BNA Admirals Club WiFi password denied

Old Aug 20, 20, 11:06 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: GA
Programs: VA-PLT, QF-GLD, DL-GM, UA-ex1K, AA-exPLT, HH-DM, IHG-PLT, MR-GLD
Posts: 8,132
BNA Admirals Club WiFi password denied

OK, let's start with I realize this is a very, very, very minor issue. But hey, FT exists for this, right? 🤷🏼‍♂️

I am at BNA. Paid F ticket, QF Gold with Admirals club access. Of course the Admirals Club is closed. I get that, it's fine.

But the Admirals Club WiFi is still on and there is still a service desk. So I figure, I can't access the club but surely they'll let me jump on the WiFi.

Nope, they won't give me the code. I even offered my QF card so they could check me in and charge QF for lounge access. Nope.

I was nice and so was the agent, it isn't his fault that it is policy but seems awfully petty.

I googled it and got it anyway... So no harm to me but just wondering what reason AA would have for this. They didn't gain anything.

Now flame away at me for whinging
CPMaverick is offline  
Old Aug 20, 20, 1:40 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Programs: American EXP; British Airways Gold
Posts: 1,885
What is that WiFi password?

That BNA Admirals Club makes the best Bloody Mary cocktails.
jcatman is offline  
Old Aug 20, 20, 1:48 pm
  #3  
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NYC
Programs: DL Diamond, AAdvantage EXP, Hyatt Explorist, HHonors Diamond, Avis First
Posts: 7,344
BNA airport has free WiFi in the terminal too.
writerguyfl and aztimm like this.
AANYC1981 is offline  
Old Aug 20, 20, 3:06 pm
  #4  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Programs: AAdvantage PP
Posts: 13,913
I had problems signing onto to AC wifi today at BNA and MIA. Seems as though there's an issue. I just used the free airport wifi instead.
MiamiAirport Formerly NY George is offline  
Old Aug 20, 20, 3:10 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW/DAL
Programs: AA Lifetime PLT, AS MVPG, HH Diamond, NCL Platinum Plus, MSC Diamond
Posts: 21,332
Originally Posted by CPMaverick View Post
OK, let's start with I realize this is a very, very, very minor issue. But hey, FT exists for this, right? 🤷🏼‍♂️

I am at BNA. Paid F ticket, QF Gold with Admirals club access. Of course the Admirals Club is closed. I get that, it's fine.

But the Admirals Club WiFi is still on and there is still a service desk. So I figure, I can't access the club but surely they'll let me jump on the WiFi.

Nope, they won't give me the code. I even offered my QF card so they could check me in and charge QF for lounge access. Nope.

I was nice and so was the agent, it isn't his fault that it is policy but seems awfully petty.

I googled it and got it anyway... So no harm to me but just wondering what reason AA would have for this. They didn't gain anything.

Now flame away at me for whinging
The club is closed, so the services of the club are not available. Also, as someone noted, why not use the free internet at the airport?
There used to be a website with the codes, but I don't know if it still exists. There are codes for everything somewhere.
This week's Tuesday T-Mobile sandwich code for Dickey's BBQ was the same for everyone (bad idea) so it was blasted all over the internet. (A friend pointed it out on Reddit)
That made it very difficult for me to order my sandwich online yesterday. as the website was busy..... and, I legitimately got the code.

If you really want codes, this google map will help (AA lounges seem to share a common password)
https://foxnomad.com/2016/04/26/map-...ted-regularly/ links to the current map
https://www.google.com/maps/d/viewer...3758700115&z=5

Last edited by mvoight; Aug 20, 20 at 3:17 pm
mvoight is offline  
Old Aug 20, 20, 4:05 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PDX
Programs: AS 75K, BW Plat, Marriott Gold, IHG Plat, Hilton Gold
Posts: 9,864
Have any of these "service center" ACs in non-hub cities like BNA reopened yet? Makes me wonder if some of these will never open...
PDXPremier is offline  
Old Aug 20, 20, 6:08 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: GA
Programs: VA-PLT, QF-GLD, DL-GM, UA-ex1K, AA-exPLT, HH-DM, IHG-PLT, MR-GLD
Posts: 8,132
Originally Posted by jcatman View Post
What is that WiFi password?
Morocco2020 (what a tease)

Originally Posted by mvoight View Post
The club is closed, so the services of the club are not available.
Yes, but it isn't completely closed. The service desk is open. The wifi is on and working (quite well). Why not let those eligible for the club use it? Cost to AA: $0 If they'd shut if off, I wouldn't have bothered with it, but it's there and it is being paid for already.

