Admirals Club card - useless?

Old Mar 5, 20, 3:24 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NYNY
Programs: Marriott LT Ti & Ambassador, UA Silver, AA Gold, Amtrak Select Plus, Uber Diamond
Posts: 814
Admirals Club card - useless?

Is there any point to carrying the Admirals Club card, especially considering the membership is linked to your AAdvantage account?
newbiztraveler is offline  
Old Mar 5, 20, 3:33 pm
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 49,398
Same day BP + ID is all you need. You generally won't need the ID once they have your photo on file.
Often1 is offline  
Old Mar 5, 20, 3:40 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Programs: AA-EXP
Posts: 379
Haven't done this in a while, but don't you still need the card to access Alaska lounges (such as PDX)?
Uzzar is offline  
Old Mar 5, 20, 3:45 pm
  #4  
Moderator, Amtrak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: EWR :rolleyes:
Programs: AS MVP, AA Plat, DL Gold, UA Silver, IHG Spire, Marriott Titanium, Hertz PC
Posts: 5,453
Originally Posted by Uzzar View Post
Haven't done this in a while, but don't you still need the card to access Alaska lounges (such as PDX)?
Yeah, that is the only time I can think of it being handy these days.

Once ran into a problem at ANC since my card had actually expired the month or so before, but obviously at the AA clubs this wasn't an issue, but it was a deal breaker for AS.

Luckily, I was flying with an FTer so he just swiped me in on his.
Long Train Runnin is offline  
Old Mar 5, 20, 4:04 pm
  #5  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 49,398
AS Clubs can look it up. They may ask for the card, but it's not a requirement.
seigex likes this.
Often1 is offline  
Old Mar 5, 20, 4:58 pm
  #6  
Used to be 'g_leyser'
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Land of Lightfoot
Programs: AS MVP Gold, AA Plat, HH Dia, Bonvoy Gold, IHG Gold, Reno Air MEGA Platinum
Posts: 9,737
Originally Posted by Often1 View Post
AS Clubs can look it up. They may ask for the card, but it's not a requirement.
Yeah, but it's a pain in the a$$ and not every agent knows how to do it. Much easier to just have the card.
ExpatExp likes this.
aisleorwindow is offline  
Old Mar 5, 20, 5:10 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: (AA EXP)
Posts: 559
You will also need the card if you plan to use the lounge on arrival with an electronic boarding pass. Once the pass is used, somehow the Admirals Club can't see the AA number on the pass.
MIAFlyer is offline  
Old Mar 5, 20, 6:24 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 100
Originally Posted by MIAFlyer View Post
You will also need the card if you plan to use the lounge on arrival with an electronic boarding pass. Once the pass is used, somehow the Admirals Club can't see the AA number on the pass.
This is incorrect. Just today I returned to PHX, showed my DFW-PHX boarding pass, and was admitted.
Often1 and Antarius like this.
tbone14 is offline  
Old Mar 5, 20, 7:00 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: California
Programs: AA EXP; Hyatt Globalist; Marriott Bonvoy Titanium Elite
Posts: 504
I've never used my card to get in to an AA lounge. I've used it to enter the AS lounge at SEA, but for a couple months I didn't have it with me, the lady picked up the phone, called her AA contact who verified I had access. Took an extra 30 seconds, but was never given an issue and the ASngles were never anything but happy to do it.
Often1, AANYC1981 and Ilove2fly like this.
seigex is offline  
Old Mar 5, 20, 7:22 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: SE Wisconsin
Programs: AA EXP, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 203
Iíll be traveling through ANC in a few weeks. My Admirals Club membership is through my World Elite MC. Do I need a separate club card to get in?
Beachfun71 is offline  
Old Mar 5, 20, 8:07 pm
  #11  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 49,398
Originally Posted by Beachfun71 View Post
Iíll be traveling through ANC in a few weeks. My Admirals Club membership is through my World Elite MC. Do I need a separate club card to get in?
No. There is no separate AC card for CC holders.

As noted above, you don't need a card at all. Just a same day BP and ID. AS can look it up / call as the case may be.
Beachfun71 and Antarius like this.
Often1 is offline  
Old Mar 5, 20, 10:34 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: May 2002
Programs: WN F9 HA UA AA IHG HH MR
Posts: 2,461
Lifetime AC members need cards when flying non-AA, since other BPs do not scan.
Tanic is offline  
Old Mar 6, 20, 1:40 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: (AA EXP)
Posts: 559
Originally Posted by tbone14 View Post
This is incorrect. Just today I returned to PHX, showed my DFW-PHX boarding pass, and was admitted.
Thanks, perhaps it's a MIA thing, as recently as 3 days ago needed the card on arrival.
MIAFlyer is offline  
Old Mar 6, 20, 4:30 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: RBKC
Programs: AA EXP and Eurostar Carte Blanche
Posts: 3,223
Yes, there is definitely a point to carrying the Admirals Club card, even considering that the membership is linked to your AAdvantage account, for many of the reasons listed above.

Will Qantas Clubs also call to check if you don't bring your Admirals Club card? I remember some Qantas Clubs being unwilling or unable to confirm Admirals Club membership with a phone call, meaning that you had to have the physical card. Maybe they can now.

And yes it's faster and easier to access AS clubs with the physical card, especially if as aisleorwindow indicated above there is any difficulty in the phone process.
ExpatExp is offline  
Old Mar 6, 20, 4:37 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Roswell, GA
Programs: AA EXP 2.8m,Lifetime PLT, Hilton Diamond, IHG PlLT, SPG Gold
Posts: 2,781
you know, AA only gives you the card to make you feel special...
when I had the "club" membership... never carried the card or the luggage tag... my wife makes me feel special enough already
fotographer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: