FRA-VIE flight even though I booked with miles and not $?
or
the Iberia MEX-MAD-VIE in J, since J class is empty on those flights but just not available with miles

Or would they automatically only give me the crazy 22 hour or overnight itineraries?