Originally Posted by AANYC1981 View Post
BNA airport has free WiFi in the terminal too.
Yes but the club wifi is much faster. And it was REALLY fast
bchandler02 likes this.
CPMaverick is offline  
Old Aug 20, 20, 11:41 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: LAX/ORD/HNL
Programs: AA EXP, 4.6 MM, LT Pt, HH Diamond, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 405
Originally Posted by CPMaverick View Post
Morocco2020
Really surprised they would use that password as they canceled the inaugural flight to Casablanca, and, as far as I know have no plans to reinstate it in the future.
marnold3 is offline  
Old Aug 21, 20, 2:08 am
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW/DAL
Programs: AA Lifetime PLT, AS MVPG, HH Diamond, NCL Platinum Plus, MSC Diamond
Posts: 21,332
Originally Posted by CPMaverick View Post
<snipped>
I googled it and got it anyway... So no harm to me but just wondering what reason AA would have for this. They didn't gain anything.
<snipped>
You needed the WIFI password, to get to the internet, so you used the internet to get it.........And you think AA didn't make sense.
mvoight is offline  
Old Aug 21, 20, 2:51 am
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Programs: American Airlines
Posts: 26,072
Here’s the updated password if the OP is still there.

noPDB4U2020
enviroian is online now  
Old Aug 21, 20, 8:14 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Live: PWM/KBXM/BGR; Work: DCA/DFW/Everywhere; Play: LAS/AUA/MIA/MLE
Programs: AA EXP, DL PM, Hyatt Glob, Marriott Ambassador/LTP, Nat'l Exec Elite, mlife Noir, LEYE Gold
Posts: 5,836
Originally Posted by enviroian View Post
Here’s the updated password if the OP is still there.

noPDB4U2020
noPDB4U4eva
Antarius likes this.
platbrownguy is online now  
Old Aug 21, 20, 9:58 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: LAX
Programs: AA PLT / 2MM
Posts: 2,025
Classic example of a short-sighted AA employee not having the judgment and common sense to do the right thing in the situation and/or AA running an operation where the ethos is such that employees feel like they'll get in trouble for using their judgment and common sense to do nice gestures for customers. Giving OP the WiFi code -- which is easily available on the internet -- would have cost literally nothing, and would have earned some goodwill.
AANYC1981, CPMaverick and Antarius like this.

Last edited by LAX_Esq; Aug 21, 20 at 10:13 am
LAX_Esq is offline  
Old Aug 21, 20, 10:10 am
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: GA
Programs: VA-PLT, QF-GLD, DL-GM, UA-ex1K, AA-exPLT, HH-DM, IHG-PLT, MR-GLD
Posts: 8,132
Originally Posted by mvoight View Post
You needed the WIFI password, to get to the internet, so you used the internet to get it.........And you think AA didn't make sense.
Yes I used 50 KB of phone data so I could upload a 120 MB file over Wifi reliably. Senseless.

Originally Posted by enviroian View Post
Here’s the updated password if the OP is still there.

noPDB4U2020
Antarius likes this.
CPMaverick is offline  
Old Aug 21, 20, 11:09 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Washington DC Metro Area
Programs: A: PP, LTG/1.5M | UA: SLV | Bonvoy LTT | IHG PLT| Hertz 5 Star | Nat'l Emerald Club EE
Posts: 1,063
Originally Posted by CPMaverick View Post
Morocco2020 (what a tease)



Yes, but it isn't completely closed. The service desk is open. The wifi is on and working (quite well). Why not let those eligible for the club use it? Cost to AA: $0 If they'd shut if off, I wouldn't have bothered with it, but it's there and it is being paid for already.



Yes but the club wifi is much faster. And it was REALLY fast
"Seeing" the network doesn't necessarily mean it's connected to the internet--AA may have suspended clubs' customer-facing internet service but left the club's internal network and access points on for AA corporate and the club staff's use.
AAir_head is offline  
Old Aug 21, 20, 11:28 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7,234
Originally Posted by AAir_head View Post
"Seeing" the network doesn't necessarily mean it's connected to the internet--AA may have suspended clubs' customer-facing internet service but left the club's internal network and access points on for AA corporate and the club staff's use.
Technically speaking that seems very unlikely. It is not easy for them to "disconnect" the Internet. Just to get to the login page you have to access the "Internet".
I doubt AA has an "internal network" that is completely separate from the Internet. They may want people to VPN to access certain things but that is not the same as not being connected to the Internet.
CPMaverick likes this.
s0ssos is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread