Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > American Airlines | AAdvantage
Reload this Page >

[Archived] AA oneworld & Other Airline Partner Award information, rules (2015-2018)

[Archived] AA oneworld & Other Airline Partner Award information, rules (2015-2018)

Old Jan 14, 15, 7:49 am
  #1  
formerly B7e7US
Original Poster
Marriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santo Domingo, Dom. Rep. / Washington, DC
Programs: AA/DL PLT, Priority Pass, Marriott Gold, Thalys Gold, JetBlue Mosaic, Hertz PC, Other shiny cards
Posts: 4,161
Arrow [Archived] AA oneworld & Other Airline Partner Award information, rules (2015-2018)

I've read contradicting information, so I'm kindly requesting a clarification of the changes on partners awards:
- PHL-SFO on US / SJC-HNL on AS, can it be changed for free to PHL-LAX-HNL on US/AA?

Similarly,

- LIH-SEA on AS / SEA-MIA on AA, can it be changed to LIH-LAX-MIA on AA?

Thanks
SDQBound is offline  
Old Jan 14, 15, 8:56 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Not here; there!
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Posts: 22,064
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry: BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Originally Posted by B7e7US
I've read contradicting information, so I'm kindly requesting a clarification of the changes on partners awards:
- PHL-SFO on US / SJC-HNL on AS, can it be changed for free to PHL-LAX-HNL on US/AA?

Similarly,

- LIH-SEA on AS / SEA-MIA on AA, can it be changed to LIH-LAX-MIA on AA?

Thanks
No to both.

Switching from an itinerary that involves a non-oneworld partner to an all-oneworld itinerary (or vice versa) incurs the change fee.
guv1976 is offline  
Old Jan 14, 15, 2:24 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,286
Originally Posted by filelover View Post
I have booked award tickets with QR, EY, BA, JL and a few others and have never had issues with the 5 day hold.
What are the requirements to make a hold? Just an account and a call?

How about when you want to book two seats but with two separate AAccounts?

Thanks
mlqsko is offline  
Old Jan 14, 15, 7:14 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ORD
Programs: AA EXP LT Plat >3 Million miles,HH Lifetime Diamond
Posts: 2,495
Originally Posted by mlqsko View Post
What are the requirements to make a hold? Just an account and a call?

How about when you want to book two seats but with two separate AAccounts?

Thanks
Depends on what airline partner. Some you can do at aa.com and you don't need to call at all. Just login to each account and there will be a hold and or a purchasevbutton Just did that this Am for some qf flights. What air line and routing are you looking for.
worldiswide is offline  
Old Jan 14, 15, 11:32 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,286
Originally Posted by worldiswide View Post
Depends on what airline partner. Some you can do at aa.com and you don't need to call at all. Just login to each account and there will be a hold and or a purchasevbutton Just did that this Am for some qf flights. What air line and routing are you looking for.
EY - AUH-GRU, as an example. You can't search AA for EY flights atm.
mlqsko is offline  
Old Jan 16, 15, 11:12 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ORD
Programs: AA EXP LT Plat >3 Million miles,HH Lifetime Diamond
Posts: 2,495
Then you will need to call and have an agent look for availability for you.
worldiswide is offline  
Old Jan 17, 15, 3:40 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: WLG (previously SOU and PLH)
Programs: NZ Elite, QFWP, IHG Plat, *wood Gold
Posts: 525
Europe - South Pacific - permitted connections

Originally Posted by guv1976 View Post
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry: BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.601 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

From the "AA and Partner Airline Award" thread in the pre-merger AA forum:



"Europe to/from South Pacific:

will allow for connections in Singapore or Bangkok only. Stopovers in these cities for this award are not allowed.



**this rule may actually be this now:

Award travel between Europe and the South Pacific will allow for connections in Bangkok, Hong Kong, Narita, Osaka or Singapore only. Stopovers in these cities for this award are not allowed."
Folks,
I was wondering in my current naive state, what direct / connections constitute in Europe to South Pacific awards?
For example, J class awards for 3 people (as I am looking to book) are not easily found on direct routings such as SYD-SIN-LHR (BA). So I have been searching for separate awards like, SYD-NRT and NRT-LHR. A small complication is we are actually looking for WLG-SYD-NRT-LHR.
If I find availability on this route (for example), but with QF then JL or BA with a connection of less than 24hours (or is that 6hours??), would the route be valid?
I would refine my searching through the gateways noted above (BKK, HKG, NRT, SIN etc).
Just not completely sure that this is construed as a "direct connection" when using two carriers and is less orthodox than traditional connections with a single flight number or carrier?
Want to phone up armed with the correct information and known availability so confirmation of what people believe as the rules and routings permitted would be greatly appreciated...I can of course report back!
cheers
dj
djsteve is offline  
Old Jan 17, 15, 6:05 pm
  #8  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: FIND ME ON TWITTER FOR THE LATEST
Posts: 27,733
Originally Posted by djsteve View Post
Folks,
I was wondering in my current naive state, what direct / connections constitute in Europe to South Pacific awards?
For example, J class awards for 3 people (as I am looking to book) are not easily found on direct routings such as SYD-SIN-LHR (BA). So I have been searching for separate awards like, SYD-NRT and NRT-LHR. A small complication is we are actually looking for WLG-SYD-NRT-LHR.
If I find availability on this route (for example), but with QF then JL or BA with a connection of less than 24hours (or is that 6hours??), would the route be valid?
I would refine my searching through the gateways noted above (BKK, HKG, NRT, SIN etc).
Just not completely sure that this is construed as a "direct connection" when using two carriers and is less orthodox than traditional connections with a single flight number or carrier?
Want to phone up armed with the correct information and known availability so confirmation of what people believe as the rules and routings permitted would be greatly appreciated...I can of course report back!
cheers
dj

For now, anyway, completely leave out the WLG-SYD portion, will only complicate things and very possibly will need to be on a separate award, so discard that for a moment (obviously you'll try and add it back in once you get the rest lined up.)

You can disregard the specified Asian airports from my old info. I forgot why at the time they names the connection points (the was a reason-- and it was before published fare rule, so maybe that was it) as the current, verbatim rule is:

"Europe to South Pacific may connect in Asia1 or Asia2" Now that is then overplayed with the published fare requirement-- and that can be tricky, but you're routing is pretty non-demanding. Connection time is 24 hours.

Also, note that you can fly SYD-DXB-LHR using Qantas using the single flight # QF flights -and- you can review the availability of those on AA.com.
JonNYC is offline  
Old Jan 17, 15, 7:39 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: WLG (previously SOU and PLH)
Programs: NZ Elite, QFWP, IHG Plat, *wood Gold
Posts: 525
Originally Posted by JonNYC View Post
For now, anyway, completely leave out the WLG-SYD portion, will only complicate things and very possibly will need to be on a separate award, so discard that for a moment (obviously you'll try and add it back in once you get the rest lined up.)

You can disregard the specified Asian airports from my old info. I forgot why at the time they names the connection points (the was a reason-- and it was before published fare rule, so maybe that was it) as the current, verbatim rule is:

"Europe to South Pacific may connect in Asia1 or Asia2" Now that is then overplayed with the published fare requirement-- and that can be tricky, but you're routing is pretty non-demanding. Connection time is 24 hours.

Also, note that you can fly SYD-DXB-LHR using Qantas using the single flight # QF flights -and- you can review the availability of those on AA.com.
Many thanks. That sounds good, plenty of options presented with Asia.
I presume then, North America connections are not possible?
Eg SYD-DFW-LHR or SYD-LAX-LHR etc?
cheers
dj
djsteve is offline  
Old Jan 17, 15, 7:48 pm
  #10  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: FIND ME ON TWITTER FOR THE LATEST
Posts: 27,733
Originally Posted by djsteve View Post
Many thanks. That sounds good, plenty of options presented with Asia.
I presume then, North America connections are not possible?
Eg SYD-DFW-LHR or SYD-LAX-LHR etc?
"Europe to South Pacific may connect in Asia1 or Asia2"

JonNYC is offline  
Old Jan 18, 15, 1:16 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Hunter Valley, Australia
Programs: Qantas, American Airlines, Hyatt, Accor
Posts: 39
You can also look for MH flights via KL.
Granlor is offline  
Old Jan 23, 15, 10:49 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Programs: HH Diamond
Posts: 229
What happens when there's a conflict between the exception chart and the most direct routing?

The most direct routing from LHR-PPT would be LHR-LAX-PPT. Would they really force you to do LHR-SIN-SYD-AKL-PPT?
John_OHST is offline  
Old Jan 23, 15, 11:12 pm
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Not here; there!
Programs: AA Lifetime Gold
Posts: 22,064
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry: BlackBerry8530/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/417)

Originally Posted by John_OHST
What happens when there's a conflict between the exception chart and the most direct routing?

The most direct routing from LHR-PPT would be LHR-LAX-PPT. Would they really force you to do LHR-SIN-SYD-AKL-PPT?
Yes.

But if TN publishes a LON-PPT through-fare via CDG, you might be able to book LON-CDG-PPT, since TN's CDG-PPT flight does not require a connection in LAX: it merely makes an intermediate stop there.
guv1976 is offline  
Old Jan 25, 15, 7:37 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,653
SYD-DOH-LHR is no good? Is there a rate rule that I can quote them that would allow connections in Doha?

Last edited by Shimon; Jan 25, 15 at 7:54 am
Shimon is offline  
Old Jan 25, 15, 9:53 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: RDU <|> MMX
Programs: AA EXP 2MM, SK EBS
Posts: 6,822
Originally Posted by John_OHST View Post
What happens when there's a conflict between the exception chart and the most direct routing?

The most direct routing from LHR-PPT would be LHR-LAX-PPT. Would they really force you to do LHR-SIN-SYD-AKL-PPT?
As guv mentioned above, it looks like TN does publish a LHR-CDG-LAX-PPT fare, but it requires AF on the LHR-CDG segment, so that's obviously no good using AA miles. You should be able to book though CDG-LAX-PPT as a single award, as long as you book the through flight, i.e. the same flight number. Take the train to Paris or buy a cheap separate one-way flight to CDG.
JJeffrey is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: