Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

Speculation- Major collapse of AA coming in next year due to IT?

Speculation- Major collapse of AA coming in next year due to IT?

Old Feb 10, 20, 12:52 pm
  #46  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SoCal
Programs: AA EXP, HHonors LTDia, Marriott Plat
Posts: 632
Last Thursday when CLT was shut down for thunderstorms and then a tornado, my flight YYZ-CLT was showing on time. Also the incoming flight CLT-YYZ was showing on time even though CLT was shut down and the incoming flight there was heldup somewhere else. When I call the EXP line I was told since they were both showing on time they couldn't change my ticket. This seems like an IT issue or at least an interface issue.

As for the baggage issue in the app, I've noticed the same thing. I'll need to click in to the find my bag link to actually find out the current status. Happened Sun night and last Thu both. Restarting the app/phone doesn't seem to help.
TSparky is offline  
Old Feb 10, 20, 1:10 pm
  #47  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW-In Plano & CDG-In the 11th
Programs: Airline Free Agent, Marriott Lifetime Titanium, Avis likes me
Posts: 3,026
And I'll be fine!

I'll just grab my J seat with my paper boarding pass, utilizing technology dating back to the 4th millenium BC.

And I'll be fine!
Dallas49er is offline  
Old Feb 10, 20, 3:56 pm
  #48  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW/DAL
Programs: AA Lifetime PLT, AS MVPG, HH Diamond, NCL Platinum Plus
Posts: 20,277
Originally Posted by Dallas49er View Post
I'll just grab my J seat with my paper boarding pass, utilizing technology dating back to the 4th millenium BC.

And I'll be fine!
Electronic printers way back then?
So, Gutenberg didn't need to invent a printer in the 15th Century CE?
mvoight is offline  
Old Feb 10, 20, 4:25 pm
  #49  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW-In Plano & CDG-In the 11th
Programs: Airline Free Agent, Marriott Lifetime Titanium, Avis likes me
Posts: 3,026
Originally Posted by mvoight View Post
Electronic printers way back then?
So, Gutenberg didn't need to invent a printer in the 15th Century CE?
I;m old enough to remember "handwritten" paper tickets!
Dallas49er is offline  
Old Feb 10, 20, 4:54 pm
  #50  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Programs: AA EP, Hilton Diamond, Hertz Platinum
Posts: 542
Originally Posted by TSparky View Post
Last Thursday when CLT was shut down for thunderstorms and then a tornado, my flight YYZ-CLT was showing on time. Also the incoming flight CLT-YYZ was showing on time even though CLT was shut down and the incoming flight there was heldup somewhere else. When I call the EXP line I was told since they were both showing on time they couldn't change my ticket. This seems like an IT issue or at least an interface issue.

As for the baggage issue in the app, I've noticed the same thing. I'll need to click in to the find my bag link to actually find out the current status. Happened Sun night and last Thu both. Restarting the app/phone doesn't seem to help.
If flight statuses weren't being updated during the severe weather at CLT thats not because of IT issues, its because people including staff had to evacuate from some work areas and id imagine had no access to update FLIFO. Even the control tower had to be evacuated.
milesandmoremiles is offline  
Old Feb 10, 20, 6:59 pm
  #51  
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Denver
Programs: AS, AA, Hilton, Marriott, IHG
Posts: 1,231
I had similar issues last week with stickers not posting, miles not posting for 2-3 days. Leading up to today the AA app and seat map were showing configuration for a 757, even now 10 minutes before departure still showing 757, flightaware shows an A321. So my seat selection was based on the 757, the AC help desk was heavily suggesting that I take the exit row, but I was sure that the seat I had was another MCE with an empty middle.... nice IT AA.
safari ari is offline  
Old Feb 11, 20, 10:36 am
  #52  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SoCal
Programs: AA EXP, HHonors LTDia, Marriott Plat
Posts: 632
Originally Posted by milesandmoremiles View Post
If flight statuses weren't being updated during the severe weather at CLT thats not because of IT issues, its because people including staff had to evacuate from some work areas and id imagine had no access to update FLIFO. Even the control tower had to be evacuated.
ATC.gov was showing that the airport was closed.
I've often heard gate agents say "I can't control what the system says about the flight" when it is showing on time when it is clearly late.
TSparky is offline  
Old Feb 11, 20, 11:40 am
  #53  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: KHOU + KSFO
Programs: AA EXP | Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador | Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 6,297
Originally Posted by TSparky View Post
ATC.gov was showing that the airport was closed.
I've often heard gate agents say "I can't control what the system says about the flight" when it is showing on time when it is clearly late.
It isn't the GA's fault. If AA ops and dispatch says on time, then it's officially on time.

This is an AA corporate issue. They need to change their philosophy about how to report delays. Heck, the eternal punching bag UA does a far better job, delay, estimated new departure (which is more realistic than fiction) and reason for delay.
Antarius is online now  
Old Feb 11, 20, 12:41 pm
  #54  
formerly meunger11
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NYC
Programs: AA Plat
Posts: 475
Originally Posted by GunsOfNavarone View Post
With smartphone now losing display of boarding pass on regular basis... might be a good strategy to have a hard copy boarding pass as a supplement.
I can tell you first hand this has saved my wife and I serious headache on multiple occasions during the boarding process at least a dozen times last year, if not more...

We always get a paper boarding pass even after we have used the app to check-in.
AANYC1981 likes this.
GlobalMatt is offline  
Old Feb 11, 20, 12:49 pm
  #55  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New York
Programs: AA EXP 1.0mm, not sure where I am with hotels these days
Posts: 2,773
Originally Posted by Alfonso XIV View Post
Not just Visio, but also looking for proficiency in VisiCalc.
You are dating those who were VERY proficient in Visicalc. You had to be super proficient and efficient to make your spreadsheet work with 256k of memory !
george 3 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: